Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu FIPS 18.04 - 20210726

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,180 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Akanksha A.

Ubuntu - An awesome OS for beginner Linux Users to learn

  • January 15, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
User Experience of Ubuntu is the best among all the Linus distros I have tried out. It is very useful for a beginner who has just started with Linux.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu Software Center should be updated with new software versions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
From business perspective, most important advantage is that it is free and open source.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider Ubuntu if you are a startup who won't like to invest in OS and still would like to have a well supported OS with all the features for rapid development.


    Financial Services

Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

  • January 14, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the hardware support introduced in version 16.04, other than that the operating system has the same great capabilities as 14.04.
What do you dislike?
Not that it is a big deal to switch the desktop environment but I would have liked to have seen something other than Unity as the default windowing environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Ubuntu primarily for data science work, it is nearly impossible to run many of the applications and packages out there on Windows.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is a great operating system as it is simple to use, easy to install software and it is compatible with nearly everything.


    Computer Software

i am using Ubuntu since 8 years

  • January 13, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like about about ubuntu is
- Free to use
- Its an open source
- Its secure
- Its fast compare to window because it doesn't require antivirus which consume RAM.
- There are lot of content/community on web which provide solution

What do you dislike?
- Sometime it doesn't support any specific hardware. Once I was using lenova laptop. Its wifi was not supporting but with the help of ubuntu community I overcome from the problems.

- Adobe photoshop's linux version not available, Web designer need to use either gimp or can switch to window.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In office I used ubuntu as operating system. Its reduce cost of infrastructure. I worked on LAMP(Linux, Apache, MySQL & PHP). I found ubuntu very suitable for this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is open-source, so you can access and personalize its source code. That's why most programmers (unless they code in .NET or other Windows proprietary languages) prefer Ubuntu. They're more free to customize their code.


    Higher Education

Ubuntu Experience for a Researcher

  • January 13, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a good platform for my research needs as
- it supports a good number of 3rd party packages
- very stable and customization friendly
- ease of use in terms of its GUI capabilities
- a lot of references are available in case I need help
- open source
What do you dislike?
- No support of MS Office (the only reason I need windows)
- I found it to be not very efficient in terms of notebook battery life management
- complication recovery mechanism for broken package recovery.
- less user friendly recovery and backup mechanisms compared to Windows
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Autonomous vehicle control
- Computer Vision processing

Ubuntu can provide a a reliable real-time kernel support via RTAI or Xenomai
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- Use Ubuntu as a prototyping platform
- Ubuntu support and help is sparsely available so familiarization is necessary before using it as a primary system.


    Amol B.

Ubuntu: Making Linux obtainable to the masses!

  • January 12, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is a super easy Linux based OS to use. With minutes, a normal user is able to setup a stand alone desktop configuration. From a server point of view, setting up and configuring Tomcat, Postgre or anything else you need for development is pretty much a breeze. I highly suggest it for anybody who wants to learn more about Linux or even a Linux veteran. Give it a shot, heck, you can even run it off a USB stick.
What do you dislike?
Nothing at this moment in time, I have been using Ubuntu for a decade now and still recommend it to friends.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My work involves the Healthcare IT domain, so anything from database design to full blown EHR implementations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The Ubuntu Forums are amazing for users who are learning or trying to configure the product. If it is not there, they are plenty of bloggers who utilize the OS.


    Renato O.

Ubuntu server is great

  • January 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Speed, long term support, online guides from other users showing how to do some stuff.

Overall stability
What do you dislike?
It doesn't auto cleans the installed kernels, so you may end with no disk space just to discover 10 kernel images filling all the disk
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
General Linux Servers used in virtualized environments (both Xen and VMWare)


    Rubén S.

Personal and professional use

  • January 10, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I've been using Ubuntu since the first versions and it has become a stable and easy to use Linux distribution. The applications can be easily installed via repositories and you don't have to deal compiling you own applications (but you can do it if you want).
What do you dislike?
This operative system has become more stable with every version, but there has been always problems updating from a version to another. This problems don't happen as much as in earlier versions but even with that, for professional use it is very recommended to use the LTS versions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
You have a free operative system, very use to install and use and compatible with a big amount of software.


    Chris S.

Ubuntu Rocks

  • January 10, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
East of installation and of course the fast response and boot up time. With a few more applications for business tasks, may end up replacing our W10 machines in the future.
Also really like that the resources needed to run this system is very low and you do not need a high powered machine to fully use the operating system.
What do you dislike?
Really have not found anything that I dislike outside of needs for more business applications to help run our business, but as it stands it is put together well and strong competitor as a third option.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Just reviewing at the moment, will be using it for development work in the future for software products.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep spreading the word on its ease of use and cost savings as an option for Windows users.


    David W.

Friendly Linux for everyone and any PC

  • January 03, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is super easy to install. It works well, and on most any hardware. I haven't had a problem installing Ubuntu anywhere.

Get a Live CD (or USB stick) and boot, and check it works on your machine before even having to commit to installing.

Heck, I've even used Ubuntu Live CDs to fix corrupt Windows installations.

It is also well-supported with regular six-monthly releases, and an avid community behind it.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu hides some things from power users. You can get them, of course, if you know what you're doing but the default environment doesn't have a terminal pinned to the tray but yet has Amazon there.

Also, it wants to be rebooted routinely. This is in contrast to much of the UNIX legacy of being able to run for years and years, unlike Windows' weekly / monthly reboot requirement.

Also, there is some quality control issues. I find that things break when doing nothing more than a usual apt-get upgrade without any advanced or unusual tweaking. For instance, syslog fills up with problems when Python is upgraded and other apps - that were installed by Ubuntu - can't find Python anymore, because the Python upgrade didn't preserve a symlink.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu is always a good choice for a server where you don't want/need Windows-specific software (e.g. Exchange) and don't want the overhead of Windows, and importantly, where you just want to be able to ssh into the box without having to deal with the overhead of a GUI.

Ubuntu provides a very low-cost / low-spec server for a very versatile range of things.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep in mind Ubuntu Linux - and other Linux distributions - are at no cost, but you will want to pay for support if you are using it in an enterprise setting. You can't forget that.


    Veronica A.

Not what i think it was going to be

  • December 31, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its a free, light operation system. Easy of installing and running.
The interface was very nice and friendly.
What do you dislike?
If you want to download any program, you have to know how to use the terminal, you need programming knowledge.
I couldnt use Netflix! For using popular software like the desktop version of spotify, you have to do a tutorial.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Security networks testing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You will need a lot of time to adapt yourself to this kind of software. Take your time, and please do not erase your windows partition. You can keep your windows and still use Ubuntu in another "place".