Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Splunk Enterprise Docker Image

Splunk Inc. | 7.2.0

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

270 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer & Network Security

Splunk Enterprise for IT Industries

  • July 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is a needed application for the IT organization to manage their infrastructure which consist of physical computer devices, web servers (cloud), sensors, etc. Manage means, centralized monitoring and analyzing. In the past we used Splunk for only log monitoring and log analyzing (syslog server). But, what we are seeing is more advance and it is with the SIEM capabilities. It now have real-time visibility, advanced dashboards, analyze any kind of data, advance filtering, flexible GUI in configuration & maintenance, and AI & Machine Learning for threat prediction.
Finally, it is very user friendly. We can modify the dashboard, log search queries, filters, alert/alarm rule, threat filters, and configure with multiple devices easier and quickly.
What do you dislike?
It has multiple features and when we are trying to use all of them it is slow in displaying the contents (logs) and the connectivity also taking some amount of time for the initial loading.
Cost is another, as a organization we have to spend more cost on buying the license and configuration.
Without experience (new to splunk), it is hard to understand all within a short time if the architecture is complex. It consume log implementation time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centralized monitoring, alerting, and analyze logs of our cloud servers and physical devices.
Easier to handle the error logs via alerting using the filters.
Easy to divide the operations dashboard vise, which is helping the each department to view there information.


    Airlines/Aviation

Best monitoring solution

  • July 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We like the splunk dashboard and quick searching of logs. Faster indexing and searching of logs.
What do you dislike?
The UI is dated and needs to be refreshed with new features for dashboard etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Monitoring and analyzing logs


    Computer Software

Best tool to analyze logs and monitor

  • July 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is the best tool to analyze the logs based on different charts and visual graphs. It has good plugins to help with security and auditing. I have created multiple dashboard and customized alerts to monitor system health. It has great integrations with slack and emails to trigger alerts and notifications.
What do you dislike?
As we have big infrastructure and a lot of logs gets consumed in splunk on daily basis, the user interface becomes slow for query search results. Splunk query builder needs technical knowledge beforehand otherwise understanding error message for a non technical person is a challenge.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have limited access for development teams in production environment so we use splunk for teams to monitor their application health and status. There are multiple reports/dashboards generated over application logs in splunk that alerts teams over failures and issues. Splunk is also used as a security tool to detect firewall breaches and vulnerable access controls.


    Daniel P.

Splunk Review in 2020

  • June 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk is very robust with being able to search network traffic, create dashboards and automate reports and alerts.
What do you dislike?
There is a large learning curve to being able to use Splunk and be able to understand what the data you're looking at filter through it all to find what you need. It's very good if you know what you're doing, which there is documentation for, but if you don't have lots of networking experience and knowledge it's easy to be lost and overwhelmed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We monitor all of our network's traffic with Splunk. It gives us metrics on what our University's population is using the network for and helps alert us if there are issues. It's a useful tool when troubleshooting login issues.


    Sourav S.

Splunk use cases in Enterprise Private Cloud

  • April 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The scalability and ease of deployment. it supports almost all hardware.
What do you dislike?
There are few bugs in integration environment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used it for telemetry purpose and to set up on prem and public cloud component monitoring.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a very good platform for open solutions.


    Maya P.

Helped identify transaction dollar amount issues

  • April 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoyed that Splunk had all details for transactions; i.e. time, date, processor, exp date, PII, how & where the transaction was processed, device ID, etc. It also shows the initially authorized dollar amount of the transaction and if it was captured for a different amount.
What do you dislike?
Splunk can be very complicated to navigate and use for identifying a particular transaction. I often had to ask someone for assistance when attempting to search for something in particular or to understand fully what I was reading. There's definitely an overload of data and you can get lost looking for one or a few transactions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problems solved & benefits for fraud; A client had transaction issues where we were unable to determine the true amount of each transaction. Using Splunk allowed me to see how much the transaction was for and thus verify each transaction. If fraud occurred, I'd also be able to verify PII through Splunk & what was entered or retained at the time of the transaction.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A plethora of information, complicated to navigate, many different search options. Must know the most efficient way to navigate and narrow down search results.


    Information Technology and Services

Good but need improvements

  • April 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk is a good tool to create dashboards and measure application level performance including both Application, Network and Database layer
What do you dislike?
I found it provides limited or sometimes information thats either not required or not make much sense. May be as user, we need more training to understand it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Performance related issues or Past activity to study RCA


    ashish s.

Splunk - the real enterprise security platform

  • April 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
the ease of use and coverage of the tool
What do you dislike?
initial setup had some challenges but with professional help we found some quick solutions
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
the big data and security logs analysis is entirely done through Splunk.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
deploy it right and integrate with ITSM platform to achieve maximum results


    Niti P.

Data analytics is good but no product for IPv6 support

  • April 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The cloud splunk is easy to use and data storage is amazing.This is the biggest advantage of the product.
What do you dislike?
Inspite of being an amazing giant for data capturing and analysis, I dislike its capability to support IPv6 only infrastructure. Also they have no roadmap yet to go towards supporting it. SO this is the biggest limitation of the product as far as I am converned.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problem that I am trying to solve is data analysis. We are using it for monitoring our enterprise environment, hardware and doing data analysis. The biggest advantage is ease of use with various kinds of infrastructure. So that is the reason I love this product.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are planning to go too IPv6 for your internal infrastructure or have roadmap towards moving in that direction, then please avoid implementing this product unless they come up with the roadmap for the same. However if that is not the case, then definitely go towards this one.


    Shilpi A.

Splunk Enterprise the best for data analyzing

  • April 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk Enterprise provides the best analytics of the log. The best feature of Splunk are as follow:
- It provides the best visualization of data.
- ANy new user can easily onborad. The UI is very simple to learn.
- The Splunk provides the various support to the product likes the Salesforce, ServiceNow and Cisco.
- For all the above product there are apps and add-on created, so that one can easily visualize the data.
- Splunk documentation is very descriptive and easy to understand.
- One can ask the question in splunk answer.
- The help community is very active and always ready to help.
- The Splunk provides the best charts and dashboard.
What do you dislike?
Splunk Enterprise provides the best feature of data analytics. The Splunk can improve their app formation as sometimes the app takes so much of memory of computer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Splunk provides the all features that I was looking for. In Splunk the very important logs can be monitored. In Splunk no data is loss. The security of data is first concern of Splunk.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Splunk Enterprise provides the best visualization with various types of dashboards, charts. One can easily create the custom dashboard according to its need. The Splunk Enterprise can be used by any individual or an company for the better visualization of logs. It provides the 1GB free data indexing, it is worth a try !!