Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Prometheus Container Solution

Bitnami | 2.18.1-0

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

20 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Rohit N.

Blazing fast, reliable & free TSDB

  • May 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It works on the pull model. This helps the TSDB to decide at what rate it wants to pull the data from the clients.
What do you dislike?
It only supports HTTP APIs to pull the data into the DB. I wish it could add more methods like S3 pull etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Adding system metrics data every minute from across the cluster and dashboarding using Grafana.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its reliable and free to use. There is great community support. Fully configurable to pull data from various sources via API calls and rate at which the data is added can be controlled.


    Computer Software

Amazing open source tool for monitoring, very customizable

  • May 01, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Approach and philosophy, auto discovery.
What do you dislike?
Not very easy to start with the product. Learning curve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Auto discovery for auto scaled machine in AWS for example.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it ! Best monitoring solution in 2020.


    Justin S.

The monitoring way of the future

  • November 07, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The entire product stack is open source. Far more flexible than traditional monitoring solutions like Nagios. A wide variety of Prometheus metric exporters already in the community, and many open source products are natively incorporating Prometheus exporters.
What do you dislike?
Prometheus developers and export developers have punted on security by leaving implementation up to other products. I get that they want to focus on the core of the product, but virtually every other product out there features support for authentication and authorization right out of the box.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nagios was our first monitoring product. We went with Nagios XI for the same reason people buy Cisco switches - nobody ever got fired for buying Cisco hardware, and nobody ever got fired for going with Nagios for monitoring. However, as we grew, we found that Nagios XI doesn't really scale. In addition, both the checks and agent were community maintained and often poorly maintained at that.

We went from Nagios to Sensu - specifically, Sensu Go, which is a greatly improved rewrite of the original codebase. Sensu Go has a really interesting architecture - it's got its own built-in mechanism, Assets, for distributing checks, and the agents are maintained by the company. But the documentation and web UI were terrible, and you were still dependent on writing all checks yourself or sourcing old Nagios checks from the community.

After Sensu more than doubled its support costs year-over-year, we decided that we'd had enough, and I finally gave Prometheus a try. My DevOps friends had been raving about how well it's designed, now I can see why. It's trivial to set up; there's a vast array of strongly-supported exporters, and it's far more flexible than simply checking whether something is running or not.

And it does scale, either through sharding instances or through other projects like Thanos. Nagios is waaay over the hill, and it shows. Sensu isn't much further behind unless they can get their act in order. I see positive things for us and Prometheus.


    Computer Software

Prometheus

  • October 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very simple to use and has no external dependencies. It has a powerful query language to retrieve and evaluate metrics.
What do you dislike?
Using it little bit difficult. Routing from different ports is difficult.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using for database for storing run-time data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it as no-sql database for run-time data


    Information Technology and Services

Prometheues from dev to prod

  • August 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
i like that its really light weighted and is compatible to collect data from many exporters
What do you dislike?
i dont like the alert manager part , its really complex and we find difficulties to configure using equations and promQL stuff
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
gathering multiple metrics from different apps/infra and store them in a time series db


    Raghu C.

Extremely good opensoucre monitoring tool

  • January 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Detailed monitoring of any metrics can be measured.
What do you dislike?
The learning curve is bit steep and also there is no unique identifier for alerts generated by the Alertmanager.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Monitoring of our cloud micro services in our Kubernetes configuration and also the ability to forecast alerts based on the rate of existing system is really helpful.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Prometheus is an essential tool for companies operating in the cloud and it's free, however the learning curve is bit steep and it might need some time to configure the system properly.


    Matt C.

A Deep Well of Metrics

  • January 29, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The depth and granularity of the metrics made available by Prometheus are better than any monitoring tool I have used to date. The configuration documentation is long but covers everything in great detail. There was not an issue creating the service accounts, setting user permissions or building our first configuration files.
What do you dislike?
This is not an easy setup. It's not insurmountable and the documentation is good but the configurations of user accounts and configuration files takes time. Node exporters for Windows are an agent install which must be done at the machine which slows down Windows deployment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a system monitoring tool that offered both whitebox and blackbox monitoring tools for a mixed OS environment. It also needed to be light on network resources. Prometheus provides all of these things which has given us faster access to the data we need to keep our networks up and healthy. The most improved area is monitoring our SQL database systems. We get instant feedback on our dashboards when these services are in trouble.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Completely worth the time implementing.


    Internet

Decent tool for the cloud immutable infrastructure monitoring and alerting

  • January 23, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy redeployable, very fast database (even the giant queries are running super-fast), concept of the services monitoring instead of the instances monitoring. Really adequate queries syntax, simple alerting, in-house integration with the Grafana. It's already has the exporters for more-or-less whatever technology you are using. Even if there are no exporters for your specific system or needs, you are always able to write your own one on the whatever language you want, it's literally perfect
What do you dislike?
Starting from 2.x version, there are probably no weak points, the Prometheus team is really doing the great job
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Correct monitoring and alerting, which will be reliable with the fully-cloud immutable infrastructure.
We've got the immutable-itself monitoring, which is perfectly customizable and redeployable via the simple pipelines. Also, the ability to write your own exporters is decent.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
From my perspective, Prometheus will be completely useless in the stable datacenter-based setups, because it's created for the immutable and fast-changing infrastructures. Also, if you're using the old versions (1.x) -- the storage engine is not really good, they've improved it only in 2.x branch


    Computer Software

Very flexible monitoring system that works well with K8s

  • July 30, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Prometheus is the industry standard for monitoring. There are a lot of plugins and works well with other hybrid solutions like Google Stackdriver
What do you dislike?
The setup process / learning curve is pretty steep.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were building a monitoring system for our kubernetes clusters. It is very flexible and can pull data out in various ways.


    Computer Software

Great tool for monitoring

  • July 12, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy setup and lots of community support and tutorials
What do you dislike?
Maintaining it can be challenging sometimes better to offload to another server
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Monitoring our stack