Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Premium

GitLab Inc. | GitLab Premium 13.7.4

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

291 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Balaji K.

Very useful and best in its king

  • January 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
its branching feature, compatibility, opensource, speed, secure
What do you dislike?
it will take some time to get flow into it, sometimes reverting the commit is tedious, commands are little bit tough to remember
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work in a concurrent software development team, we use git in parallel code management. we also maintain task, bug in git


    Terri C.

The best frontend for managing internal repositories

  • January 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
When a project is employee-only it is just best to have it behind a system that only allows access by single sign-on and separate from the main public repository until it is ready to become live or discarded. This means no accidental pushes to the wrong remote branch or mistakenly making it public since it works in a completely different system.
What do you dislike?
Some projects that eventually get canned are actually very good but since its outside of the public eye they just get forgotten and no chance that someone else takes over them and if you are planning to go job hunting since the commits are private that means that no exposure to potential employers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is our internal tool for managing git projects before they go to GitHub
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The public version of Gitlab is not bad, but there are better options, but the actual system can be mounted separately and work as a private repository for repositories, and that it is actually great in an enterprise.


    Kathleen K.

A great tool for private and public repositories

  • January 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
For open source it's my second favorite tool after Github, for code in an enterprise it's my favorite tool, for anything that is not highly confidential it's the best tool since it can be easily hosted inside an organization and shared companywide without fear of sharing things that should not be shared or worrying about the platform being hacked by an outside attacker.
What do you dislike?
It is a really nice tool for anything that isn't too important, but for code that is critical for product functionality and protected as a trade secret is not an option, it is flexible and very useful with many features, and a system with a lot of features is harder to fully secure. It is a tradeoff I would love to use this for all our internal code, but the possibility of an internal attacker increases with a tool as open and feature rich as GitLab.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All my company code that is not highly confidential goes into GitLab.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep your GitLab implementation besides a company intranet and you'll fend against 90% of the attackers.


    18UCS048_ABHIRAJ K.

Best DevOps Platform for managing Project Repositories

  • January 07, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing that I like about GitLab is that it is open source. Moreover it offer unlimited private repositories without limitation of contributors, when compared to GitHub. GitHub offers only 3 contributors to private repositories. It also supports continuous integration, delivery and integration with Jira. It also supports import using Git. It also supports different programming languages.
What do you dislike?
The one thing that I hates most about the GitLab is it's UI. It may be attractive for many of you guys, but I love the GitHub interface rather than GitLab interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helped me to keep a centralized repository for my projects. It also helped me and my friends to work on the same project from different places. Since it is open source, I believe it more than anything. GitLab helped me to organize all my projects in a proper manner.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
From my point of view, if your organization is looking for a place where all the repositories can be organized without having any doubt regarding the platform, then you should opt for GitLab. Since it is an open source platform, we can trust it more than anything.


    Yukti A.

Good for code repository

  • November 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Relatively similar to multiple other code repository hosting websites. Many of the same features of being able to have multiple repositories and create merge requests. Relatively easy to comment on code and create threats in order to make discussions. Is also pretty easy to set up a number of continuous integration and continuous deployment. New features are regularly being added which helps make things easier. We have multiple repositories set up and are able to deploy automatically to our staging environment. We also have a number of tests that are run to ensure that merging into the master of a fully successful and this updates every time there are new merges into master. It also has dark view readily available which is a relief.
What do you dislike?
It is not the easiest tool to use for stacked differentials. There are some benefits to arc where merge request A depends on merge request B which is supposed to merge into master. However in kettle have it tends to be better to have people review commit by commit or wait until the first merge request is merged before putting the next one up for review otherwise you're stuck doing a lot of git rebase master or git rebase hard and cherry pick.
It is very annoying when you want to make a comment referring to multiple lines of code and you have to insert the line numbers manually.
It is also very annoying that you often have to look side by side rather than in line otherwise it gets difficult to read.However the problem with that is you end up needing a widescreen monitor.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were looking for a place to store our code as well as half pipe lines set up to deploy some of that code. We needed a place to do code review. It is nice to hit the merge when everything is complete button after you have reviewed even if all of the unit tests have not finished building yet. We are starting to implement teams so that not everyone gets notified when they need to review.


    Ahmed K.

One of the best existing tool to manage projects

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab is really a full automated service covering all the stages of theproject life cycle It helps you increase your productivity , with unlimited repository and good visbility and track of your overall Projects.

I find the interface super easy to use , and the tutorial is pretty complete. The biggest advantage of Gitlab is the community behind that is always willing to assist you .

Integrating the CI/CD part is really helpful to manage different pipelines and the Merge requests are super easy to use in the platform.

Tracking conflicts and resolving them is also . Submiting tickets , creating issues , assigning them and set deadlines.

In general between Securtiy , Subversion , code management and DevOps Tools , I think that Gitlab meet every compagny requirements
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I dislike in Gitlab.

I would rather say that they're some points that can be improved. like optimizing services to run faster especially for the DevOps use. Sometimes the pipelines can take forever.

Managing Groups can be tricky as well , sometimes you have to manually join groups and projects together. The graphic repository can be improved too
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Gitlab mostly everyday in our company.

It helps us monitor all our softwars , tools and tracking subversions. The code collaboration looks pretty easy now since we start using Gitlab . Code Reviews and Merge requests are easy to manage through the interface.

As part of the DevOps Team , the CI/CD platform creating automated flows
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It might look expensive as a solution for small business , the free Gitlab version is pretty good as well .

For big teams and multiple projects management there's no better solutions than using Gitlab ( users permissions , merge requests, code reviews and subversions) It covers the entire software development process

If your company uses DevOps to manage their softwares lifecycle. You should definitely move to Gitlab it's highly recommended


    Peter S.

Gitlab is one of the most efficient platform

  • November 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Due to this tool it is very convenient for me to track the progress of our working activities, effectively we have generated our portfolio and also it provides us the real time information about our ongoing projects and it mark them according to their work status. This tool is very easy to configure and provides continuous integration policy that is helping me to merge various codes, for early identification of any problems. Gitlab has helped me to provide continuous delivery of my services to my customers and for that purpose it unifies the entire DevOps tool chain into a single application.
What do you dislike?
Since I have been using this tool is working amazingly and providing reliable results. It is one of the most user friendly and time friendly platform. The pricing is policy needs to be revised for the easy access to the medium and small size business.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It provides me a graphical representation about the actual cycle of the work progress. Moreover it also provides me a secret variable code by the help of which I can make sure the authorized person access to the software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If I talk about my organization I would say it is the most suitable tool with our company work. It enhances the productivity and provides complete DevOps tool. You must give it a try if you are looking for a an efficient version controlling platform.


    Ajay S.

Gitlab : A professional collaboration tool

  • November 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a very good Version Control Repository Management service. Because of it's very easy to use and user friendly interface it becomes first choice for people who are new to version control.
It provides many feature but some of the features that I like are:
1) Providing read or write access of any repository to any individual is very easy.
2) It provides access at multiple level based on role that you are giving to the user ex developer, owner etc.
3) Conflict resolution interface is very good and can be done manually as well as with the suggestion that it provides.
4) A process can be created for creating issues in Gitlab under each repository, fixing it, getting it reviewed and then finally merged by the individual having appropriate access.
5) One of the major advantage with Gitab is that DevOps can integrate its CICD pipeline with it very easily.
What do you dislike?
Nothing that I disliked but still If have to tell something where it can be improved then below are those points:
1) If any notification can be sent to the person to which any merge request is assigned then that can be very useful feature.
2) If some themes can be provided that will also be very useful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Gitlab to manage our code in repository with many people working on it with different access. Also we have integrated that repository with CICD pipeline for deployments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a very good tool for Version Control Management. I will recommend this as it is having very easy to use interface for merge request and access provisions.


    Information Technology and Services

Best version controlling platforms

  • October 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about gitlab is that we can collaborate with team using branching feature of gitlab
What do you dislike?
The thing that is disliked in Gitlab is its user interface in graph analysis part
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problem that we are solved using Gitlab is making of projects with different versions or checkpoints
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommended others to use Gitlab


    Elda B.

Revisión Gitlab

  • October 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Puedo subir mis proyectos y prácticas para compartir con colegas amigos y no amigos, es una plataforma 100% colaborativa, me gusta mucho eso.
What do you dislike?
Nada, desde que lo uso no he tenido inconvenientes de ningún tipo.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Con la plataforma Gitlab puedo tener todos mis proyectos disponibles desde donde los necesite, de una forma cómoda y segura, me ayuda a mostrar mi trabajo a otros y conseguir trabajo en línea.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Úsenlo con confianza es rápido y fácil de utilizar. Lo recomiendo 100%