Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Sophos XG Firewall Standalone (BYOL)

Sophos | 18.0 MR4

Linux/Unix, Other 18.0 MR4 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

86 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Entertainment

All the features the CTO asks for while keeping the CFO happy also (great value!)

  • March 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Sophos XG is easy to manage. The user interface is simple and intuitive. If you need to step into the CLI, there is plenty of documentation for that as well. The built-in support for the easy-to-interface REDs tunnels is great.
What do you dislike?
We have not had any problems with the Sophos XG series. Dollar for feature, the Sophos XG line is a fantastic value. We previously had used Cyberoam products, and the Sophos acquisition and enhanced development of the product have been a blessing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With working from home becoming a "new normal", I am able to easily segregate traffic and control Internet bandwidth in my home/office, allocating the resource as needed without needing a separate connection from my ISP. Filtering content for the "non-employee" individuals at my workplace is a huge benefit.


    Robert P.

I have had great success with Sophos XG firewalls.

  • March 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of working with the content filtering for controlling user access.
What do you dislike?
It took a little bit of practice to get used to the interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main problem solved was for secure access from remote users and security controls for Internet access. In the past year we realized the power of the platform with an additional load of remote users.


    Andrew Y.

Great Firewall, Great Ecosystem

  • March 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Sophos XG Firewall is easy to configure and use, but extremely flexible and powerful. Sophos provides excellent training on their products (including the XG firewall), and their support is very helpful. You can download a free trial at any point and setup a test virtual firewall on spare hardware (or as a VM) to become familiar with the firewall and features without any type of commitment or limitation. They also provide a free version of their virtual firewall for home use.
What do you dislike?
There have been some bugs in the XG / SFOS firewall versions, and some feature parity discrepancies between the older firewall OS (UTM) and the XG firewall OS (SFOS), but Sophos has made excellent strides in resolving those issues. The latest major release (SFOS v18) has added an impressive level of flexibility and customization to adapt to modern requirements for firewalls.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sophos XG firewalls work excellently as a one stop solution for routing, firewalling, webserver protection, email gateway, VPN appliance, and more. Sized properly, the firewalls provide more than adequate capacity and throughput. The reporting and Sophos Central integration are excellent, and allow for secure remote administration and great scheduled reporting. The Synchronized Security with Sophos InterceptX for servers and workstations is fantastic, and lets you easily view the applications running in your environment, as well as enforce greater levels of security when an endpoint is compromised.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sophos XG firewall is an excellent choice for a cost effective, feature packed, and security focused firewall. Their training is top notch, and easily accessible on demand. I have seen the Sophos XG firewall operating system and appliance features grow and mature over the years, and they are one of the best firewalls that I have had the pleasure of using.


    Information Technology and Services

Superior Firewall

  • March 03, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I'd have to say the comprehensive security features and Sophos Central.
What do you dislike?
No complaints at this time. Wish we chose Sophos earlier.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cybersecurity needs


    Retail

Good Firewall

  • February 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love that I can log in to sophos Central to manage and view status on all my firewalls at different sites. Easy to use, for the most part. I am a novice with firewall management, and was still able to figure things out.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that I don't have a better understanding of how effective my firewall rules are... It would be nice to see logs that were a bit more intuitive to help firewall managers that aren't experts in how firewalls and sophos are supposed to work.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have sites spread all over my state, and it is incredibly helpful to have the web interface where I can log into the firewall from anywhere, without relying on a local computer that I have to use remote software to log into. I also have peace of mind with the sophos advanced threat monitoring.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Solid unit, great performance and features, don't hesitate!


    Ty P.

The most versatile firewall i have ever worked with.

  • February 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The capabilities, along with being able to pair it with your Sophos end point.
What do you dislike?
The logs are somewhat difficult to navigate/understand.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
VPN connectivity is awesome, being able to monitor/lock down PCs via the firewall.


    Dan C.

Easy to use and understand, with the features you want and a minimal amount of clutter.

  • February 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The layout and description of items in the XG firewall interface make it easy to understand and navigate saving time and reducing the headache factor of trying to figure out how to get the system to do things. The time it takes to implement a new function, website, network, etc... is greatly reduced by the ease of operation and understanding of the system.
What do you dislike?
Major firmware changes have released some very big changes in the way the device operates. In one case going from one version to another completely broke some of the functionality we had implemented and took a lot of sorting out as the new firmware had auto populated many rules that didn't work. The patch notes said that the upgrade would take into account the current state and migrate it to the new method of operation which it clearly did not do properly.
The ssl vpn product could also be improved for usability in scenarios where multiple profiles are needed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The XG firewall easily allowed us to implement VLAN's in our environment. For smaller sites we have been able to improve reliability over VPN and with RED functionality. The SSL VPN allows us an easy on demand way to remote in to branch office and external networks. Reports and diagnostics available in the system help us keep track of any threats. All of the features have led to a general increase in our security posture.


    Brad H.

Best customer service

  • February 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We have been a Sophos user for over 8 years, any time that we have had any type of problem or concern they are there to help quickly and they know how to support their products without getting bounced from person to person.
anyone will sell you a product, Sophos really cares and supports there customers1 that's money in the bank
What do you dislike?
nothing at this time, why do i have to dislike something?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Safer more stable network, that says it all


    Juan C.

Easy to manage, beautiful interface and ready to use!

  • February 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how easy the interface is from start to finish. It has some really nice out of the box default deployment solutions that seem the fit most if not all SMB environments. I work at a place that doesn't have a fulltime network staff, security team, etc...and in my opinion this hardware along with its interface not only bring the tools you need for securing your network but also the ease to follow up and monitor there after...all without needing a dedicated resource. The default firewall policy and out of the box set up is plenty to get going, quite frankly when compared to the ProSafe firewall/router i was used to , getting this going to the same state was much faster. I'm a huge fan of SSL VPN and how unbelievably easy that was to deploy, it really took our network form that "home " feel to that "corporate" one. With ease, I'm able to quickly set up a disclaimer for anyone hopping onto my guest wifi, and I'm able to set up soo many rules and policies that are configurable down to the endpoint. While i could have done that with MAC rules on my Prosafe, i can do it much easier with my XG125W and i can get it down to the app level if i want. Our firewall was set up by a professional partner, and i would consider my self the "local admin". I know enough to get things going, i'm more the guy that IT professionals want on the other end of the phone as you can walk me through anything...i really like the "info" that SOPHOS makes available in certain fields that let you know what you are messing with. Above all that, another thing I'm impressed with is how much teaching and educating the Sophos team wants to do, since then i've had an opportunity to sit through 7 webinars, info is available on demand and the sophos community is very involved. So if you run into an issue, not due to the product but rather unfamiliarity with it, there is definitely a resource out there to help. One last thing, i also really like how easy it is to identify what AP my devices are connected to, this helped identify a deadspot that occurred as a result of someone causing it when dropping new taps. I just realized that i ranted quite a bit, to summarize...i like how clean easy to follow interface, the default policies and configurations you can use, the reports that are available, SSL VPN and how specific you can get with your firewall rules.
What do you dislike?
This is a tough question because we've only had the firewall for about 1.5 months, since then we upgraded from 18.4 firmware to 18.5 ...I'm told that i wasn't supposed to lose settings, and i lost some of my configuration when the system applied the new firmware (lost my guest wifi, and certain firewall rules). In Sophos, defense, I do not know if this is a result of me being unfamiliar with certain things and something i should have left to the Sophos Partner to handle. Another downside, is that if you want to do business with Sophos, it HAS to be handled through a partner. I recently discovered that i need sophos intercept x endpoint protection to leverage this wonderful "heartbeat" feature of the firewall. Reaching out to get a quote was hard, once i was able to connect with some they told me that i had to work with a partner. As you can imagine, this then lead me to the concern that i would be paying less or more with one partner vs the other. Last, is that i wish it was very very clear that if you want the "heart beat" feature, that it is a paid license feature. I understand why it is the way it is, it really should be a licensed product, but having a really really great feature with the firewall not available unless you buy another license is something i did not like personally. But that is just me personally, I'm the type of person that doesn't like dealing with subscriptions and just wants to pay upfront and be done ( i realize that is no longer the age we live in).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problems I'm solving: feeling like i have extra protection on my network i have a centralized solution where i can monitor my network and to an extent my endpoints, i can monitor my network (more below)

Benefits I'm realizing: I knew i could monitor my network but did not know to what extent and ease. I can now monitor how much staff and WHO is wasting time on websites that are not business appropriate. i can look at apps or endpoints that are bandwidth hogs and find out why without needing to deploy another network monitoring too.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend the firewall and the access points they sale. Especially if you are in the small to mid capacity, if you are a small business that wants a one time set up and want someone else to manage it, this does it for you, if you want to manage it, this does it for you, if you want a one time set up and just leave as is you can pretty much do that to (as long as someone is staying on top of any updates, this applies to any technology you own) then this does it for you. The biggest recommendation i can give, is make sure that you CHOSE a partner that you want to work with, and that will be there to support you if something comes up. Because THEY or a Sophos partner will be the ones that will actually dealing with support should an issue arise. I wish i would have better researched that in the beginning, but its not a deal breaker it just means that i would still have gotten this device but instead researched my area for support response times, etc. In short, i think you will be very happy with the product, the person that is going to make it or break it for you in my opinion, is who you decide to partner with.


    Construction

Steel door for your network

  • February 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The strong web protection and the easy-to-use interface without compromising security.
What do you dislike?
The NAT rule section. It was previously integrated within every firewall rule. Now it has its own section so it takes a bit longer to configure new firewall rules but I a, getting used to it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I don't feel the need for extra endpoints protection and that saves our medium size business a lot of time and money. The Sophos does really good work at protecting the network from attacks and viruses. It also blocks the users from installing any applications that are not white-listed by Sophos.