Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Premium

GitLab | GitLab Premium 17.1.0 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

810 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Gitlab will change your development process

  • March 29, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Web UI clever mechanics and deep git commit integration
What do you dislike about the product?
Different versions, with complex licensing
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Documentation of software project progress anf project management.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just do it


    Ramona E.

Less well-known but awesome software versioning system.

  • March 28, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The interface is clean and easy to navigate. It has regular updates adding new features mostly relating to project planning and management. It has the option to make repositories private without additional costs.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes the interface changes a bit after a update making it annoying to find commonly used functions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use GitLab for managing my software projects. I can easily store the entire history of my code base and let others review or collaborate on my projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the documentation and try it out. There is more than just Github!


    Dylan E.

Software versioning system with the clearest interface

  • March 16, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The overview if you have many projects is great. It is clear to see what activity has taken place on each project while you were away. The application is updated often and they add alot of functionalities relating to project planning/Agile.
What do you dislike about the product?
The common updates are often accompanied by UI changes, which means that after each update they move some common features around. This is a minor inconvenience, since it means I often 'lose' commonly used functions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our team uses Gitlab for software versioning of our companies various projects. It allows our team to stay connected on each others progress and provide comments and discussion on issues and code.


    Computer Software

Decent, but complicated

  • March 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The flexibility and control that we have over the system and the multiple levels of permissions systems.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's clunky to use and the menus are all very cluttered.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The ability to host it ourselves and manage login systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a lot of control over your system this will probably work for you, but if you just need a basic repository system, go with bitbucket or something simple and common. If you don't have any complex needs, don't complicate your life.


    Internet

Easy to use and great UI

  • February 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The UI makes it very UX friendly. Tracking version history never been so easy and pretty.
What do you dislike about the product?
Their is not much that I dislike with this product right now.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Saving project history. Version history is the major benefit here.


    Computer Software

Great for Everything Except Merge Conflicts

  • February 03, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's really easy to use. Issue creation is simple and straightforward. There are many ways to custom organize issues. Milestones are AMAZING. It's great.
What do you dislike about the product?
Merge conflicts are unbelievably hard to resolve. When I have one, I decide to deal with it on my IDE instead of GitLab. It's really inefficient and needs to be modified.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Organizing issues and tracking issues over milestones. It's really helpful to have a program like this because it keeps sprints organized and we can keep track of individual contributions.


    Higher Education

Git in lab

  • January 31, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The ease of use and so many free features.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing. So many things are free. I just love this
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Repository Management
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Switch to get labs from GitHub if you want free things.


    Juozapas M. P.

Currently the best tool of this kind for developers.

  • January 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Compatibility over OSes and ease of usage.
What do you dislike about the product?
Lacks better mobile support for Merge requests
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Collaboratie development management and review


    Daniel B.

Excellent strategic vision and execution

  • January 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The built-in features of Auto DevOps have made our experience more rewarding and effective.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's still a monolithic application. This is in the process of being fixed, but I'm often worried a failure in one component will take out the entire system.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This tool is able to streamline our entire development workflow. This allows us to inject standard security and compliance gates, create an audit trail, reduce our toolset, reduce the overhead of managing multiple disparate tools and their integrations, and produce customer value faster.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want a holistic solution with a strategy around devops, then this is the solution you need. It provides a lot of native support for devops collaboration. The company also embodies devops and an open and transparent culture. Their company is 100% remote, and almost all of their internal documentation is published publicly so anyone can search it and submit changes back. This includes all of their HR documentation. I highly value the culture of a company when I'm evaluating doing business with someone, and this company ticks all the boxes for a strong culture fit with my company.


    Kevin Y.

Great for large projects, private repos, CI builds, and tight control of the Git environment

  • January 17, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Gitlab offers a free hosted option, but if you need large project sizes, or more projects available the open source omnibus installation for Linux works great!
What do you dislike about the product?
App requirements a bit steep, my current setup:
i7 4690K, 4 core CPU
16GB ram
virtual box Ubuntu Linux
200GB VDI
100M/bit uplink
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Collaborative coding, private repo, reduced reliance on 3rd party hosted solutions, better CI
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly consider the free hosted solution on gitlab.com if using under 5 projects.