Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitHub Enterprise

GitHub | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,453 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Betsy R.

Best open source repository in the world and very easy to work with

  • September 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's already included in my 2 favorite code editors Atom and Pycharm and you don't need to leave the editor at all to work with GitHub. I only check the web version from time to time to make sure everything is well aligned and documented properly in the web version but functionality wise you could use it without even knowing there is a website.
What do you dislike?
Microsoft really improved GitHub since the acquisition in 2018 especially the security of it but we don't(and you shouldn't) trust it for really confidential data, for that we have our own git repository.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our public repositories go on GitHub as the main way to distribute APIs for public consumption.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to distribute your code GitHub is the most renowned place to share your code.


    Jasmine O.

The best platform to manage your team and repositories

  • September 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love GitHub mainly because I am able to to use it as a full management tool for our code base and repositories. I can assign tickets, keep track of edits, and manage our teams productivity all in one place. I also love that you're able to roll back to previous updates upon finding a code breaking bug.
What do you dislike?
I hate the pay per user model Github has. We hire alot of contracted workers and freelancers to contribute towards our code base. However we have to pay an additional user every time we bring on a freelancer and those fees add up.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Github, I use it as a management system for our team and our codebase. We found this alot easier than purchasing a project management software, as one is already embedded within github.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend using GitHub to host your repositories. It's a great system overall.


    Higher Education

Manage your source code

  • September 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Github allows me to have backups of my source code so if I lose my computer for whatever reason, I will not use my code.
The basic version is free so I do not have to worry about the cost of using a version control software. The basic version has private repositories so I could use it for my PhD research with sensitive datasets.
What do you dislike?
I am using the basic features of Github and I do not have any problem at the moment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have a personal account on Github and I am not a git expert. However, I know that if I encounter a problem, I can ask for help and many programmers will be able to help me.


    Philip A.

Very useful!

  • September 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One of the most helpful things about GitHub is the ability to rollback to old versions of any projects and rollback to old code, if you push something and it doesn't work as expected or breaks. No need to worry about losing your project now! It's there forever until you specifically delete it. Another thing that I love about GitHub is the ability to collaborate on a project into different branches and then if it is approved, merge it into the master branch.
What do you dislike?
GitHub has a small learning curve when starting to use it and when getting used to the command line commands.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
GitHub is helping me keep my projects all online and secure aswell as allow me to collaborate with others and allow others to see my work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend Github to anybody else looking for a fast and efficient and easy to use both Version Management system for your projects or if you would like to collaborate with a team on a number of different projects. It's very good.


    Sydney R.

Repositories for you projects and team management

  • September 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love Github because its easy to use for your team. You're able to store you code in a repository with full history of the code and any alterations to the project. Not just storing your code but you can manage your project by assigning specific task to your team working on the same projects already.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the pay model. Instead of a flat price for teams your paying per team member.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Github, we're able to fully manage out projects and have them continuously deployed. We use it to assign and review code of our team. We have realized using github as a product management tool has allowed us to develop way faster and discover issues when they arise far quicker. It allow allows you to keep people accountable for their actions if they didn't complete a task on time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend using Github with your team for large scale projects. It allows you to overview you projects progress and overall health. It also doubles as a great project management tool!


    Sarah K.

Censorship and abusive way of encountering the users

  • August 31, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that git has recently added many features.
What do you dislike?
What I don't like is that git has blocked my account right after I created it without doing anything and I had to contact the customer service. I don't know how many days it will take time until they respond to me and unblock me. But, I prefer to move to a different platform. Git has been also accused by many users to censorship and bringing politics to its environment. That's not the right way.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I highly recommend github to change its manager and leave it to the previous people. It used to be an environment where everyone was happy.


    Larissa M.

The Best Choice to Host Codes

  • August 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It facilitates teams by working collaboratively on their projects, ideas and problems. It’s built-in management features and security features help teams in better managing their work in secure ways. It helps in maintain and storing a history of changing in codes to various repositories. You can work collaboratively with millions of developers around the work for reviewing your codes. Varieties of different languages are provided in it for project source code.
What do you dislike?
Its free account is offering only one private repository. Its user interface should be more simplified for non-technical users. Identifying some changes may be difficult through pull requests. More attention is required for an android app. It free repositories are providing limited storage size of 1GB it should be increased. The response of support services is slow.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps in getting feedback and including in-depth documentation in your projects. It is also providing articles, help sections and guides. It has diffs feature which helps in providing a side-by-side view of changes made by you which helps in managing your changes easily. User can also browse references, commits and comments through its timeline-style interface. Formatted documents can be easily written through it by using its markdown feature.


    Computer Software

What would i do without Github?

  • August 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Reliable place to store Git repositories with features such as Pull Request and Issues to help with collaboration.

Nice that it was recently made free
What do you dislike?
Email notifications could be more configurable, current settings are a bit weak and confusing compared to the customisable in-browser Notifications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Storing and collaborating on code


    Zayed R.

Easy to share and get the publicly code

  • August 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
* The best thing of GitHub is to share your code to the outer world and management of version control.
* With the help of GitHub, anyone can find the open-source project freely to help each other in the IT industry.
* Easy to collaborate with your software environment.

*Easy to share code with your team.
What do you dislike?
* I felt need to some improvements in UI
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a software developer and blogger, I need to develop some new sort of application and share the code for the outer world. So I'm using the GitHub for sharing my new code in my blogs.
* sometimes I'm using the GitHub for searching the code for the new application.


    Angela S.

Creating repositories for efficient collaboration

  • August 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
GitHub is used all around the world for its well-known features. This amazing tool helps us in sharing source code to any corner of the world. It plays a key role for developers. It is providing absolutely great services. It helps us in creating separate repositories that contains source codes that can be further easily downloaded into their personal computers. It is absolutely great and also keeps paid version that comes with additional interesting features that fully satisfy us.
What do you dislike?
I am very satisfied user of Github in the start I had to come across with some of the bad things like difficult features but after using it properly and getting the right information of use I was much impressed with this tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is playing a significant role in controlling versions. In addition to that we found it to have extensive integrations and it is available in low price. This tool helps us a lot in tracking errors. It is indeed a good source of collaboration for the whole team. I appreciate its integration with most popular application such as Visual Studio.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is no doubt an efficient platform for working harder. I like the way it is working and providing satisfying services. I really love it and its all highly developed features and functions. I must suggest it to others who are looking for an advanced tool like Github.