Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

KrakenD API Gateway

KrakenD API Gateway | 2.1.3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Amazon Linux 2 AMI - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

30 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Luca B.

Easy to setup and efficient. Really interesting architecture.

  • November 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast to setup. Quality. Flexibility. Efficiency. Performance
What do you dislike?
Paid enterprise features - a necessary evil
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were in need of common interface and features for our APIs. A gateway approach came to mind, and, after evaluation, krakenD was our choice.


    Automotive

Easy to use high performance API Gateway

  • November 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Easy setup.
- Easy configuration.
- Comprehensive Docs.
- No performance issues.
What do you dislike?
Nothing at all.
Until now, there was no reason to complain.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed an API Gateway for our APIs, and KrakenD fitted our requirements best.
Also licensing and prices are pretty fair.


    sebastian r.

Realmente un excelente producto

  • November 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rápido, ligero, fácil de implementar y de integrar a pipelines automáticos de CI CD y microservicios.
También como middleware es muy flexible muy útil a la hora de unificar apis.
What do you dislike?
la parte restrictiva del producto enterprise, actualmente usamos la versión libre.

la parte restrictiva del producto enterprise, actualmente usamos la versión libre.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. apigateway
2. multi country api integration layer
3. replacing qvantel graphql as a middleware


    Michele A.

Fast, powerful and easy to configure

  • November 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I used krakend community edition api gateway in every projects that I worked on. It's very fast to set up and run, very easy to configure, it uses very few resources and has a lot of useful plugins that solve most of the problems that you can encounter. For example in the most case I use plugin for jwt and roles validation on endpoints, plugin for modify request/response headers or plugin for limiting the requests per seconds on endpoints. It has a well done and complete documentation and the authors on GitHub are very active and answers very fast if you have an issue. I love this api gateway.
What do you dislike?
There are only two things that I dislike of Krakend. The first thing is that it is not possible to create wildcard path for endpoints (an architectural decision). The second thing is the conflicts with endpoints that you can encounter for example if you define two endpoints with the same http method like this: "/api/exhibitions/search", "/api/exhibitions/{exhibitionCode}". But this is caused by a limitation of the router package (a Go package called gin-gonic/gin router) used in the core of Krakend.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Krakend helps me to protect every single microservices that exposes rest apis by evaluating the jwt, it also checks the roles inside the jwt for allowing calls to the services only to certains users.


    Tomás H.

An inspiring code structure

  • November 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I am constantly inspired by their code organization and structure for golang projects. Its incredibly solid and well done which breeds excellence over the whole technology stack. There is a reason why KrakenD is brutally fast and stable :)
What do you dislike?
If you require an "invisible" api gateway, similar to a reverse proxy with more functionality, then KrakenD is probably not what you are looking for.

It will fall more along the lines of an intermediate layer for your applications. in the end, it will fulfill the same requirements but in a different way.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our main use cases include:

* Avoiding manking many frontend calls for different services that end up traveling the internet, instead we now call once and KrakenD calls the downstream services
* Rate limiting standards for all the services
* Centralized User Authentication to avoid implementing code in every single downstream app


    Jonathan G.

Lightweight, high performance API Gateway

  • November 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's fast and straightforward to get started with basic to moderate use cases. There is an excellent slack channel where the developers are very active in replying to posts. KrakenD is well architected to be easy to deploy and monitor using industry standards such as openmetrics. It has zero dependencies when starting up and running, making it highly reliable.
What do you dislike?
The documentation often misses essential details that can waste time when implementing more complex use cases.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
KrakenD provides security and protection functionality at a gateway level. Features such as authentication, authorization, request validation and circuit breaker shield the backend from issues that could otherwise cause downtime across a wide range of backend services. Having these features at the gateway ensures implementation consistency and prevents time wasted on undifferentiated heavy lifting.


    Pablo R.

High Performant API Gateway with a great support and tech team behind

  • July 26, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about KrakenD is its extreme simplicity and design to be operated with a GitOps approach. You can have all the endpoints your team controls in one or multiple repositories and trigger their deployment via automated CI/CD pipelines, ensuring nothing breaks when going to production. Additionally, there is no need to have external auditing tools, as git provides this.
What do you dislike?
Even though the functionality is extensively documented on the web page, I missed a quick introduction or tutorial to go from zero to live with best practices.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
KrakenD helps to expose mashups made of small parts of internal APIs publicly, ensuring users are appropriately validated and with the proper permissions.


    Apparel & Fashion

Straight-forward and easy to use software

  • July 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy configuration, nearly plug'n play. We had a running gateway in a matter of minutes.
What do you dislike?
Really nothing, maybe the fact that some advanced configuration required a deeper reading into the documentation.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We wanted to set up a way to normalize and standarize our endpoints in the context of a completely new backend architecture and performance tuning, so it was perfect to establish an independent from services software that we can control where to point services at.


    Information Technology and Services

Feature-rich API gateway tool with high performance

  • July 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The API gateway tool offers:
- a high degree of customizability
- wide feature selection of throttling, rate-limiting, transformations, filters, load balancing, circuit breakers etc.
- very lightweight deployment
- very high processing performance
- good developer experience due to good documentation
- no vendor lock-in
What do you dislike?
These disadvantages still complicate the introduction of KrakenD:
- no managed deployment
- no OpenAPI3 support
- no developer portal
- the enterprise plan is comparatively pricey
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps implement a lightweight API gateway enabling higher API stability and security.
The high degree of customizability helps address a broad set of API traffic management problems other gateways are too inflexible to solve.
It serves specifically well in introducing an API gateway with limited resources for companies at the start of their API journey.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for an easy-to-use tool to start with and know that it is self-managed this is one of the best choices to start with.


    Märt S.

Fast and easy

  • July 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very easy to start with. It takes just a few minutes to get it up and running even the first time. Documentation is very simple and straightforward. It is written in Golang which makes it very lightweight and easy to extend.
What do you dislike?
Some basic features are implemented into the enterprise version which means that they will never be a part of the community edition.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
KrakenD is very useful for optimising API structure for different frontends while keeping the backend services standard and simple. It is also dealing with authentication and acts as an extra security layer for the backend.