Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reveal(x) 1100v (BYOL)

ExtraHop | 8.3.3.1979

Linux/Unix, Other 7.6.0-r2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

12 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Richard S.

Two time customer

  • February 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Probably the most revealing aspect of ExtraHop's ability is the confidence they display by putting a proof of concept in without any fanfare, heavy lift or over selling. It goes in and starts working. The results are almost immediate as the network gets mapped and you can start seeing your whole environment on a single pane of glass. We were quickly able to discover things about our networks that heretofore had been lost between personnel turnover. It has readily become a centerpiece to our security and troubleshooting tool kit. This is my second time purchasing ExtraHop, first being as the CTO for a large hospital system and now as the CIO for a regional radiology group.
What do you dislike?
Tuning and filtering out the noise requires networking expertise and time. It is easy to get lost in drill down to drill down as the discovery can go much deeper than we might really need. I expect that it will take time to hone the pathways to the most relevant information.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Key one right now is discovery. What do we have, how is it configured, is it optimal, is it secure, what is the user experience, are our applications operating as they should and many more questions that deep visibility into the network and attached devices can offer.


    Hospital & Health Care

Great visibility into network traffic

  • February 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I most like the granularity with which we can see and identify traffic patterns. It allows us visibility into the types of traffic on our network and where the traffic is going.
What do you dislike?
There is a bit of a learning curve when trying to do some more complex filtering, using scripting to aid in that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We recently replaced our previous network traffic analysis vendor for ExtraHop because of the additional insight into East-West traffic, helping to understand the "soft underbelly" a bit better.


    Telecommunications

Powerful analytics

  • February 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Well designed/Intuitive/responsive GUI
- Can be used right out of the box
- Auto discover features
-Security detections
What do you dislike?
In general, I think it is an amazing tool, but the pricing is high
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
-The tool speeds up troubleshooting process, which is very useful in our daily operations
-Also the security detections allow us to improve our security posture


    Telecommunications

It's an awesome platform, easy out of the box usage

  • February 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
EAsy to use, intuitive platform, drill downs
What do you dislike?
Need more possibilities for the price models
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Baseline our network,analyse our traffic, alerting
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy out of the box platform, learning curve is smooth. Drill downs makes troubleshooting very easy.


    Shane G.

Network Detection Response with RevealX

  • January 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good use of network data to provide info on a given IP. Is it a AD server or endpoint, what protocols is it using.

A strong set of "out of the box" Security alerts with little to no configuration. Machine learning or deviation from normal alerts + threat specific alerts like "cobalt-strike"

Realtime analysis of network data such as DNS requests without storing all the DNS data
What do you dislike?
RevealX security detections are usually correct but still point to some legitimate network traffic. There high threat detections like "DNS C2 channel" are effective but there is still work to be done. Especially at the lower end of there threat score modeling.

These low threat alerts are more like "notable behavior" and they provide great info when investigating an end point but there not worth the analyst time to investigate each one individually. I would like to see more intelligence in there detection algorithms, whereby and endpoint with 4 or 5 suspicious behaviors would score higher then an endpoint with 2. Extrahop needs to work on presenting there alert data in a more meaningful way and reduce the signal to noise ratio.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Visibility is always a good thing of course but from a security point of view RevealX fills in the gaps that our EDR cannot. If our EDR is bypassed or compromised which is often the case in dev environments we still catch threats like "connection's to an internet DB" or "inbound RDP connections from the internet"


    Dewayne C.

Taking a peak behind the curtain

  • December 16, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Network insight and threat intelligence analysis. With all the threats that can and will occur in your datacenter, ExtraHop give you extra auditing and insight into traffic within your datacenter (or cloud) walls.
- The GUI and it's interfacing is fairly intuitive. I am constantly impressed with the search functions and capabilities. Beyond just searching IPs, you can drill down by AD accounts, ports/protocols, or even services. That is all out of the box and does not include the customizable nature of your data sets to allow for more granular insight into your high priority apps.
- In addressing my second dislike below: ExtraHop has done a great job of addressing this by providing a ton of hands on training, on-line training, personal email responses, and a growing youtube channel to help users understand and grow the tool.
What do you dislike?
Set up the initial ExtraHop installation early in 2020. It was not a simple task to get up and running, but well worth it once everything is collecting data and providing insight.

There is also a learning curve in using ExtraHop. It is not like your typical tools that see traffic on the wire.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use ExtraHop in my day-to-day business. From finding the break down in new installation to identifying choke-points in your compute stack to threat hunting and analysis, this is a multi-discipline tool that can be used for anything you need insight on.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I was a bit skeptical in my initial POC for ExtraHop as I was familiar with and comfortable using some of their near competitors tools and capabilities. The support that I received during the POC and their ability to help me start to put a clearer picture of our network and its performance I become more comfortable with the tool.


    Alberto M.

Great equipment & local Support

  • February 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
the easy interface & the support from the team
What do you dislike?
Nothing that I can think, everything has been great
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The accuracy of the reports & the way the report was created for our local team
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend extrahop, now they are shifting to a more security model


    Financial Services

Great tool for watching your network

  • June 04, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to use, there is near zero learning curve as long as the user have some very basic network knowledge for basic functions.
Easy filter based on domain, IP, and different network protocols and connection types.
Graphical representation.
What do you dislike?
Not much at this moment but I am not an advanced user of the system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Realtime check and verification about connections.
Traffic pattern alert.
Application/network load monitoring.


    Benjamin S.

A Network Time Machine and Protocol Guru

  • April 25, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
My favorite feature is the packet capture and storage. I can go back within a day and look at any packet that ExtraHop saw based on time and IP address searches. This has allowed me to lower my troubleshooting time by not having to wait for something to happen again and hope that I catch it.
What do you dislike?
The pricing of the infrastructure required in terms of taps to get all of the packets to the system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our teams have used ExtraHop to solve a multitude of problems. The network team uses it to analyze packets and troubleshooting. The HL7 team is using it to analyze the records that are already flowing across the network for healthcare related fields.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The tool is good, but sometimes sales oversell capabilities. Make sure that you understand the technical of what is possible.


    Hospital & Health Care

Perfect tool to monitor on wire traffic

  • March 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Capture the real time network packets and split into metrics, and records. No agent installation is required.
Extra hop Team's sets an example for great coordination and team work. We are really impressed with the way support, service, sales and training stays in sync, and provides great focus to its clients.
What do you dislike?
The tools needs to lots of configuration and console presented too much details. One have to have in depth knowledge of environment and network protocols. But they does provides great documentations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are monitoring tier 1 applications. Extrahop has provided live diagnosis and troubleshooting for existing issues.