Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Oracle Linux 8 with Support by Supported Images

Supported Images | 1.0.0-3

Linux/Unix, Other 8.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

94 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Automotive

Handles alongside other distributions

  • December 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a great benefit for you if you use Oracle db because Oracle supports this operating system primarily. Of course, since it is linux, it has many advantages over windows. But I think Suse is a more useful distro
What do you dislike?
It's not as easy to manage as other distributions. It has its own kernel. You don't want to change too much
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it as the operating system of Oracle DB servers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I do not recommend using it except Database Server


    Financial Services

Best OS I used

  • December 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to use it. Easy to maintain and handle. You can easily upgrade or degrade the resources.
What do you dislike?
Bit costly to use and manage. Bit on slow side .
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing integrations and shell scripts.


    Daniel Q.

The best Operative System

  • November 28, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very good, you have several developments that enhance the operating system kernel, through the support 100% all the functionalities are exploited, such as automatic patching, centralized administration.
What do you dislike?
The product information portal is not very friendly, it is necessary to know how to handle linux-based systems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problems that have helped us, is the installation of security patches automatically without a kernel of the operating system, vulnerability revision with ksplice, the support has facilitated solving integration problems with an IBM DB2 database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You will not regret it, it is the best operating system, since it allows you to have control of all the applications you have, it has great compatibility with a large amount of hardware. And the support is the best, in several languages ​​follow up the cases the best service.


    Hassan M.

Oracle Linux default OS for Oracle Applications and Database

  • November 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Oracle RPM and packages availability in OEL.
What do you dislike?
Not going to dislike the product because of max features and supported packages availability but their should be guideline available when to start third party software installation like nay popup comes and guide to install required packages...
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Oracle Linux is default OS for Oracle Products as i have experienced to install Oracle Databases and Oracle application like Oracle EBS R12 (12.1.1) I have installed EBS using OEL 5.5 and its very useful for all Application related operation specifically the performance of Server is quite smooth than other OS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
when to install any oracle database and applications it is recommended to use OEL instead of other OS environments.


    Banking

In installation of application servers and tools for data analysis

  • November 11, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
With respect to other Linux platforms it does not make any difference. I don't see anything special about other Linux platforms.
What do you dislike?
It is not very friendly and above all it does not fully align with other Linux platforms.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used Oracle Linux because it is the current version of my company and there is no other. It is used in Chatbot applications and data analysis.


    Govind S.

A platform for storing all of the software core database.

  • October 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I just love using Linux , I actually get to know how the system works. Also it provides how secure I want to make my system. I love the complete OS of Linux as It feels like a strong secure database can be made.
What do you dislike?
There must be a complete tutorial present where one can learn quickly how to use linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My organization buys license for various software and this can only run in Linux. Through scripting like Pearl, Tcl I run the software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, I like to recommend others to use this product to get a first hand experience on this kind of Oracle Linux.


    Information Technology and Services

Best Operating Environment with security

  • October 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The oracle company 24*7 support feature for any issue and quick quarterly realase of security Vurnable patches. Also memory management feature is good
What do you dislike?
Nothing much to dislike only thing that installation time and process is lengthy
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing oracle 12c database with multiple environment (RAC). Managing database as database administration
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Secure and good performance os


    Information Technology and Services

Good for enterprise usage

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Support for different things like docker in their enterprise support.
What do you dislike?
Good for those have experience with Gnome and other linux distros. UI is similar to Kali Linux (Gnome3). Not easy for people coming from windows background to use this at full potential
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to integrate with oracle cloud and oracle database. Can be considered as One solution for enterprise.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Not good for daily usage. For enterprises it is good.


    Anurag S.

Powerful Operating System for Enterprise use

  • October 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is open source and highly customisable. It is also free and uses lesser resources than windows. It is faster than Windows operating systems. It is also a very stable version of Linux when compared to other Linux distributions.
What do you dislike?
The user interface is not as good as the user interface provided by windows. Most of the features require you to enter commands instead of using a Graphical Interface like Windows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Oracle Linux for business server hosting. Linux servers are cheaper than windows server and are more lightweight and fast when compared to other hosting solutions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do go for it if you are looking for an enterprise Linux distribution


    Airlines/Aviation

Interface is Best

  • October 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
writing command is very colorful and easy to understanding difference between derive and directory
What do you dislike?
UI is not that much ok but still performance is also not that good. need to improve in performance. since it is oracle product so hope so they will update patch
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
doing practice for Linux cmd and it is very helpful