Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Sophos XG Firewall Standalone (BYOL)

Sophos | 18

Linux/Unix, Other 18.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

43 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Great Support

  • August 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Phone support and easy Firewall to setup
What do you dislike?
long time waiting on the phone to talk to support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Network small office, clinic or dental clinic. Easy and quick setup
Recommendations to others considering the product:
go for it, suport is great


    Alec I.

A Networking and Security Savior

  • August 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Quick initial setup, integration with anti-virus makes management easy, easily scales with us.
What do you dislike?
Major updates sometimes cause the XG to stop working properly, but automatic backups have made it easy to recover if anything goes wrong.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When taking over IT, everything was in shambles. There was no anti-virus, no firewall, and every system needed to be upgraded. I needed a secure solution that could be setup fast and could easily be managed during the transition period, but then scalable as old systems were replaced. Sophos XG was quick to setup, made security centrally managed because it integrated with Sophos anti-virus, and has easily scaled as we upgraded and replaced every system we had and then started adding new systems as the company has grown.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend getting Sophos anti-virus with central management. It will make the experience much better.


    Brandon L.

I have used Sophos XG firewalls, APs, and REDs for 5 years

  • August 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ease of setup and ease of use that comes with Sophos XG Firewalls. From setting up business rules, Access Points, and Remote Ethernet Devices they all offer an ease of use that is unmatched by a competitor.

Also I love the Phishing emails. I have the ability to schedule Mock attacks on email users. If they click the link the email sends them to training. If not, they have the option to forward it. I make a contest out of this every month of users. I also like that Sophos seems to be transparent when things are awry.

Setting up new networks and Access Points are a breeze! Also Remote Ethernet Devices enable our multi-site facility to communicate with security and speed. I was able to get a new site up and running in not time last month with a new RED15.

I also have the ability to run many reports for our senior management. Reports that enable them to see what I do and break it down for them to understand how important the firewall is to our organization. This enables me to better serve our organization.
What do you dislike?
There are some items on my wish list for the XG firewalls.

I would like the ability to reboot an AP that is having issues. Also to reboot Remote Ethernet Devices if needed.

Some other issues are training or learning new things about the firewall. Some of the training is behind paywalls the last time I looked. I would love for there to be more training for us.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Since COVID hit we needed the ability to work from home. Sophos XG Firewall offers a SSL VPN with our subscription. I was able to set that up to enable users to work remotely. They were able to get to the data they needed and most importantly the data was secure!

I also have the ability to block websites and apps as I see fit. Or i can block categories.

I setup a network at a new site in a matter of moments with the XG firewall and a Remote Ethernet Device. This was a simple setup and give me the ability to push all traffic through our main site with the REDs. We also have the ability to monitor traffic at remote sites.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Setup is a breeze. The rules are easy to setup for the firewall and setting up exteranl sites and users are easy to setup as well.


    Information Technology and Services

Best Firewall Ever

  • July 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Functionality, reliability and ease of use
What do you dislike?
I've worked on many firewalls and I normally have complaints: can't think of one for Sophos...
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Eneterprise network firewall for office, wireless access point management and communication with endpoint software.


    Ross L.

Sophos XG Firewall - a good budget option, but you pay for what you get

  • June 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Sophos XG series has a great UI which is easy to navigate and use. I particularly like the firewall page, in which it makes use of a simple UI, but keeps essential information on (other firewalls I have saw utilize menus over a simple UI).
What do you dislike?
The diagnostics tab is particularly hard to use. The system graphs look very nice, but dont elaborate on much, without going into the logs themselves. It would be nice for this to all be integrated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There seems to be a lot of firmware upgrades, which can be quite time consuming.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Shop around - you pay for what you get!


    Sports

Sophos XG straight up

  • May 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The layout and ease of navigation is very good.
What do you dislike?
There are some policies and features that need to be addressed on the command line especially for VOIP phones to work. The clustering can be a bit of a pain and you don't really know what's going on from the onscreen messages.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was trying to increase my customers security posture by having point solutions that talk to each other.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for small to medium organisation with comprehensive security features but has the capabilities for large enterprises


    Daniel B.

Sophos XG Firewall

  • March 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Sophos is currently ranked as one of the top security providers. I have been using their XG firewalls and Endpoints for the last few years. I have been extremely impressed with their protection and features.
What do you dislike?
The XG firewall policy configurations can become complex if you are managing a large operation. I recommend reading their outstanding forum posts for assistance in learning the product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been using Sophos XG firewalls to run multi-office sites for healthcare. We have 11 sites which connect to our main office that houses our servers. We have site to site VPNs running between the firewalls. This has proved to be a great product to allow us to interconnect our offices. The synchronization of the Sophos Endpoint software is also a great feature.


    Elias B.

Terrific.

  • March 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Precision. Confidence. Valuable. Facility to config and understand the function.
What do you dislike?
The delay to make adjusts by support team after we open a difficult problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connection with the world due covid-19.Agility to implement.


    Lim Y.

Simple But With Advanced Design

  • March 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy Configuration & User Friendly Device
What do you dislike?
Log Viewer Is Not Clear During Trbleshoot
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Sophos XG, It was very easy on the configuration with user friendly. Nice Dashboard with all the important information once login. Just like a Car Dashboard, Without clicking anything all the information is show on the dashboard upon login.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, Will recomended this to my partner


    ANDASON K.

Acting head of ICT benjamin Mkapa Hospital with bachelor degree focused on Software engineering

  • March 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Sophos Xg firewall helps our hospital mostly on network protection , VLAN configuration,VPN configuration and firewall rules configuration and also we appreciate the support we are getting from Sophos support and customer care team, also we have been using Sophos on managing users using captive portal every user is authenticated before accessing the internet. so with this technology we have improved internet speed to our organization
What do you dislike?
The mostly challenge we are getting is when we are trying to access the device on local area network we are getting certificate error massage. If Sophos will solve this issue will be much appreciated, But despite all the mentioned challenges we appreciate the support we are getting from Sophos customer care and Sophos Support when we are facing issues on daily activities of the Hospital. I recommend mostly to Sophos to remove that certificate error massage when accessing the firewall devices.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sophos Xg firewall helps our hospital mostly on network protection and and configuration of VLAN,VPN and firewall rules and also appreciate the support we are getting from Sophos, Sophos also help us mostly on Nuting configuration by allowing System support to access local servers and provide Support, Helps us also on managing users by using captive portal with this feature user are authenticated first before accessing the internet.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The Sophos firewall device is easy to configure and simply network related configurations , if someone is looking for the best firewall device i recommend Sophos