Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SAP HANA, express edition (256GB)

SAP Inc (CAE) | SAP HANA Express 2.0 Rev 45

Linux/Unix, SUSE SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 12 SP3 x86_64 (64-bit) - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

291 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Tobacco

Very fast system

  • February 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
column logic on database, platform Cloud "in-memory"
What do you dislike?
improvement data analysis tools,improvement connectors with others database
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
faster data accessibility


    Rohan D.

Hana being an excellent analytical and modeling tool

  • February 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It can store data, we can create different models as per data requirements also we can run different ML algorithms on the data and generate reports.
What do you dislike?
The recent version of Hana is unstable and requires more stability.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Business problems like data mining on business data, text analytics, odata services etc. It has provision now for the development as well which was not present earlier.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is fantastic tool capable of doing so many things I would recommend the till in cases of working with large volumes of data.


    William M.

SAP HANA is intuitive and simple

  • February 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SAP HANA, and the Fiori tile system, go beyond the SAP's R3 in several ways. Primarily, it is simple for users to identify the tools they need in a functional (and beautiful) user interface. Secondly, user access, and custom user access, is easy to create and modify. Third, by allowing clients to choose between an on-prem, hybrid, or a cloud solution, leverages scalability to the HANA database to a new extreme while reducing connection errors, and error handling, as seen when using 3rd party database integration tools. Finally, as a capacity of the items I've looked at it. SAP's S4/HANA is one the easiest systems to begin auditing.
What do you dislike?
To be honest, there is not much that I do not like about the system. I have, historically, been a big proponent of SAP and believe that, as this system develops, users and businesses will migrate. Search features using tiles, sub-tiles, a reduction of the transaction codes, better user error handling when having a search error make this a great product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not applicable. I audit the system. SAP's S4/HANA is one the easiest systems to begin auditing, primarily due to the Fiori reports and the customization on the back end and integration with the database to pull the correct information, based on the specifications provided.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Given my examples above, my recommendation is to assess the current load on your databases and connection capabilities/errors as they relate to your current ERP. While the cost of this item is large, the implementation and upkeep are lower than expected. Always, assess the requirements of your business. But, if you are looking for the "all in one package" this is a wonderful product.


    Axel Somerseth C.

SAP HANA is expensive database management system

  • February 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the memory optimization for retrieving data, and the speed that provides the in-memory approach.
I like the SQL language and how the entities of the database were builded.
I used SAP HANA hints for SAP HANA views querying optimization and I think they are very powerful if you read the documentation and understand the computer science base.
Helps with real time analytics along with fast operating speed for transactional operations.
Financials applications can be builded in SAP HANA easily, with the functions included in the database, you can perform powerful operations.
An in-memory system providing users high availability during processing and visualizing real-time data.
What do you dislike?
I dislike documentation, implementation, server costs, and maintenance.
Documentation is so confusing. I used this with SAP HANA XSJS Engine, and this technology was not appropriate to serve a business application decently for 1000 users. When the amount of data is so heavy SAP HANA database was right, but XSJS makes the application crash.
The SAP HANA ecosystem hasn't a delightful experience for developers and the tech team.
Costs for an in-memory database allocated in the cloud are so expensive.
Implementations and maintenance were not easy, there is some incomplete documentation for this topic.
Configuring an SAP HANA client in mi Macbook was frustrating, there isn't a true guide or documentation to make that works.
I dislike the database views approach, they are so slowly to run.
I dislike SAP HANA XSJS web editor, isn't a truly web experience and to tricky to configure.
The SAP HANA XSJS namespaces and classes aren't powerful for a javascript server language. Is better to write an application with node.js and express.
Desktop editor builder around eclipse ecosystem crashes periodically.
If you want to make arquitecture decisions around SAP HANA ecosystem, you have to choose another technology. It's no reliable for cloud or concurrency systems.
There is still not standard solution for business partners migration. Migrations and integrations are very complicated.
Jobs or schedulers in SAP HANA are very weak.
Concurrency in this database was not a principle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work on a Tax Intelligence Management Platform and the principal benefits were the speed of the in-memory database for a minimal amount of data. Large data required more time to retrieve but I consider the hardware capacity of the servers.
The read actions of queries and aggregations are very fast, so nice.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to choose SAP HANA for a server app, you have to consider that you may no able to choose concurrency patterns or microservices architecture.
SAP HANA databases are for business applications and integrations with SAP ecosystems, not for startups.


    Shiva S. R.

Review SAP S4 HANA

  • February 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The FIORI front end and GUI that has been designed.
What do you dislike?
With a lot of data, it tends to not load all the data in memory. This means you would need to scroll down and then it will display the data after a couple of seconds. It would be more conveniënt if all data has been already loaded in the system memory especially with a lot of data this would be helpful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used SAP Tax Compliance, based on SAP HANA and this is really amazing for checking the VAT related bookings and to find anomalies in the reported data so you can spot those errors and correct is. This way compliance is ensured.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Much more performance and better usability, with dashboard and more user friendly GUI.


    Hospitality

The choice for big company.

  • February 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It was 2018 when I first touched HANA. When I was the BI developer under a consulting company. We are building multiple complexes Pbi reports. Our stakeholders raised different requirements both on the performance but also on the business. We are working closely with the DBA from the HANA side. Thanks for HANA. The high-performance product makes the whole process easier than thought. The ability to manage the large scale data as well as in-memory feature makes the query response faster than other products. But also with the perfect interaction with the PowerBI. We did the job before the due day of the project and gained praise from our end users.
What do you dislike?
Maybe we can provide more webinars and demos to introduce the product to the public better
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were connecting the HANA DB to fetch data and visualize them in the PowerBI. The HANA connection is fast, easy to use.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Financial Analyst

  • February 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The user inferface is easy to use and easy to train new employees
What do you dislike?
The functions of Hana are very limited and data base knowledge is required
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are able to produce data sets composed of multiple tables


    Rohan P.

The right amount of technical insights explained in a very simple manner

  • February 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The simplicity of instruction. I understood 80% of the material dispite not having a background in ERPs.
What do you dislike?
The online nature made it difficult to get answers/ explanations right away to the questions I had.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was preparing for interviews. This helped.


    Information Technology and Services

SAPUI5 Web Developer with HANA CLOWD.

  • February 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CLOWD computing os great for all the developers.
What do you dislike?
Nothing important to refer. I wish SAP HANA could be an Open System. Many developers could contribute for it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SAP HANA os great, both for small or great business.


    Computer & Network Security

Good experience working with SAP HANA perusing BI advanced course in University.

  • February 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Breakout of the data in different maps and comparing the results was really useful.
What do you dislike?
Sometime there was a delay in loading the reports from server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not using currently. I have used SAP HANA during BI course and building up BI portfolio comparing different tools.