Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

MemSQL

Memsql, Inc. | 7.0.9

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Amazon Linux 2017.09 x64 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

51 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Franck Leveneur

Blazing Fast Database

  • January 05, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've been using MemSQL since version 5.0. I've recommended it to many companies who needed to run aggregated queries in sub-seconds on 100s of Millions or Billions of rows using the column store engine. It's also a good alternative to Memcache when using memory engine.
I love the pipelines in MemSQL. Being able to ingest millions of rows / sec from S3, Kafka, Hadoop and more is ideal for real time to near real time reporting and operational analytics. A serious database solution for serious big data problems.


    Sujay K.

Checked - One solution for Streaming Analytics on Big Data

  • December 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Super simple, we implemented the whole of our customer-facing streaming analytics data store in a 2-day hackathon
- Natively integrates with AWS & other services (we are a multi-petabyte S3 shop with huge Kafka clusters)
- Since most of it is SQL, anyone can hit the ground running in no-time, an ultra-low barrier to entry
- We saw a sub-second response on a test case with 1000 concurrent heavy API calls (scanning billions of rows across many tables + window functions etc) along with applying RBAC functionalities on the fly
- Incredibly fast out of the box, basic performance tuning will suffice 95% of use cases
- Fantastic partners to work with, super helpful, we have access to their core engineering team, +100 on Customer engagement!
What do you dislike?
In my humble opinion, it solved a very unique hard problem for us elegantly (without having to compromise on any architectural or data principles). Problem of streaming analytics on high-velocity high volume data sets with sub-second API responses can be a handful. For me, this along with other use-cases they mention is their core strength. So anything beyond these capabilities is a "Nice to have" for me. Their roadmap covers most of what the community is asking - hot back-up's, better UI, modelling etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problem of streaming analytics on high-velocity, high volume data sets with sub-second API responses.
This product elegantly solves the problem.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
They offer a free trial, definitely try - you will not be disappointed with what you see.


    Daniel F.

Incredibly fast performance for dashboards!

  • October 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We have had excellent luck with ingest rates and the ability to do lightning fast counts and other general math on time based data sets. If you are already familiar with SQL you will have little trouble utilizing this platform. Although we have had few occasions to use it, paid support was quite responsive and helped us correct issues quickly. Toolset allows for quick builds and deployments and services have been stable over significant periods of uptime. MemSQL Ops dashboard also allows for at-a-glace view to determine if your cluster is generally healthy.
What do you dislike?
Although I have heard of some people have positive results, I would like to implement autoscaling with the ability to increase licensing cost only for the time a cluster is scaled. I will soon be looking into MemSQL's Helios product to see if that is a reasonable path forward for us.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MemSQL provides the backend for our realtime dashboard and alerts system. MySQL compatibility makes it easy to import/export data to other databases when needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For our use case of doing math on time series data MemSQL has been a great success; if you are running basic SELECT statements and expect raw data in your results we didn't see as much of a speed increase but the ease of setting up a HA cluster is a definite bonus even then.


    Ben M.

Perfect for our use case!

  • October 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We, a Big 4 accounting firm, use MemSQL for rapid creation and destruction of clusters. MemSQL's speed and reliability are key for our use case since speed is our priority.
What do you dislike?
Getting used to using a shard key for our tables was a little slow for teammates to adopt.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not having to keep clusters active saves time and money. MemSQL speed enables that competitive advantage.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy and Fast Relational DB

  • September 19, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to Implement
Fast
Great support with Vendor
Installation Easy
Great table features
What do you dislike?
Scaling features can be improved
Monitoring
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Adding more logging features and easier scalability
Introducing more queries


    Utilities

MemSQL hungry for memory

  • September 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Few quires will run faster if you did everything correctly as per undocumented, unexplained MemSQL specification.
What do you dislike?
It's unusable as ANSI compliant SQL server. Single and simple insert, update and delete do not work. Data can be loaded faster if it is in perfectly formatted CSV file. It frequently runs out of memory. We have 3 nodes with 2 aggregates with total of 160GB of memory and it still runs out of memory. Local Pipelines can do very less in real world scenarios.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were trying to manipulate large amount of electric meter reads and analyze our data with different scenario like area of server vs rate structures. So far it we have failed to materialize any advantage out of it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Evaluate other alternatives.


    Information Technology and Services

Performance and Distributed Architecture

  • September 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
High Speed Ingest and flexible data formats
What do you dislike?
None aso of now. As we drill down doc more questions will arise
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Testing huge workloads out of oracle.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it


    Information Technology and Services

MemSQL Review

  • September 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Row-based memory storage and Column-based disk storage
What do you dislike?
Nothing in particular; it's just another relational database.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Analytics related work in networking switch domain


    Financial Services

Analyst

  • September 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The UI of the product looks great but there is still scope for improvement. The Performance degrades at times. The buttons and features could be more interactive and re-prioritized for easiness of the customers working on it.
What do you dislike?
Structural backbone of the product looks unsustainable and might cause trouble in our use case. Latency on complex schema designs. We process huge chunk of data in TBs everyday and it is back and forth read write step that requires minimum latency, this product may not work as anticipated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Customer identification system for various classification and predictive business needs. In order to read/write some scenario based variables, we need more scalability and less latency. The problem with TBs of data writing in MemSQL can be good but not at a large scale handling. We need more sustainability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Performance for complex schema and UI. The buttons and features could be more interactive and re-prioritized for easiness of the customers working on it. The more a user works over the tool the more complexity and latency it observes. The site for resource declaration and deployment is another concern that can be dealt with and kept in mind while designing solutions to this platform. The occurrence of scenarios with customer based input/output latency is huge performance bottleneck. May be new version of the products are dealing with it in a mature and betterment data handling and storage. I love the product but still for all business needs it just doesn't add up


    Ofir B.

Work with Memsql everyday for our platform in Kenshoo

  • September 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The speed of queries, Kafka stream support, the easy to learn - syntax same as Mysql.
Your support is great, answer quickly on ticket.
What do you dislike?
First query run time (compilation time), not easy and clear how to analyze/improve slow query.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Slow queries in Mysql.
Memsql allow us to run all queries with no limitation on every scale of data.