Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for Arm 15

Amazon Web Services | 20200904

Linux/Unix, SUSE 15 GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

35 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Abdul G.

very light Operating system

  • June 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
we are running as virtual desktop VNC just install vnc rpm and create sessions it takes very light resources it can be run on Desktop PC with no need for a server PC and no licenses we had many problems before this, now we are running as storage and VNC sessions and also Open office is freeware no cost issue.
What do you dislike?
still not face any problem that really hurt us we are delighted to use this if no issue to troubleshooting every this is available on the Internet just google and solution is available
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Virtual Desktop saves licenses and is very light system no need to purchase very high hardware we are happy to use it and also available on the market no need for extra effort just install and configure.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
please use this one of the best server editions and very light to use the resource and very good for storage and virtualization


    Richa S.

Ease of Administration

  • March 25, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SLES is very easy to operate from an Administrator perspective. I have rarely seen any issues related to the kernel. SAP applications performance have been always at par. It support all kind of clouds, physical servers, vmware, etc. Official security release from SUSE have been always on time.
What do you dislike?
Knowledge base articles available in public forum can be improved.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using it on Network backup Admin servers and also for all clients. Clients are having SAP applications installed on it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Always check the compatibility matrix for your application and support criteria from SUSE.


    Szymon W.

Suse Enterprise Server for SAP

  • March 25, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Quick and easy-to-use support channels and well organized knowledge base.
What do you dislike?
The package manager is not such intuitive as in other linux products. I`ve used to use yum and zipper or yast are not such organized.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm using SLES for SAP environment, mostly used for HANA databases. I`m using both x86 and Power versions, as mine HANA systems utilize Power ability to address terabytes of RAM.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
SLES is a powerful platform for business applications like SAP, and it was the first certified platform for SAP S/4 and HANA. I strongly recommend to use this product as solid foundation for newly build on-prem SAP systems.


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

R&R!: Robust 'n' Reliable!

  • March 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Robustness and reliability are at the core of SLES.
Installation is also a good point with options to fit any requirement.
Open-source solution with a huge community that helps to find solutions.
What do you dislike?
If you come from another distribution, maybe zypper, despite being well superior to others, can be a bit confusing.
Also, for advanced utils, documentation could be a bit better.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Mainly used for SAP.


    Information Technology and Services

a distribution for everyday usage

  • March 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is the distribution I know best and I like the whole services/products around SLES. Like if I need special software that is not part of the normal repositories and it is even not found in the packagehub I can build it easily by my own using the open build service and submit it to SLES.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it takes too long to get newest software versions, but this was more a problem with SLES 12 and later.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
SLES is my default solution for customers searching for a linux distribution. Database server, fileserver, webserver.. We are using salt to automate everything, and that fits best with SLES.


    Higher Education

A Linux distribution for the enterprise

  • March 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server is just that, a Linux server built for the enterprise. There's a good balance of features from latest code but with the experienced security from past releases.
What do you dislike?
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server is perhaps not marketed as well as it should be so it suffers a bit from lack of recognition which in turn affects adoption and third-party support.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server provides a security-hardened Linux operating system that is well supported, both by SUSE and their growing user community.


    Doug J.

Enterprise Linux in a stable, cost-effective package

  • March 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SLES provides a stable, cost-effective platform.
What do you dislike?
The short window provided to migrate to new service packs once released. Community support is lacking.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The need for a stable, enterprise supported, secure Linux platform to provide numerous services from.


    Apparel & Fashion

Nice and stable Operating System for SAP Applications on IBM Power

  • March 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Suse linux Enterprise Server because of the variety of Custom OS versions for different CPU's like IBM Power and Intel and different applications running on it and also because they deliver both on-premise and cloud-based services. We have Suse Linux Enterprise server running on 6 IBM Power systems, installation is running very smooth. I defenitly like the administration portal for the subscriptions. I also think installation of Upgrades for this OS is really easy. Suse support is great and their community is growing rapidly with very fast response to resolve issues.
What do you dislike?
I really do not have much in a list regarding dislikes. I suppose if I had to pick one thing, it would be the fact that some IBM RST packages are hard to find and manage. I don't like it that some application vendors do not support Suse in their compatibility matrix.
The updates is more a Linux global thing, if you patch once a month you will get a whole bunch of updates. I would like to see cumulative updates like Windows update in Microsoft windows servers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As we use Suse Enterprise server for our SAP Environment we needed an operating system that has high compatibility with SAP on IBM Power system. We found Suse Enterprise Server for SAP applications for this usage. We are very pleased with this OS, because it is easy to deploy and maintain. Also when using Suse Manager to distribute updates in a Dev, Test, Acceptance, Production environment through a Content lifecycle project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Suse linux Enterprise Server is well suited for production enterprise systems. You need to pick a linux distribution thats most compatible with the application you need to use. For us Suse enterprise linux is the one! This goes without saying, but make sure that SLES supports all of the various applications that you would want to host and buy a support contract. The licensing portal (Suse Customer Center) is very easy to use, I've never had to use it but I know that my coworkers have found it very valuable in the past. Suse linux Enterprise Server is perfect for any size business and should definitely be in the shortlist of operating systems for just about any business critical system. just do it, it is one of the highly secured Linux environments available out there in the market.


    Information Technology and Services

Dependable Linux Enterprise Distribution

  • March 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've been using SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for several years now on X86_64 and aarch64, every new release or service pack release just works!
What do you dislike?
There is not anything I dislike with this product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Anything from just a simple time server on Raspberry Pi's to Kubernetes clusters, it does it all.


    Education Management

Reliable enterprise distribution

  • March 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
When running our SAP workloads, we found suse a reliable partner who offers a good enterprise distrubution at reasonable rates. Suse excells when it comes to useability, support and documentation
What do you dislike?
From time to time, certain niche topics aren't documented and it might take a longer while untill certain packages are included into the suse repositorys
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We switched from AIX to SLES for running our SAP application servers and we've always used suse for running our hana workloads. AIX to suse was from a cost savings perspective.