Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 8.1 Enterprise CHI/Linux - SL1

Siteage, LLC | CentOS Minimal Enterprise Linux

Linux/Unix, CentOS CentOS 8.1 Core - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

220 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Rahul G.

Excellent OS with security

  • November 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface and high level of security. Very easy to connect with server and work on server.
What do you dislike?
Lack of a lot of application. As windows has all kind of software to work with, sometimes CentOS lacks many software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As I am a developer, I have to work with different types of languages to form a software. So I have to work on servers and have to edit the file on servers so it's very easy to connect. My files are very safe and security is high class. And there is no vulnerability.


    Giuseppe D.

CentOS: The RHEL experience and quality for all

  • November 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a free and powerful Linux distribution from RedHat Enterprise. Is an ideal distribution for small and big company and personal servers. With CentOS is easy to create a new general purpose or specific server.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes don't have the latest package version but the quality and stability of package is excellent!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With CentOS i have created a LDAP and VPN server for my company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Install and use it


    Rohan V.

Centos review

  • November 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free, extremely easy to install. And probably the widest used Linux distribution used in organizations. I have only used the terminal version of it without a GUI.
What do you dislike?
No GUI for the version I used was available by default. It has very limited or no official support as it is free, most help has to be solved from forums
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Use it for all development uses in my organization because it is open source, which is one of the biggest benefits.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you’re looking for a open source option for setting up your vms this a great option for a Linux distribution.


    Raghav G.

Centos for enterprise

  • November 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. it is secure in compare to windows
2. It is easy to learn and understand
3. It is free to use
4. It has so many softwares
What do you dislike?
1. It does not provide UI like interface
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. To setup different applications as per reqirement and use of loadbalancer for availability

2. For R&D purpose
Recommendations to others considering the product:
1 use this variant of linux as it is more user friendly
2 it has more tools compatibility


    Research

Open source version of RHEL

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS provides most if not all the features in RHEL and the kernel, packages and libraries are the same.
CentOS also has the same life cycle as RHEL including bug fixes, patches and security fixes
What do you dislike?
CentOS doesn't have the same level of support as RHEL does and if you are a commercial operation you will probably require official support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS on the high performance computing systems and clusters for modelling & simulation and scientific research. It is a very stable and reliable OS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is the most widely used operating system in the high performance computing field


    Mahesh K.

Must try and best linux OS to use

  • November 11, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS commands are very user friendly and we can remember them easily. Its similar to RHEL and the commands are almost same. Beginners can start learning with centos and get an experience with command line. Since it is open source anyone can download and use it for free. The centos community is very much helpful and knowledgeable.
What do you dislike?
The image is not light weight due to so many tools and packages. The GUI part is not user friendly. Apart from these there are no major drawbacks of centos.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work regularly with centos, i used to face network issues and application related issues. sometimes we also solve issues related to storage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would strongly recommend to use centos as its similar to rhel and open source. You get all the features of rhel and the support you required from centos community.


    Tim B.

Free stable and configurable Linux operating system with paid support options available

  • November 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is Linux/Unix, so with regards to configuration, if you can imagine it and you are a creative and skilled administrator, you can probably make it happen. Plus it is rock solid stable -- you get pretty much the same software packages as Red Hat Enterprise Linux, just a little behind on the timeliness of releases.

I use it at home and at work. I use it at home because I have five kids who click on anything and everything on the internet, and there's just not as much malware out there to affect a Linux operating system. Plus, it's just not as bloated as Windows, so performance is more efficient with the limited computing resources on my home computers.

Although I wouldn't run my mission-critical applications on it (since it is free), I feel safe running it in an enterprise environment for solutions such as firewalls, DNS, application front-end, etc. And you can purchase third-party support for it. It also has a great community of support on the internet, and software repositories are updated frequently and are reliable.

Finally, it runs on x86, so it works great in a virtualized environment (VMWare in our case) and can easily be deployed from a golden image over and over.
What do you dislike?
Again, it is free and not "officially supported", so I wouldn't run my mission-critical databases and applications on it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS for enterprise-level needs, but not for mission-critical applications or databases (again, because it's not officially supported). We use it for firewalls, DNS, time servers, mail relays, reporting/monitoring, etc. Basically, things we need to be stable but not huge, dynamic workloads. Also, we have commercially-bought turnkey applications where the vendor requires and installs on CentOS.


    Computer Software

Completeness in use and speed

  • November 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Speed is a kind of major factor as well security.
What do you dislike?
Not many features as likely should be present as compared to time and users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly tk run saveral application for organization support.


    VIKAS S.

CentOS User Review

  • November 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is base image for servers. It is very fast to use compare to other OS, easy to find solution for the problems as it is open source. It is reliable and secure too . Top of that it is free as it is an open source.
What do you dislike?
Major drawback is its updates, you wont find the periodic system update for CentOS.As it is useful for server so in personal computer and desktop we may not get the support and even after installation we wont have proper software support if any one want to install on CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is open source OS, fast, secure. It is very useful if you want to use for docker or container environment.


    Dan O.

The Gold Standard in Red Hat compatible Linux distributions

  • October 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's basically Red Hat Enterprise Edition, but without the support contract or the big license fee.
What do you dislike?
The lack of official help desk support from Red Hat. But when it comes to CentOS troubleshooting, Google is your friend.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This product allows me to deploy a large number of Linux systems globally without incurring a huge license fees. Unlike some Linux distributions, CentOS has a long support lifecycle. If you need security patches or new functionality in the future, you'll be able to easily install them.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a look at the LTS versions of Ubuntu as well.