Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Device42 BYOL - Comprehensive Hybrid IT Discovery and Inventory Mgmt

Device42, Inc. | v16.15.00

Linux/Unix, CentOS CentOS Linux 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

28 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Reda H.

Excellent product and support

  • February 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- User friendly interface.
- Support team
What do you dislike?
Complete manual (user guide and administration) version in PDF format that can be downloaded and used offline.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automatic discovery for computers and network switches and integration of device42 CMDB with ServiceNow.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I am recommending this product as it is powerful with many capabilities and easy to use and administer.


    Computer Software

Device42 is a solid offering priced WAAY better than the competition.

  • February 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
While most ITAM systems are pretty similar in terms of overall functionality, what sets Device42 apart is their responsive support team.

They provide awesome assistance setting things up, and doing some of the more complex functions within the platform (such as writing the SQL queries for Advanced Reporting, or helping to correctly format the API).

The platform itself is also very robust, and after using for more than 2 years in a production environment we have experienced 0 minutes of downtime for any issue related to the ITAM itself.
What do you dislike?
One of the biggest negatives about Device42 is the Jira integration. Even with a very high powered Jira instance (brand new servers with the fastest cores we can get paired with plenty of RAM), it causes substantial slowdown when users open tickets for which the Device42 custom field has any value at all.

In addition, the on premises version of Device42 REQUIRES a TLS 1.0 mail relay, meaning that if you have a mail system which enforces TLS 1.2 (like Office365) you will be forced to maintain a separate TLS 1.0 SMTP Relay server otherwise the scheduled reports simply will not send.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Device42 has become a central part of our automation stack, and it's pretty easy to use API has given us the ability to fully integrate our automated server creation tools into the ITAM and our ticketing system.


    Cris G.

A must-have tool for M&A

  • December 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Visual topology information
- Network communications reports (allowing to identify dependencies between servers)
- Last login users, Host information, HW information
- Application dependency
- Inventory
What do you dislike?
- Maybe the first scan should be guided by a support session, there are many configurations that can contaminate the inventories (adding duplicates, offline machines, VMs that were decommissioned…)
- I would like a report to be Added where machines are linked to their sites based on the subnet, its very useful when in comes to global consolidation projects
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Discovering site to site dependencies in different active directories (using netstat, excel of dependencies that we have customized to obtain the site to site communications)
- Planning Active directory consolidation and application migration
- Complete Hardware inventory (good for capacity planning)
- File sharing reporting - for migration planning (improvement opportunity:obtain share folder permissions)
- Software inventory - for migration
- Visual for dependencies between services (netstat) allowing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a product I recommend for:
M&A context
Regular Inventory of Datacenters


    Dany V.

Device42 CMDB of easy configuration

  • December 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy installation, configuration and connection with other systems
What do you dislike?
The functionality of Application Dependency Mapping does not show real-time data
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Have all the infrastructure inventory in one place and generate reports as requested


    Steven M.

Great tool with a lot of opportunities

  • December 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The GUI is simple and clear, no graphics are loaded, so the frontend is very fast. The database is also well-designed and very fast, although we have thousands of objects. Device42 have a lot of discovery options, a REST-API, agent-based and agentless based OS discovery.

I like very much the remote collectors. Very easy to setup appliances with an automatic update feature. Only open one port and you are able to monitor a whole site.

The guys from the support are always friendly and the answers are really quite fast.
What do you dislike?
Nobody is perfect. Here a few points which can be improved.

- Roadmap: I miss a high level roadmap for the next 12 months
- Release Notes: The update release notes can beimproved
- The online documentaion needs an update on some points
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Device42 is our single point of truth. Because of this, D42 is connected to many other of our tools, like Jira and Stackstorm. For example, so we are able to deploy fully automated new virtual machines in seconds.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No CMDB in this world is perfect. BUT Device42 is a great tool with a lot of opportunities and a affordable price. It's really a good choice.


    Francisco L.

device42 is easy to use with alot of options

  • December 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
automerge of devices
ip/mac association
very good api
well documented
nice support
What do you dislike?
lack of support of some devices (purestorage or radware, for example)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Inventory, IPAM, device location
Recommendations to others considering the product:
try to keep updated the appliance, because every update has new support for devices


    Viktor D.

Device42 for DC operations

  • December 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a great and an easy to use platform.
What do you dislike?
Basically nothing. All the features are great.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to follow the open orders and the HW for the DCs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I don't have any recommendations


    Giovanni S.

Great Product in Our Environment

  • December 06, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
How everything links together from room layout, to server rack organization, down to all VMs and business applications. Also functions as a password manager bundled in which is great.
What do you dislike?
Deleting organization items not as easy as adding them in. Not all options are available upon initial asset entry. Items in room layout cannot overlap and the grid size factor cannot be changed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Inventory management, application tracking and management, dependency tracking, password management


    Chad C.

Device42 Newbie

  • October 28, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We are just getting started with using Device42 but so far it has been very easy to pick up and run with. We can give it entire subnets to scan and just sit back and watch it discover the environment.
What do you dislike?
My biggest complaint so far is how it seemingly randomly times out my login forcing me to log in again. I eventually found the setting to extend the default timeout so time will tell if that fixes the issue or not.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problem we're trying to solve is application dependency. In our effort to move to the cloud we need to make sure no pieces of the puzzle get left behind.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the time to read through the documentation because it is pretty thorough and helpful.


    Information Technology and Services

Great CMDB tool with lots of integrations

  • October 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The autodiscovery is a great way to easily keep track of every virtual machine and their operating system, (virtual) local area network, IP address, datacenter location, type of hypervisor (in our case Hyper-V or VMware), customer it belongs to and so on...

Also we had a small issue regarding the autodiscovery: some of the VM's in our new Hyper-V cluster we're not being discovered. The support was quick and very helpful. We managed to solve this issue within a day thanks to the great support of the Device42 team!
What do you dislike?
The only downside I experienced is when a clone of a Windows virtual machine creates a conflict with the original virtual machine. A simple sysprep can do wonders however. No issues with Linux.

A nice extra feature would be the ability to test if an IP address is listening to a specific port (let's say 3389 for Windows and 22 for Linux as an example)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In our company we use Device42 to keep track of all the virtual machines in our datacenter, customers, VLAN's, SQL licenses and so on. It's also being used for submitting and keeping track of billing of our services (like monitoring, backup, patching, licensing and so on).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Device42 is a great tool to keep track of your resources, especially virtual machines and all their relateable data such as customer, VLAN, IP address and so on