Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

IBM Db2

IBM | IBM Db2 Developer-C 11.1.4.4

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

437 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mohd A.

A relational database software tool

  • December 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
IBM DB2 is a good relational database software tool. It stores data in the form of tables and relationships among tables. It is very simple and easy to use. We can use IBM DB2 to create databases for web as well as desktop applications. It provides a good GUI and command line interface to fetch data and to interact with databases. It can be easily integrated with various software development technologies such as Java, C#, Vb.net etc. IBM DB2 can be easily connected with various software development frameworks.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes IBM DB2 becomes hang when it execute the Queries to fetch data. Online support could be better for IBM DB2. No other drawbacks for mein IBM DB2.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used DB2 to create databases and develop various applications with DB2. I have used IBM DB2 in my project supply chain management system. It handles very large data of my project very efficiently. I have used it to store data of POS system. It is very fast and provides a good functionality to interact with data stored in database. I have also created some other projects with DB2 such that sports club management system and hostel information system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
IBM DB2 is a good relational database software tool. It can be used to create databases and to store data. It can be easily integrated with various software development technologies and frameworks.


    Rohan A.

An strong database management tool for enterprise

  • December 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Db2 is a relational database management tool which is very useful tool to manage data of heavy applications.
Db2 is suitable for big size application and this embedded with many handy features like create, delete,update,copy,insert etc.
We can easily manage the restrictions on any table based on user role. It provide great online community to help along with beautiful documentation to learn the use of this tool.
We can easily write SQL queries , procedures, triggers, schedulers etc.
What do you dislike?
I am enough satisfied with this tool as much as I used it still there are some points which I noticed in my career that Db2 is not suitable for light weight application and it needs more space on your system to run.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've worked on Db2 around 3 years and made so many SQL queries, procedures,cron tabs, triggers and schedulers etc.
I've integrated it with my Java based web application and it provides great performance.
Data can easily be managed and retrieve any time even you can export your data into excel file also.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend this product to those users which are running heavy web application.
Db2 provides great online support as well as nice documentation to integrate it with other environment like Java,.net etc.
We can easily manage the access of any table based on requirement as it provides good features for security.
Nice product to run your Sql based operation like sql queries, procedures, cron tabs, triggers etc.


    Taslim K.

An strong database for data management

  • November 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about the IBM DB2 is that it's has all the features which other available relational data base can have.It's embedded with lot's of feature which enhances the data base experience to manage the data very easily. This is the best database to manage the huge data of any big organization.We can easily drop/update/alter/create the tables and access can be restricted as per our desire in just one line of SQL query. SQL query can be easily written in SQL query editor.
What do you dislike?
DB2 gets slow when we have the some many users at a time. Db2 is expensive as compare to other available databse softwares. SQL query editor is not as good as it should be because we can't replace the word as we can do in any text editor. There can be a better online support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've implemented IBM Db2 relational database in my web application and it's so efficient to save the memory. I can easily manage the data by using the handy features available by doing just right click.We can easily write/update/delete any record in just one click.We can easily sort the data to analyse a huge dataset. I usually export the data from database to my excel sheet in order to share it with others.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would strongly recommend DB2 to every organization because of it's handy features and it's online support to its users.IBM always take care about the new updates for your subscription.We can easily manage the table or schema access by just following simple steps. Db2 is a good relational database as it provides the quick query writing support by doing right click. We can easily export the data from Db2 databse to excel/open office and later we can analyse of present the data in any format.This is good for large organizations as well as small or medium size organizations.


    Himanshu Y.

A Powerful relational database for IT organisations to manage the data

  • November 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Db2 is licenced product of IBM which is very strong database for data management of your web application. It's so many handy features which makes it easier to use like insert/update/delete queries can be written by right click. We can restrict the critical tables as per the role and responsibilities of any user in the team. This has a beautiful text editor which helps to write the queries very quickly.
What do you dislike?
I would comment on pricing of db2 and rest of the features are impressive. In my professional career I found Db2 competitive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've integrated Db2 in my web application development. I've used it's 9.0 version and worked a lot to create/alter table, simple/complex sql queries, played with triggers and schedulers etc. We can easily do work with db2 as it has huge online community as well as good documentation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend Db2 because it's suitable for small as well as large projects. It's embedded with all basic features like create/update/delete/insert queries can be formed using right click.This is easy to use and it's a complete documentation for internation with other tools.


    Vishal G.

Strong and powerful tool for storing and retrieving data.

  • November 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
it is light weight and provides high performance. I can run multiple jobs at once using the Task Scheduler. It also supports some of Orarcle's SQL. Minimal administration needed compared to other enterprise database products in the market. It is owned by IBM. Getting support from IBM is very convenient
What do you dislike?
It's very difficult to integrate it with other services and frameworks.
Price is quite high when compared with other databases. Rest everything is fine in DB2.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Whenever the size of data is large, I use to export the data in Excel file to analyze it. This is a feature provided by Db2
I can sort the data by just adding 'Order by' command at the end of the query.
Just by writing 'WITH UR' at the end of query, I can get all the uncommitted rolls.
It saves the data against loss, unauthorized access (by granting access to particular users).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If anyone is searching for Database that is light weight and performance is high and if u do not have any budget issue, then I would recommend to go for IBM Db2.


    Mohd A.

A great relational database software tool

  • November 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
IBM DB2 is a good database software tool. It facilitates to store, retrieve and manipulate data in the form of relational tables. In IBM DB2, data is organised in tables and tables are related to each other with certain relationships. Data can be stored easily. We can retrieve data from various tables at the same time by using certain relationships among tables. We can minimize data duplicacy and maintain data integrity. It removes data inconsistency.
What do you dislike?
DB2 should provide some more user friendly and easier GUI base administrative tool, looking at the current competition in market for their DBs. There is definitely a bit more improvement required in data manipulation and query languages. There is no other drawbacks of DB2 for me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used IBM DB2 to create databases for various applications. I have designed student information database, supply chain management database, pos database etc by using DB2 software. I have used DB2 to store important data in database. I accessed data from DB2 by GUI or by Query language like SQL. I have used in Java as well as asp.net project. We can integrate DB2 easily with various technologies used to create web as well as desktop applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
IBM DB2 is a good database software tool. It can be used to create relational database for web as well as desktop application. I am highly recommending to use DB2 for database development and data storage.


    Ramjeet C.

An strong database software for big organization

  • November 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is absolutely powerful RDMS to manage/manipulate the web application data.Db2 is embedded with all the basic and advance features to manage the data. Wr can easily do the operation to create/delete/update on any table or table data.We can restrict the critical tables as per the developer role and requirements.SQL editor is also available to write the desired queries.
What do you dislike?
In the older version of Db2 selection of query was not available to execute them but later on it was rectified.I am enough satisfied with Db2 but I would comment on pricing of this software that price is high as compare to other database available in the market.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've used Db2 in my web application which was around 200Gb capacity and I've integrated it with my Java application to store the users data.I've written so many stored procedure to execute bulk data in single click.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As Db2 is an strong database tool and have some many handy features to perform your Sql based operation. Any user who is having basic knowledge of Sql can easily work on Db2.One more feature impressed me which is,we can easily restrict any table as per the role of user.


    Swati S.

IBM DB2 is the best RDBMS used to store, analyze and manage data efficienctly

  • November 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing which I like about IBM DB2 is that much larger database files can be accommodated in it. As big projects require this kind of database as large amount of data can be stored in it.We can easily change the view of query window.We can manage a large data with Db2.
What do you dislike?
The one thing that makes me to dislike it is that there is no real information value in messages and statistics pointing out the plan name, because there is only one plan. But this does not affect much.There is no debugging feature provided in DB2. It's not available for free users if your are integrating it with your web application.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use IBM DB2 in my project as it is has SQL compatibility along with Advanced storage optimization which helps to optimize large queries.Also DB2 product is extended with the support of Object-Oriented features and non-relational structures with XML.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'd strongly recommend DB2 because of its secure features when we are working on a sensitive data set.We can easily manage the data and reference can be easily established between created tables.


    Information Technology and Services

Database engineer (administrator and developer)

  • November 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Powerful SQL
One of the best query optimizer
Flexible (to use and to manage) functional architecture
Flexible product hierarchy (editions and licensing)
High level of automation for maintenance tasks
What do you dislike?
There is no powerful management tool like Oracle OEM
No built-in "lightweight" management tool (like SQL-developer)
IBM Data Studio requires significant system resources with not enough functionality
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I took part in migration of banking system from Oracle to DB2 (Linux) that reduced cost of system (support and evolution) for our customer.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Invite consultant from IBM or their partner to show you how to easy use/support this product
and which advantages does it bring.


    Computer Software

Db2 Excellence

  • November 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Db2 is database Management system.
It is easy to use. User Friendly console .
It have its own db2 query language.
What do you dislike?
Different from other Database management tool in the market shifting from other Database can make it difficult.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
solving database queries
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it for database Management