Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Oracle Linux 7 with Support by Supported Images

Supported Images | 1.0.0-3

Linux/Unix, Other 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

91 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Hassan M.

Oracle Linux default OS for Oracle Applications and Database

  • November 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Oracle RPM and packages availability in OEL.
What do you dislike?
Not going to dislike the product because of max features and supported packages availability but their should be guideline available when to start third party software installation like nay popup comes and guide to install required packages...
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Oracle Linux is default OS for Oracle Products as i have experienced to install Oracle Databases and Oracle application like Oracle EBS R12 (12.1.1) I have installed EBS using OEL 5.5 and its very useful for all Application related operation specifically the performance of Server is quite smooth than other OS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
when to install any oracle database and applications it is recommended to use OEL instead of other OS environments.


    Banking

In installation of application servers and tools for data analysis

  • November 11, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
With respect to other Linux platforms it does not make any difference. I don't see anything special about other Linux platforms.
What do you dislike?
It is not very friendly and above all it does not fully align with other Linux platforms.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used Oracle Linux because it is the current version of my company and there is no other. It is used in Chatbot applications and data analysis.


    Govind S.

A platform for storing all of the software core database.

  • October 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I just love using Linux , I actually get to know how the system works. Also it provides how secure I want to make my system. I love the complete OS of Linux as It feels like a strong secure database can be made.
What do you dislike?
There must be a complete tutorial present where one can learn quickly how to use linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My organization buys license for various software and this can only run in Linux. Through scripting like Pearl, Tcl I run the software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, I like to recommend others to use this product to get a first hand experience on this kind of Oracle Linux.


    Information Technology and Services

Best Operating Environment with security

  • October 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The oracle company 24*7 support feature for any issue and quick quarterly realase of security Vurnable patches. Also memory management feature is good
What do you dislike?
Nothing much to dislike only thing that installation time and process is lengthy
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing oracle 12c database with multiple environment (RAC). Managing database as database administration
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Secure and good performance os


    Information Technology and Services

Good for enterprise usage

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Support for different things like docker in their enterprise support.
What do you dislike?
Good for those have experience with Gnome and other linux distros. UI is similar to Kali Linux (Gnome3). Not easy for people coming from windows background to use this at full potential
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to integrate with oracle cloud and oracle database. Can be considered as One solution for enterprise.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Not good for daily usage. For enterprises it is good.


    Anurag S.

Powerful Operating System for Enterprise use

  • October 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is open source and highly customisable. It is also free and uses lesser resources than windows. It is faster than Windows operating systems. It is also a very stable version of Linux when compared to other Linux distributions.
What do you dislike?
The user interface is not as good as the user interface provided by windows. Most of the features require you to enter commands instead of using a Graphical Interface like Windows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Oracle Linux for business server hosting. Linux servers are cheaper than windows server and are more lightweight and fast when compared to other hosting solutions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do go for it if you are looking for an enterprise Linux distribution


    Airlines/Aviation

Interface is Best

  • October 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
writing command is very colorful and easy to understanding difference between derive and directory
What do you dislike?
UI is not that much ok but still performance is also not that good. need to improve in performance. since it is oracle product so hope so they will update patch
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
doing practice for Linux cmd and it is very helpful


    Computer Software

Oracle Linux solving real world problems

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is the one of the best open source operating system we can customizing the things very effectively and efficiently in our work place
What do you dislike?
Configuration take more timing with respect to other operating system
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are customizing the OS as we want to be functional in our organisation


    Computer & Network Security

Oracle Linux in solving real world problems

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Oracle Linux is the platform for user friendly its a very good operating system in both the sense for GUI( Graphical user interface) and for Portability ( Open source concepts)
What do you dislike?
Complex command line scripts needs to be work
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Oracle Linux for installing and using our oracle software in both the sense as development and Adminstration


    Information Technology and Services

Linux The Ultimate Distro

  • August 05, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You can do anything and everything with the terminal.It have wide verity of distro like ubuntu,kali linux etc... all these distros have there on use and specs.The cost of linux machines are low compared to windows.The linux is also lite weight.The attack on Linux machines are low compared to windows.The linux have all the features required but it is little bit complex to use these features.The best thing about linux is its free!!.It can be used in pc,laptops, smartphones,iot devices ,embedded devices, mobile devices etc..
The pros of linux are:
1.Easy to install
2.Its free
3.Can distribute your changes in Linux to help
others.
4.Stable and secure system
What do you dislike?
The user interface is and user experience is little bit low in linux.So its not that easy to use it.The linux virtual machine are little bit cumbersome to handle.As the linux provide all the super power to the user may be the user can messup the system easy if he is not careful while usinh some commands.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The linux machinae can save the server bill to a grate extent as the cost of linux server are low compared to windows.The virus attack on linux machines is very low compared to windows.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can get so much of utilities and app.But the UX is not great. The Terminal is ultimate control.You can do everything