Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Firebird SQL RDBMS on Windows Server 2016

Cloud Infrastructure Services | 0.0.1

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows Server 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

24 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Carelis C.

Database

  • May 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Database control in central operating system, open source for my needs to correct and adapt external applications
What do you dislike?
Adjust database in GNU Linux system and user control
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Manage database and server control within the system
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Install and control database


    Eddie Mar S.

Firebird Database is one of the many state of the art relational DB helping us Engrs. work better.

  • January 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a whole lot easier to SET-UP unlike any other relational DB out in the
What do you dislike?
For completely newbies. They may require some time to be familiar with the interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Common data redundancy and having a secure platform to safeguard our very own file server.


    Jaakko S.

Fast, compact and feature rich DB

  • January 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The database is a single file that is easy to handle
DB engine is compact and easy to install
SQL implementation is following SQL standard very well
Good support for Unicode
What do you dislike?
No GUI tool to view data. However there are few good 3rd party tools for that
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am storing translation memory into a Firebird DB. I need to use advanced SQL when finding data. Firebird lets me do that.


    Government Administration

Using Firebird with forestry related database

  • January 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It comes as a part of the software pack we are using.
Simple view, no unnecessary features, easy to use, diverse.
What do you dislike?
sometimes I can't import table from external source.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows me to alter a large database at once with simple queries. I can check the result right away.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

It was firebird embedded database i used for one project, with object oriented architecture.

  • January 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Embedded engine, mass data capacity per file
What do you dislike?
Obligation to code auto-increment as custom for PK ID field, different language in stead of sql
And the requirement to use a paid GUI as Maestro.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Embedded and compact file opportunity even with mass data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
use paid gui database management software like maestro


    Wojciech Z.

I hope I could help You :)

  • January 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity (Portability, Management) and Efficacy. I like also compliance of ASNI standards for SQL. It is easy to get a snapshot, just stop database engine, copy a file and start database service one again. Managment is as simple as it could be. There is one tool for user management, other one to backup and restore a database. It is very flexible, powerful database engine and it doesn't use much of system resources. I hope You take this into consideration.
What do you dislike?
Efficacy problem with large volume of data (above 3-4GB), poor recoverability after database corruption. I don't like the archives incompatibilities between 2.x and 3.x branches. I also dislike a lack of window function in 2.x version. I would be great if there is official database explorer like SSMS or SQL Developer. I also feel lack of server linking technology to connect multiple cross-platform database to firebird.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Firebird mainly as database behind selling and storage system for Pharmacies. The second possible database engine for this application is Oracle but I prefer using Firebird. I also write SQL statements for data extraction from OLTP Pharmacy's databases.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's great on premises database for all of propose if only You don't need to store more than a couple of GB per one datafile. I works with many RMBDSes but I belive that Firebird is unique and worth of using in every inch. I advise You to give a chance to Firebird becuase if You start use it, You would love it :)


    Retail

Great stable and free relational database

  • January 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is quite stable relational database with support of many features like stored procedures, transactions and triggers. Easy for administration and support. Big firebird’s community where you can get answers on lot of questions. It can be installed into the most of popular clouds.
What do you dislike?
It is hard to horizontally scale this database like almost all relational databases
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We successfully solved problem of storing clients information with fast, secure and simple all purposes relational database
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need free general relational database you definitely need to consider this database


    Raimundas P.

Great database engine for Delphi applications

  • January 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free database sufficient for large systems
What do you dislike?
Lack of connection plugins to access database from other programming languages i.e. PHP, slow via remote access
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All our business logic stored in database, this allows to apply hotfixes faster


    Emerson B.

Firebird good free database for small and medium business

  • January 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Multi-user database access, a lot of developer tools to help job, support to transactions, good security.
What do you dislike?
There's no embedded version for Android in the version I've worked.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Some my customers want to use a good database but don't want pay for this. So I've tested free options like MySQL, Postgre and Firebird and in the end Firebird fit best because is easy to managed and we can moved database file easier than Postgres for example. For my kind of customers is very useful this feature.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you looking a lightweight database but with complete tool I must recommend Firebird.


    Aviation & Aerospace

Reliable in the context of our ERP solution

  • December 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Reliability and availability of resources are the main points to recommend Firebird
What do you dislike?
Performance might be an issue (when set data is large), Time management is another issue I found difficult
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our ERP solution was based on Firebird RDBSM