Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Premium

GitLab | GitLab Premium 13.12.4 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

303 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

A good VCS tool

  • June 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We can have free private repositories, but it has limited features. But we can get used to it before purchasing the product. Also, I like the web IDE in GitLab, which is far better than the text editor in other VCS. Also, we can check the GitLab ci config file before pushing it and testing it in the pipeline. We can validate the yml script on the GitLab site itself.
What do you dislike?
There are some limitations in Gitlab. For example, we can not re-request for review from the co-workers. Also, I am not a fan of GitLab UI. Mainly the notification side.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can use it as a remote git repository to collaborate with co-workers on a project. We can make several branches based on what functionality is being developed. And we can create merge requests and then merge all the work in the main branch. Co-working on software project is very easy with GitLab.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a good tool to use for version management and collaboration on a project. You should consider this software especially when you want a test pipeline with gitlab-ci.


    Gabriel L.

Best business git repository management

  • May 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The self-managed version of GitLab lets you control your repository management the way you need. It has so many functionalities that allow your company to customize your repository management securely. I love the kanban integration and especially all the CI/CD that it has. It makes my job much more manageable.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes some of the bugs take longer to fix but is nothing that you can get a workaround for.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's the tool we use to manage all of our repositories at the company. I've been able to streamline the entire process of deploying the applications with its powerful CI/CD integration.


    Financial Services

Great for managing codebase, CI/CD

  • May 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Useful for git repo, code reviews, CI/CD
What do you dislike?
It works fine for my needs. No complaints.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Code Repo, CI/CD, code reviews


    Jimesh S.

GitLab : More than version controlling

  • May 03, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Notification alert, cherry-pick, Generate Merge request and assign to superior, add comments and many more features provided by GitLab.
GitLab is easy to configure with CI/CD pipeline.
What do you dislike?
I have been using GitLab for more than 3 years but till now I could not find any issue with this feature-rich tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My whole team was able to work on the same feature using GitLab. Also, the peer code review feature allowed us to solve several issues before we integrate with the Master branch. Moreover, we have done security penetration testing using the Application Security Testing tool. We have been using this tool as a primary security validation process because it provides a holistic view of our security profile.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This tool is an essential component of our security hardening and validation procedures.


    Ketan B.

One of the best version control tool.

  • May 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is impressive, and that doesn't make the functionality bad. It is easy to use , instructions are provided.
What do you dislike?
It is almost similar to git hub. No additional functionality as needed, it is good for basic code management.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing code in repository, along with multiple branches able to merge once verified into master branch.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is easy to use and good to use for software development process.


    Jiahui F.

Great Self-hosted Git Repo Management

  • April 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab community is opensource and free-to-use with functionalities good enough for opensource and smaller teams.
What do you dislike?
GitLab consumes many resources to run. It is sometimes too heavy if a simple web UI is what you need.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problem: We need a self-hosted Git repo management. Benefits: GitLab works well for this purpose.


    Vimal G.

Best Version control Tools - GITLab

  • March 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. The GitLab is an all-in-one platform to manage your source code with multiple methodologies.
2. They support continuous development integration options like CI/CD pipeline, auto-DevOps, code management and security.
3. The agile methodology is very important nowadays for every software engineer, and GitLab has provided agile methodology tools.
4. The GitLab is the best code version control tools; they help easily to parallel work with a team, track and review your code changes.
5. Easy to track your bugs and review your code.
What do you dislike?
They did not provide any UI application to manage your source code, only supported the command-line interface its cause some time to face difficulty to manage code.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Easy to track your bugs.
2.Fast and continuous delivery product
3.The GitLab help easily to parallel work with a team, track and review your code changes.


    Lucas P.

Great platform for collaboration

  • March 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab has a good number of capabilities for creating and managing repositories. It is also packed with good activity-monitoring features;
Provides us with comprehensive analyses of apps that help us improve them.
Allows us to operate in a more seamless manner and makes interdepartmental communications easier for us.
Comes with several useful integrations and various capabilities for time-tracking and source code management, among others.
What do you dislike?
GitLab's search capabilities need to be improved to show more accurate results;
Kanban board views of project could use some improvement;
Better explanations and granularity of user permissions and controls;
It lacks some features, and sometimes the menus are really confusing and hard to navigate. There have been some occasional crashes too when you need to restart your server to get it up again;
Sometimes it gets very slow and provides problem to connect or update to the servers. Search is difficult on some pages;
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
GitLab prevents issues on flow and allows us to achieve our desired results. It is a secure platform with a friendly interface;
Even if GitLab is simple to use, it's a big piece of software that can sometimes become slow on the web user interface. Moreover the review system is sometimes not so easy to use compared to other competitors. Hopefully their are great browser extensions that solves this issues;
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In my opinion, this platform is better designed compared with its competitors. I am a long-time user and have witnessed how GitLab continues to enhance its services. It comes with many great features. My favorite part would be its excellent CI/CD section. It can be navigated with ease and it allows for greater flexibility.


    Eve O.

Source control for everything

  • February 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the flexibility of GitLab. The web version is also amazing as you can use it for free, unless you need some more advanced feature. However there is the possibility to use it on your own server. I think that is the true power of GitLab.
What do you dislike?
I miss the dashboard, like health charts for projects. Also the ui is a bit old school. But I guess it is a subjective opinion. Also it is not well integrated to other source control softwares like sourcetree.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using it for code hosting. Also experimenting with the Community Edition to run our own server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try out CI/CD integration.


    Peter K.

Good for small companies and hobby developers

  • February 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the full functionality which is available even for the free plan. Besides the must have code hosting support, you can configure runners and build jobs. Register your own server to build and deploy your product, so for hobby developers and small companies it is the universal solution for the first years.
What do you dislike?
The website for mobile is not optimised at all, so if you get the notification that your build failed, it is hard to check the result from your mobile. It also has a tricky login button location from mobile, so that part what they could put focus on.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are hosting our entire code base on GitLab and also using the CI/CD for building and deploying the application.