Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Microsoft SQL Server 2016 Web on Windows Server 2019

Amazon Web Services | 2022.11.10

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

13 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vishal B.

Microsoft sql server used for DB management.

  • May 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Microsoft sql server is best for backend database management, we can easily configured this tool with our main code and can use for crud operation and DB changes.
What do you dislike?
Some version of the Microsoft SQL Server does not have or work some of the DB features, like it, lower version of this does not have commit, stored procedure and also does not have a good debugging tool.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The first and best benefit is, that it is a free tool and also using this we can solve our daily basis problems with DB management, it is used for DB management of any product.


    Rajendra V.

Scalability, security & standard commits

  • April 04, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Many more features like DB backup, monitoring and SQL server job creation features are also used and liked
What do you dislike?
I feel that they should bring a document type of database concept
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
maximum benefits to GUI application while support to provide data visibility from the back end.


    Consumer Electronics

Very comprehensive and powerful RDBMS

  • March 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Cross platform usability along with very complete business intelligence capabilities. Ability to integrate with various applications is another added features.
What do you dislike?
Just need to be more developer friendly with detailed and comprehensive error message. Also need to have additional new and modern functions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Storing high frequency data and a data warehouse for analytical purposes


    Harini V.

Microsoft SQL Server

  • March 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The questions which had asked in the assessment made me to learn few new things and that helped me to enhance the skill , competitors feel this is hard assessment to finish
What do you dislike?
I have nothing like dislike there is nothing that is missing or nothing like not working properly , there is nothing to be improved you people are the best and improved me
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
You're dealing with an application whose newest supported version is only SQL Server 2014 , but not 2016. Or newer . you want to use Always On Availibility Groups
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes I will recommend considering Microsoft SQL


    Venkat Manoj M.

Windows Server 2016 recommendation

  • March 01, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In memory improvements
Row level support
What do you dislike?
Database may face out of space error
Client loses connection to the sql server
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Provides optimized performance
Better security and offers large sized database


    Naga L.

Good experience to learning sql

  • March 01, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to learn quiries and procedures for users
What do you dislike?
I don't have any thing to dislike sql server
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Sql provides very fast db access to get huge data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I


    Michele C.

Good for consolidating the data of different applications, but does take up a lot of memory doing so

  • January 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Microsoft has made it easy to export databases. It is easy to configure/implement.
What do you dislike?
There is no graphical report, so when you run the reports, it is all in script, which makes it hard to read.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It takes a lot of data from multiple sources and consolidates it into one. It helps when you have many employees that they are all working off of


    David W.

The web version of Microsoft's greatest database server on their most feature-packed and secure OS

  • January 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The web version of SQL Server is always good for using on a web server, offering you and your .NET developers a database server they're comfortable with at reduced licensing costs. SQL Server 2016 introduced a lot of great new features, and SQL Server 2019 offers you vast security (such as headless mode, and modern updates) to ensure your web host is protected.
What do you dislike?
Licensing has got more complex, and of course, there's always an additional fee to pay for hosting when using Microsoft vs. open source products - but the trade-off is you will find many more .NET / SQL devs than others.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used SQL Server 2016 Web on Windows Server 2019 for our web hosting on an AWS server.


    Avantika S.

2016 SQL server has OLAP queries performance issues

  • January 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The scalability option is an advantage to mission-critical applications.
What do you dislike?
2016 SQL server has OLAP queries performance issues
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
SQLserver 2016 Web is being used for hosting databases and storing records, and many more.


    Computer & Network Security

MS SQL Server is just a nuisance that we need to stick to when dealing with legacy environments.

  • December 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
AWS is a nice environment, and very configurable, but the experience with MS SQL Server is not good enough. The management of resources and scale are simple, practical and intuitive (although it lack some triggers on AWS side to not scale the cost too quickly)
What do you dislike?
Dealing with MS SQL Server is a true nightmare. It's pretty at the beginning, but it doesn't scale with a better performance than free alternatives such as MariaDB, and the integration with NoSQL tools (Neo4J and MongoDB) is too bureaucratic and non intuitive. I'd just recommend SQL Server if there's too much work in transfering the environment to other DBMS.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I had a system already running on SQL Server that needed to be moved to cloud (due to storage costs not scaling fast enough). The primary usage was to get information for data prediction, which I had to model in NoSQL environments, and migrating it to MariaDB wasn't a viable alternative. The queries to connect SQL Server to our environment, however, were terrible. I found no benefits other than not migrating the entire DB to another DBMS.