Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SonicWall NSv (Firewall/Security/VPN/Router) - PAYG

SonicWall | 7.0.1-1349

Linux/Unix, Gentoo SonicOS 6.5.4.4 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 1
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

92 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    William C.

Best way to provide security to your business.

  • October 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Sonic wall offers security to our business network. We use SonicWall at our medical office and we have up to 5 locations so we use the VPN function of SonicWall as well. The software provides great antivirus capabilities, and content filtering as well. You can be in complete control of your network using SonicWall.
What do you dislike?
If you are not familiar with networking and some of the terminology, you will definitely need some assistance with setting it up. It could get complicated making routings and getting your firewall working to its best potential.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problem we are addressing with SonicWall is security over our network. We handle patient information and have to keep everything confidential. So we use SonicWall to keep our network safe from intrusion and anybody who may want to try to get into our system to do harm.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If purchasing SonicWall please have a licensed tech help you set it up. Learning the software isn't hard. It will just take some getting used to .


    MARNI S.

Good when comes to price

  • September 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. initial deployment and setup are simple.
2. We can wireless access points of Sonicwall, and they can be managed through the same Sonicwall dashboard.
3. Inspection of packets in both In and Out directions.
4. Multifactor authentication support is available.
5. Configuration of IPsec VPN tunnel is simple in Sonicwall compared to other vendors.
What do you dislike?
1. CLI commands are very different from v6.5 to v7.0
2. Technical documents are not that much available on the internet.
3. No regular threat signature updates are available.
4. Whenever we change the real-time data report option, it asks for a device reboot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Setting up wireless access points and managing them through the Sonicwall dashboard.
2. Giving SSL VPN access for users who are working from home.
3. Configuring IPsec VPN tunnel to Clent firewalls.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sonicwall is budget-friendly, recommended for small organizations.


    pinisetty s.

secure and good performance

  • September 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Initial device configuration is easy and simple using the setup wizard.
2. Cost for the firewall is less expensive compared to other firewalls.
3. Configuration of security and NAT policies is easy.
4. Diagnostics option in GUI is very helpful, it has most of the troubleshooting tools.
5. Site to Site and Remote access VPN setup is simple.
What do you dislike?
1. Content filtering profiles do not work well sometimes.
2. Traffic log monitoring is not that much good on versions above 7.0.0
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Securing office LAN Network.
2. Providing server access securely using SSL VPN.
3. Captive portal authentication, to give internet access for only authorized users.
4. Blocking certain site access and applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sonicwall is budget-friendly and it has good performance, I would recommend it to others also.


    Matthew B.

SonicWall is a clear leader in Firewalls and Security

  • August 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Sonicwall provides tight security and good support in videos or publications.
What do you dislike?
The onboard log reports could improve, and the functionality of the log reports sent to administrators.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sonicwall is providing network security and firewall protection. The product continually evolves to provide security in an ever-changing world.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great support, knowledge base, and firewalls that will keep you business up to speed on the changing risks.


    Information Technology and Services

Best firewall for Small and medium business customers

  • August 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It helps the customer to get good infrastructure performance
What do you dislike?
The logging part is inferior and they have to increase the flexibility of logs and alert functionality
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is providing the complete control and security to face the new vulnerabilities and threats
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best firewall with full functionality with low price


    Information Technology and Services

easy to deploy and manage

  • August 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In our organization, we are using Sonicwall NSv 870 (Network Security virtual appliance), it has a very attractive management dashboard and direct options for configuring the network interface IP address, network & service objects, and security policies.
When comes to security performance, SonicWall works very well, by allowing us to configure a policy with source MAC and Source user which is very helpful for restricting internet access to particular machines and users.
When comes to the monitoring part, it has very good filtering options to monitor required traffic.
What do you dislike?
The main thing only I can dislike is the cloud features. SonicWall net generation firewalls have fewer cloud features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1.Blocking internet access for unwanted users.
2.Restricting users from visiting malicious sites.
3. Accessing internal servers securely using SSL-VPN through NetExtender.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
we are using SonicWall next-generation firewall for 2 years, it performs very well. recommended for others too.


    Primary/Secondary Education

Ok Firewall, does what it is supposed to

  • August 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Relatively cheap appliance for most uses, easy port listing
What do you dislike?
Management interface could be better, note I have not used SonicOS 7 yet, but the 6.x versions are difficult for me to use
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A good firewall and gateway appliance with decent content filtering. Stops what needs stopped


    Luis P.

Custom Firewall

  • June 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Real-time system protection, Internet access application control and user registration.
Cache memory and data storage.
What do you dislike?
Off-system application security parameters.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Control applications and personalized system access, virus-free PC and system propagation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Manage application system access and security.


    Pierre F.

SonicWALL Email Security

  • May 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The appliance was easy to install. It offers a lot of options to configure the appliance according to your exact need. It's also very easy to upgrade and their technical support is awesome. We had questions when we installed the appliance and contacted their support. They not only answered our question but went further and give us good configuration tips on our existing installation. They also followed up days later to see if the configuration they help us to apply was meeting our needs. We are very satisfied.
What do you dislike?
We had to update the device when we received it. We would have expected it to be up to date right away. We also think that they can improve in auto documenting their interface to help configuration. Their technical support also reverted back to the old interface when they helped us configured the device. It prooved that they can improve documentation and overall interface or classification of the device features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We replace our existing equipement that was not longer supported. We need a solution that would cover the same need at a price that still meet our budget. Sonic wall not only have a great product but their price is competitive.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Plan in advance if you want to implement SonicWall Email Security appliance. Do not hesitate to rely on professional resources to assist you to make sure you are efficiently and securely setup. Their technical support is great to assist you if you have any specify problem or configuration needs.


    Michael F.

Wow disappointing!!

  • May 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The general federation of SonicWALL appliances and the way they've set their website is generally done well. The usual broken links between products are dismissable given the concept is there.
What do you dislike?
Downside of using SonicWall is the support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
General firewall protection, end-point protection, and antiphishing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Support is sold as a 1-year / 2-year add-on feature to hardware. Live telephone support is aggressively rude, condescending and will literally scold you and hang up on you if they don't like what you're saying. Worst customer service ever encountered on any product or service. The recommendation is to avoid purchasing support - it's a waste of money.