Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Titan FTP Server - SFTP Edition

South River Technologies | 2019.3675

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base Windows Server 2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

24 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Financial Services

Multifaceted file exchange software

  • October 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most helpful feature for me is the pluggable user management system. This can be dynamically managed with our own software.
What do you dislike?
We are trying to migrate entirely to Linux, so the Windows only support is not favourable. Also, a headless management option would be nice without having to run software on a Windows client or open a port for it, e.g. web based.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Titan FTP allows us to securely received file transfers over SFTP and easily manage the users exchanging files. Being able to export/import the configuration between servers has made upgrading various Windows versions over the past decade a breeze.


    Financial Services

Great FTP server to meet regulatory compliance

  • October 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We like the detailed configurations options available when setting up an FTP server. We are able to meet various regulatory requirements with all of the options available.
What do you dislike?
I would prefer that the web gui was included with the base license and not sold as an add-on.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We need a secure FTP server to meet regulatory requirements. We were able to meet those requirements, and the configuration is easily portable between servers.


    Kem S.

Trust it to work

  • October 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Our client data is safe. It is PCI compliant,
What do you dislike?
The update process has to be done multiple times before it actually works
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have clients that have to send us billing data from their back end processing systems. Titan allows them to securely - programmatically send us billing information


    Shaun J.

Easy to configure SFTP and web based file sharing application.

  • October 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The web interface allows Titan FTP to be used by anyone with any need for complicated FTP applications.
What do you dislike?
We have had no issues with Titan FTP in the years we have been using it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Secure sharing of sensitive documents between companies without the need for additional training.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Feature rich, highly configurable, and just works!

  • May 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We've been using Titan FTP internally for a number of years at a charity that I work for. Initially, we used it only as an FTP server, but soon started making use of the SSH file transfer option (SFTP) and FTP with SSL (FTPS), depending on the ftp client, for increased security.

The software is highly configurable with user quotas, security options, and user access and policy groups. The admin interface is easy to navigate. So far, version upgrades have been relatively easy too.

We never have, not even once, seen the Windows service crash.

Many of the people submitting files use FileZilla either with SFTP or FTPS without any issue. At one point, we had basic non-encrypted FTP downloads on our website as well, but our management wisely decided to remove that in favor of a pure https solution for public facing downloads. TitanFTP worked well for all of this. SFTP with either implicit or explicit ports specificed works like a charm. FTPS of course requires either a certificate issued by a trusted authority or the acceptance of a self-signed or untrusted certificate by each client.

In summary: TitanFTP does exactly what it purports to do, and it does it well, quickly, and securely - all in an easy to use administrative gui without the headaches of text based configuration files.
What do you dislike?
Let me be clear here: G2 requires something for the "dislike" section, so I'm putting a wishlist. In reality, TitanFTP works wonderfully. There's not anything to truly dislike. South River seems to be continuing their development of Titan FTP, so hopefully, what I've written here will make it to the eyes and hands of the developers there.

Wish list for ftps certificates:
It would be nice if the FTPS certificate could be used without a private key password. It would also be great to see Let's Encrypt directly supported. Let's Encrypt works with FTPS too (why wouldn't it) but requires manual updating or some sort of scripting to renew, which can be a bit of a pain. Note that none of this is a deal breaker, FTPS works wonderfully, it just would be a plus if you didn't need to specify a key password.

Another minor issue: Once when doing a version update, it failed. Support was helpful and had us up and running in a matter of minutes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Titan FTP provides an avenue for our various logging platforms to easily and securely send files to a central repository. It also previously permitted staff to publish files for outside access (that has since been replaced by https via a content management system).

We have not used the http/web client interface for the product, but that seems like it could be useful in some cases where the end user will not or can not install / manage an FTP client. We're considering using this as a way to have outside users securely send files to our staff. That would be far more secure than emailed files.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Talk to their tech support first. You'll be impressed.


    Alberto T.

File transfer

  • May 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Live chat to solve problems at any time from my account, there is no loss of files and connection automatically resets
What do you dislike?
I only have a native version for Windows, GNU Linux is difficult to integrate with an emulator
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Direct connection to online server, cloud and transfer large files
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Connect server and send files to specific folder


    Oil & Energy

It is a good and very customizable application

  • May 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Many protocols supported
Especially we can backup Cisco ucm
What do you dislike?
We can not restrict connections with ip addresses for some protocols
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Cisco ucm backup
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a good product


    Consumer Goods

Solid product that offers SFTP option

  • May 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Supports SFTP protocol, offers a vast array of features that enterprise users expect.
What do you dislike?
The documentation on setting up virtual directories wasn't very clear.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The main objective was to get a product that runs on a Windows server and supports SFTP protocol.


    Warehousing

Titan FTP Review

  • May 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The GUIs are extremely user friendly. Setup only takes a few minutes. It's very fast, stable, and regularly maintenance patched.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the log viewer. I wish the application had some type of log parsing. It's a little annoying when you have a thousand connections a minute and need parse info from a specific connection that is being overlapped by other connections within the display. Hopefully it will get addressed soon.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was searching for a fast, stable, and intuitive piece of software. Titan easily has been running for 3 years without any hiccups from the software itself.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Simply the best FTP application!


    Oil & Energy

user friendly server for backing up CUCM and sharing files

  • May 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Titan is good for sharing files via HTTPS
What do you dislike?
There's nothing to dislike about Titan. It works as expected.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed to backup CUCM and share files with our clients via HTTPS
Recommendations to others considering the product:
this is an easy server to setup and maintain