Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Ultimate

GitLab | GitLab Ultimate 15.4.0 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

624 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Dimas B.

GitLab Awesome

  • June 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I migrated to Git from Subversion, I haven't looked back since. My primary reason for choosing GitLab was the offer of free private repos (I like to try before I buy). Being able to have real production projects while actually testing out GitLab basically sealed the deal. Despite Github getting all the attention, GitLab pretty much offers everything Github does. My team primarily uses GitLab, private repos and issues tracking. Additionally the platform is constantly being improved. GitLab is definitely worth taking a look at.
What do you dislike?
GitLab needs to improve their social coding features and feel. Github still wins out in this area. I have no doubt that GitLab is very close here.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Business wise we moved from Subversion to Git, we use GitLab because it offers free private repos and everything is managed in the cloud.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very inexpensive to get started. For business you can immediately start trying GitLab out with their free private repos.


    Nicolas C.

Version Control done right!

  • June 13, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab is based on Git, a powerful Version Control System tool. It allows to exploit the maximum of file modification history. Gitlab offers great visualisation tools: commit trees, fancy charts... It simplifies communication: you can comment almost everything (commits, files, even line numbers). It also has a neat merge-request features, with code reviewing system.
What do you dislike?
I think GitLab is ugly, it's UI forces users to click a lot, either to access features, or to explore the project files.
Also, you cannot add several collaborators as reviewers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In my job, we use GitLab to communicate on commits: we can send links to a specific line in a file, comment on code... We are also supposed to use it for code reviewing but my coworkers don't seem to be motivated for that.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure you know what you are doing with Git. You can lose everything really easily!


    Simon L.

Best self hosted web-based git repository manager

  • June 01, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Besides, being a fully functional Git repository, Gitlab integrates well with CI/CD. We currently are using the free version and cover most of our needs. The Omnibus package made Gitlab easy to install, update, and maintain. LDAP was a huge plus for our corporate integration.
What do you dislike?
The UI/UX looks poor and cheap, sometimes buggy and not very user friendly.
Many functionalities are not production ready, such as artifacts archiving,
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Best free on-premise solution available. All in one solution. Git Repository + Issue Tracker + CI/CD + Many supported integrations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a fully functional CI/CD for Test and maybe QA Environment. But I won't recommend it for production yet.


    Roberto T.

Good Source Control

  • May 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The software is free and it has free private repository.
What do you dislike?
The UI can improve, I found it not very clear.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Git Repository for small/medium project


    Sacha B.

Great free self-hosted git repository

  • May 10, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's free if you host it yourself. For private projects, it has all the features I love from GitHub, but not the cost of hosting private projects on GitHub.
What do you dislike?
A better system of automatically upgrading would be nice, to keep it on the latest version at all times.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's nice central repository for all our projects, complete with a web interface similar to GitHub.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's easy to deploy a test GitLab setup on Digital Ocean in just a few minutes and it's a very inexpensive way to evaluate the software.


    Logan B.

Great alternative to Github

  • April 14, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We love the C.I. integration with our branches.
What do you dislike?
I don't love how the merge requests are set up for code review. It makes it very difficult to manage a code review when everything is just files stacked on top of each other.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Version control of our source code, automated builds, code reviews.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use all the tools that it comes with.


    Mark A.

Everything a Forge needs

  • April 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's open source. It has an open way to extend it.
What do you dislike?
I needs better irker interface, or an interface to irccloud.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We need shared git repos, public pages, issue tracking, and security locked repos. It's got all that.


    Jonathan W.

Developer tool build by developers

  • March 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Feature rich git solution, open source, monthly releases, free unlimited cloud, on premise option, if you want something done you can make it and collaborate it
What do you dislike?
It's hard to pinpoint something bad about this software, since they are contantly and diligently improving; however one thing that stands out is, if using the cloud version expect issues once a month, since the cloud version (gitlab.com) is the first to update to the latest release and that comes with bugs, downtime and possible issues, that makes the cloud option a little unreliable for critical use
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Software source version control, issue tracking, milestone plan, automatic builds, code reviewing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For on-premise, just go for it, their is no downside, updates are a piece of cake to make, software is great and the community behind it is event better. If going for the cloud version, if you critically rely on the tool, consider either install it yourself in your cloud provider of choice or go with other tool, the once a month issues could be a problem


    Juan M. C.

Gitlab review

  • March 08, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to have private projects enabled, with the free service.
What do you dislike?
Some times can be very unstable do to the amount of traffic their servers handle.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Personal projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the time to compare it to Github and see which of both has the features that your project requires. Both of them are great!


    Josh T.

A great free solution for hosting git repositories

  • March 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that you get included access to Gitlab CI and pipelines which allows you to run continuous integration and continuous delivery in one simple configuration file.

I also like that you can host unlimited amount of repositories for free privately. This is better than hosting with Github.
What do you dislike?
They have recently experienced quite a bit of downtime, and also the web app can be quite slow at times.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are solving the issue of being able to host our git repositories. It allows us store our repositories privately for free.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try using it on a few projects first, see how it fits into your workflow and take advantage of the pipelines features.