Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mattermost Team Edition on Ubuntu

Websoft9 | Mattermost5.28.0 - Ubuntu18.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

217 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Grigori T.

Good slack alternative! You will like it if you used slack.

  • November 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Interface and functionality very similar to slack. If you are similar to slack, it will be same from users. Also very good that mobile app is working same way. You can choose different coloring and different themes.
You have everything you need: channels, private rooms, channel muting, tagging, integrations with almost anything, presence indication, search and favorite files/messages tagging. You can install it on your own server.
Good slack alternative! You will like it if you used slack.
What do you dislike?
Mobile notifications are not containing message text preview. All that you see is that "This contact send you a message". In order to see message content you need to go into the app.
Another thing to mention, if connection is lost, you will more likely need to refresh the app (press F5 or CMD+R) or wait some time for it to reconnect.
Unfortunately there is no way to customize notification sound, so it will be system standard notification.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Team communication problem is solved with mattermost.
Benefit is much lower costs on the team.


    Computer Software

Serves its purpose

  • November 19, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that you can have multiple channels going at one time for different topics.
What do you dislike?
For some reason, I'm unable to get the email notifications to work for this product even though I have the settings set to send emails immediately. Unless I have it open on my desktop at all times, I will not get notified and therefore miss a lot of messages.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm speaking to my software development team through Mattermost so we have more of a groupchat feel. It's served it's purpose for that.


    Suresh M.

Good to have in house chat tool and it should improve the search option.

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
shot cuts and code block styles, tag ing and copying the chat as link
What do you dislike?
search is poor and requires more improvements.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
communication barrier between onsite and offshore


    Sunil b.

Most secured login process and wonderful chat service

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- First and foremost , setting up login process is the best one. I feel so secured , firstly we have to give our server URL , then comes the login credentials.
- We can use it as chat service , video calling (Big blue button)
- We have a option to create public and private channels and can send direct messages
What do you dislike?
- Video calling option (Big blue button). With not single click we can initiate call. We have three steps involved top start using calling service . Which I do not like. Most of the chat services are providing calling services in One go
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- _ Using mobile app , I am able to use it from anywhere possible, tunnels , stations or while in journey. There is always a comfort of using such services via mobile over laptops

- Video services is an added advantage
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- Most secured one and bit expensive
- supports other tool integrations


    Research

opensource chatting

  • October 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I get the full history of all chats, can control the message flow via own server, so full control.
What do you dislike?
Muting channels is counter intuitive, otherwise its hard to fault.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Monitoring systems via bots, the rest api is great. Keeping in touch with colleagues, assisting students.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its great product, if you are using slack, mattermost will be most familiar to you already and a nicer product. The ability to control your message flow and have your company info on site might seem pedantic and paranoid but it certainly lets one sleep better.


    Diwakar T.

Best Open Source Product for Communication

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Open Source
2. Easy User Interface
3. Availability of Common Plugins
What do you dislike?
1. Most of the Top Level Plugins are missing as in Slack.
2. Integrity with Jira like plugins have bugs
3. Access Permission Level Configuration in Community Edition are not Enough
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Communication and Collaboration between team, I've avoided paying a huge amount for other paid tools and it came out as cheap and useful tool.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Needs more plugins like Grafana, AWS, Mails related as available mailing plugins are not working properly.


    Computer Software

Needs better notification system

  • October 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
How it allows so many different kind of formatting. That really helps
What do you dislike?
It's slow notification system, most of the time you don't get instant notification for a message.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helps in keeping the communication organised.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just notification is delayed other things are great.


    Anton T.

Slack alternative for open source enthusiast

  • October 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open source, multi platform, easy to assign admins
What do you dislike?
Sometimes performance drops, usually on lower specs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Team communication


    Saurabh r.

Mattermost

  • October 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The user interface and the design of the application. And the ability to add multiple servers.
What do you dislike?
Not having an inbuilt call functionality.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The internal communication on team and company level.


    Thedlapu Jaya R.

Professionals Chat

  • October 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mattermost is most professional way for communication with in the Fire Wall. It is a open source platform and the language used to build is the goggle language where we find the utmost security. It has a Integration with Gitlab where it provides features based Interface to the Web developers with Centralized Integrated Platform. The platform was fully User Friendly and can be used on Cross platform operating systems .
What do you dislike?
Well I didn't have any that much dislike on Mattermost some of Minor issues like its starting Setup process will take a lot of time ,I didn't received the Confirmation mail from them very soon it had taken some time around 2-3 hours. There will be always a need of a person with well technical knowledge for self Hosting.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As the system was Fully Professional I can self Host the group . Mattermost also provides the facility to store the conversation for future usage. As a Embedded Engineer i need Contact my Clients from Different Places and also with my Colleagues for that the platform is provided with Multiple Project option and I can have ability to manage persons on different Projects that was the Amazing service i can make to use for work space getting easy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As Matter most can be used In Mobiles and Others Devices without Need to install Applications . It is particularly designed for Professional People .It will be More useful to persons in the Field of Freelancing to get communicate with Multiple companies.