Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Ultimate

GitLab | GitLab Ultimate 13.0.6

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

262 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jamez C.

The system is more stable for html development.

  • July 01, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The system that we use with Gitlab is different from others in the use and realization of any project, whether you are just a project or some development, implement it on our page to use it in everyday life since it has a structure, which I am happy because I It has served much more than other services such as Gifhub, since the tools are friendlier and my data is safe, in addition to keeping my applications and processes safe, it is much more attractive since I can protect all my information.
What do you dislike?
There are certain points in the system that could be improved so that this system is much more optimal in the sense of developing software or offering some type of information, adding features such as filters for users and optimizing servers to be able to be faster the system, however until Now it has worked very well, I am happy for what it has offered us.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It definitely solved the usual problem and improving the security they offer to our data is much more remarkable because the privacy of our information is encrypted, be it the IP, software or passwords, I am much more secure and have an authentication system that is why Reason that we solve our problems because you keep all the information safe and we can develop freely, we also save important data that will eventually be used in programming.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its tools, although they are very basic and new, are very similar to other systems, in this way we found it much easier, their use worked much better and I loved their good response.


    Computer Software

Gitlab review

  • June 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It allows all departments to report and track the status of technical issues
What do you dislike?
It is not user friendly or easy to navigate. We have several projects created and I have found it difficult to navigate between the projects to view details
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Reporting technical related issues and requesting tech related feature enhancements to our product


    Amri F.

It's the best Git repositories tools that I ever used.

  • May 28, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Unlimited public and private repositories. The price per user is cheep.
What do you dislike?
Actually I don't have any lack of Gitlab. It's a perfect tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Gitlab becomes one of our CI/CD DevOps tools chain. It's can automatically trigger to other tools with just commiting the codes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's the best Git repositories tools and easy to use and manage.


    Information Technology and Services

Amazing application for collaboratively development

  • May 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab graph tracing, interactive rebase and merge done using UI are really awesome but apart from that gitlab ci cd and easy to manage project development with version controlling and peer code review are the must use stuff.
What do you dislike?
Just sometimes git comments give me headache.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Gitlab help our organization to make development better as it allows multiple developer's to work on similar projects with different features branches and able to track the graphs of commit
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommended for every developer.


    Lucas V.

Gitlab

  • May 11, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
With Gitlab free version we could have unlimited private repository, one of the big advantages that I see that made me migrate from the Github. GIthub only allow me to have the public repository for free.

Where I work they also use Gitlab with Jenkins integration and it works perfect.

I also love the Gitlab for not being owned by Microsoft. I like they are independent and hope they receive a lot of migrations from big projects that are current on Github.

My github account is pretty much creating nets, as I normally use it just to access open source project and sometimes make some contribution.
What do you dislike?
I did not like that Atom does not have a good support for Gitlab. I would love if there is more integration with Visual Code, Atom and other editors.

I would love to see an official app from Gitlab (for mobile), I am using Gitfox, that is great, but has only view permission. I cannot aprove and PR and things like that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am developing Backend and Apps with Gitlab.

I am currently developing a solution that allow doctors to get information from pacients (with COVID-19) from app. They can manage their equipment (breath equipment) remotely. And Gitlab free private repository helps me to do this voluntary job without any extras costs. Since we do not have received any money apport so far it is pretty good.

And if anyone wants to make an apport or support the ideia please fell free to contact.

I am working with several colleagues from university to develop a cheap breath equipment with integration for app and server - to keep ours doctors safe!

My user is @lcsvcn.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try Gitlab if you are using Github right now


    Luca F.

Look up and you'll see GitLab

  • May 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab has been my go-to got platform for about 2 years now. I was presented to it by the team I joined back them, my first impression was "Wow, this looks a lot nicer than GitHub", as I am a sucker for good UI/UX.

With experience on the platform I became more and more impressed with the whole ecosystem GitLab provides, from a project management stand and a developer stand, GitLab features a lot of tools to aid software teams.

For me, the most impressive part of their toolchain would have to be the CI/CD Platform, the ease of use and it's flexibility is wonderful. Building CI/CD pipelines never felt easier.
What do you dislike?
One small problem I've had is that GitLab's search feature is sometimes wonky with it's results, sometimes dismissing personal/private projects in favor of other projects entirely, and sometimes it isn't.

Another one that is not entirely the fault of the platform, would have to be the lack of open source projects that are hosted on it. The reason for that I'd have to guess is that the name "GitHub" has become the default when talking about OSS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Software development related problems, those being web apps, web servers, monitoring tools, developer tools, etc.

Having both a fully feature project management suite and a highly integrated CI/CD platform are, most definitely, the biggest benefits over other Git platforms.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider using GitLab if you want a world class CI/CD platform fully integrated with each and every project, great project management tools, a built-in package registry, great UI/UX experience on all platforms, fair pricing and the ability to roll your own.


    Haim A.

Why we chose GitLab and never looked back

  • May 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
With GitLab we didn't just store our source code. we also used it as our main CI/CD system.
Once we started using it we didn't look back.

Creating pipeline is easy, building docker images, storing them with release tags, integrating with Cloud provider such as AWS, to quickly launch runners with different instance types for different GitLab jobs.
All of those just work.

Creating a GitLab CI Template allowed us to run multiple projects pipelines from a single pipeline code (gitlab-ci.yml)
Integration with Kubernetes (EKS) allows us to quickly deploy our code.

Deploying code using the built in SECRETS helps to keep our source code secure.
Building and storing Artifacts is very simple to do.

Ease of use: from the time we started with GitLab and explained other teams how to use it, they just did it.
Simplicity is the main key, but when we needed to build some complex CI, it was also possible to do without too much effort.
What do you dislike?
GitLab is not like Jenkins.
For example it is not possible to create a scheduled job which has a drop down menu for variables.
That is definitely a feature we would love to have on GitLab.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A few years a go i had to migrate a 3rd party product into the company: take the source code, build and deploy it as a new apps.
In order to do that i tried Gitlab for the first time.

The problem i had at the time was multiple source code repositories, without any CI code and no deployment flow that needed to be created.
The source code also had Tokens and other information that should have not be there.

After cleaning those, i created the GitLab repositories and started to work on the CI/CD.

In just a few days i had 4 new microservices running as docker containers on ECS.

As a DevOps Engineer, i managed to save a lot of time, while creating an easy to understand CI/CD Flow.
That solved the "how to build and deploy microservices? " question for me, and opened the way for other teams to start using GitLab and Docker every day.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Gitlab can help DevOps and developers to easily build and ship code.
I think that once you get to know it, you will stick with it.


    Banking

A Wonderful tool for your Digital Transformation

  • May 06, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is the tool for CI/CI,building boards and tracking issues from start to finish. I have used it to help diagnose work fatigue and help our colleagues determine the velocity of work. It makes commits and changes easy. I wouldn't leave home without it.
What do you dislike?
Jumping into the tool requires some basic training. In our world of operations, it took a few weeks for people to understand the flow of the tool. They have a lot of great documentation on their website to help through this though.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are now making work visible and we are able to review code at a much faster rate. It has increased the disciplines of review and knowing our automated processes.


    Daniel G.

GitLab Review

  • May 05, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really like GitLab because it makes Git more understandable. There is a really nice user interface to configure, analyze and control your Git repositories on a server. GitLab allows you to restrict user permissions, so you can control who is able to see your repositories or who is allowed to change the repositories. Furthermore your can use automatic compilation, CI/CD and a lot of other tools.This is also very interesting for companies.
What do you dislike?
It is no open-source software, so some features only available if you pay for it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use GitLab to manage the Git repositories on a Git server and control the access to it.


    Umair A.

Very important tool for the DevOps process

  • May 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its code review process provides the developer to keep 4 eyes policy which helps to deliver quality code in the production.
Its multi system integration works seamlessly such as integration with Active directory.
What do you dislike?
There are roles and policies missing from bigger enterprise perspective.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are solving Gitlab for the source code repository and utilizing it for our CI/CD stack.
We have integrated this with other different CI/CD tools such as nexus, jenkins.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a very reliable tool for CI-CD stack. i would highly recommend it.