Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu FIPS 18.04 - 20210726

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

935 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Balamurugan S.

Best in Class Operating System For Developers

  • July 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The bests are the Clutter - free UI, attractive icons with simplifed titles, open source and softwares, inbuilt unbuntu store and smooth experience. Above all, I love the installation process and time it takes to boot and start process. It's fast and best, and works much better in lower end computers and laptops.
What do you dislike?
I could not see any cons. At the same time, I have to say, Ubuntu is not for creative designers and professionals who work with graphic softwares. It lags while using the alterative desiging softwares and won't meet the needs of a creative graphic designer. But, Ubuntu is best for word processing, browsing, attenting online classes, exams via video conferencing tools and other professional works.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Ubuntu, I was able to make my lower end pc's work super fast alike the modern one. Also, with opensource tools, and easy installable OS, I am able to switch off the pc without any hassles. Since, I mostly work online with word processing tools, linux based office tools helps me a lot.


    Vijith P.

Best open source OS with support over multiple architechure

  • July 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
best and fast open-source OS based on UNIX. trusted and can be used for office purposes as well as personal use.
What do you dislike?
sometimes it gets laggy in low configured PC, it would be great if there is some graphic throttle option to run OS with fewer graphical options.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we can use this OS for free of cost and can be used on multiple devices without the need of a license fee or anything as such. we can highly configure the OS for the best use cases.


    Abhishek D.

Best Open Source Linux Distribution.

  • July 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. It is totally free, which means we do not need to buy a license to use it. We just need to download the Image from the Internet and install it on our PC.
2. It is easy to use and is very much compatible with Linux as well as Windows-based Apps. Apps made just for Windows machines can be run on Ubuntu using some third-party applications such as Wine, etc.
3. Security is never a problem in Ubuntu and users who aren't Tech-savvy need not worry much about being attacked as there are multiple Good and free antiviruses available that are mostly supported by Ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
1. The installation of Ubuntu is difficult and could be challenging when you are installing it for the first time.
2. Another thing is that there is no Drivers support and drivers need to be installed sometimes separately from the OS.
3. Need to be made more robust to updates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Installing, Managing, and updating Ubuntu Servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are thinking about an OS which is Lite and easy to use then just got for Ubuntu ;)


    Chris H.

Ubuntu - the Linux gold standard for desktops

  • July 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu will be very easy to learn for users coming from Windows. Also, since it's a Linux distro, the terminal is closeby to do whatever you need for software development.
What do you dislike?
Nothing, really. At times, package management can be interesting but that's common with any Linux flavor.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for a local development environment in a VM. It's so easy to download and get started. I use the headless server version to run any test automation platforms as well as CI/CD chains.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Really evaluate all Linux distros when looking at your own needs. Make sure it's got the most checkmarks in the "plus" column for your intended use case.


    Law Practice

Ubuntu can be setup like Windows and can be easy to use

  • July 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's free, easy to install. Ubuntu runs on older hardware, has a built-in office sweet and is less of a target for hackers.
I find the online community helpful and community support is free.
What do you dislike?
That it has not gotten easy enough for an average user still requires some know-how to get everything set up.
If Ubuntu is going to be mainstream, it needs to become easier for the average person to use. having to run Windows application tHrough WINE and be very difficult to set up and can be buggy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Faster, Safer, more powerful than WIndows. I am able to use older hardware and still have a fast functional system to manage my network.
I can run native Linux apps that better suit my network management needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have some computer know-how and can install Windows, you should be able to install Ubuntu. If you're look for an OS that will install and run well on older hardware, then Ubuntu is for you. If you're looking to set up an older desktop or laptop for email and internet use the Ubuntu is a good choice.


    Education Management

Great OS for beginning linux

  • July 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fist Linux OS we were taught, easy to use and easy to learn
What do you dislike?
It did occasionally crash with simple commands but would handle large commands or pulls well
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We’re using it to educate others on Linux before letting them access other systems and it’s been a great learning tool


    Shannon H.

A review of Ubuntu as used for the Oracle VM VirtualBox

  • July 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu provides a simple linux platform, that is easily setup (compared to other linux platforms) and accessed from a non linux computer. I am a new linux user, and found this program to be far superior to the few other linux platforms that I tried to work with.
What do you dislike?
I often have errors when starting my virtual machine from Ubuntu. These errors are typically resolved by accepting the error message and just re-pressing the start button multiple times in the VirtualBox environment.
The initial setup was difficult inside the VirtualBox environment, however, there were many resources available to help me setup up Ubuntu. Once I found the proper online manual, it was much easier.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There is no linux functionality built in to my Windows computer, so I am using Ubuntu hosted by Oracle VirtualBox. It is much easier than downloading a virtual linux platform without using Ubuntu - this created a lot of complications on my end and had very little functionality for a brand new linux user. Ubuntu allows me to drag and drop files between my vritual machine and host, copy and paste files, and easily allow programs to run in the virtual environment while working from the host. There are lots of solutions available online for setup and promlem solving with Ubuntu.


    Semiconductors

A simple yet versatile system

  • July 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to use and can be used for coding and programming
What do you dislike?
For a beginner it may be difficult to get used to. It could be made compatible with other products.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I do all my work on Ubuntu. This has made it easier for me to program on.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please go through tons of videos on Ubuntu before transitioning to it


    Computer & Network Security

Owesome.

  • July 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast speed.
Easy to operate.
Heavy documentation
What do you dislike?
UI is not graphic and require knowledge to operate
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Navigate to folders easily
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its good


    Naveed A.

Awesome OS

  • July 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free availability and ease of use. Ubuntu brings linux OS really close to an end user in a supportive way.
User can try all the amazing for free and as a VM on host machine. We can download all the required softwares ,applications and we can use it run different scripts before deploying them in production environment.
Main thing is it brings simple user really close to Linux in an efficient way.
What do you dislike?
With latest updates, it requires lot off memory and disk space. So in order to run it efficiently as a VM , you need a good host with good processing power.
There should be more softwares already installed in Ubuntu rather then downloading them afterwards.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am doing labs with ubuntu for practice. Ran lot off Bash scripts.
Did networking labs on this OS. Ran IPS and IDS on ubuntu. Configured a program for an assignment. Configured Snort on ubuntu.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use Ubuntu for educational purposes. Everyone is slowly transitioning towards linux. Learning it will give you upper edge in interviews and job search.
Learn BASH on ubuntu. Run different different scripts, create different interseting lab envirnments.