Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Desktop 20.10 - GUI Gnome with VNC and RDP

Arara Solutions | v1021

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

67 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    KOB

A Little Slow but it Works

  • August 19, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

A little slow performance-wise and you will DEFINITELY need to add more storage space as it only comes with 8GB. Other than that it works with the GUI out of the box like they said it would. I used RDP with no real issues. But there was an annoying UBUNTU "color manager" popup that triggers when the session auto locks. It asks for a password but when you supply it, it won't go away. It just stays there taking up real estate on the screen.


    Ghazni A.

Good for technical and development

  • August 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has builtin plug and play features for LAMP developers
What do you dislike?
Normal person cannot use it because its more of a technical thing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Do need to install extra things while I am working on my projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would like to advise if you are working on PHP or server-side scripting languages then it's best for you but if it is for common use then maybe go with windows or mac.


    Jacob A.

One of the best free software tools

  • August 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Safety and its integration with SDK Software
What do you dislike?
It is not compatible with some of the most common office programs such as Microsoft
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It has solved the compatibility problems with the Nodejs packets. This allowed us to streamline the development process of Microservices.


    Media Production

Easy to install but still not a Windows replacement

  • August 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is free. And it is very easy to install
What do you dislike?
Still a learning curve for a Windows user
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Trying to use this to replace Windows desktop to do normal work. This is free and the softwares are open source mostly, so free as well


    Clarissa N.

Ubuntu is the Best

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You have the freedom to create something you want. With Windows or Mac OS, you can't customize the operating system to how you want it to be. Ubuntu is great because it lets you customize to what you want for your computer.
What do you dislike?
Nothing, so far. It might be a little getting used to for a new user, but after they learn, they will pick it up fast.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Making virtual machines and just learning how to delve more into Linux—learning the basics right now. There is so much that you can use Ubuntu for I even use the server to do some more testing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you can spin up a virtual machine to practice with Ubuntu desktop, I highly recommend it. If you are learning Linux right now, this is a great place to start. Explore and customize to your heart's content.


    Rifad R.

A full fledged operating system that is free forever!

  • August 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
User Interface, experience, easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Limited support to some main application
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was using Windows before. The main problem I was facing with Windows was with the RAM utilization. My 8GB RAM was quickly getting filled with a couple of applications open. With Ubuntu and its lightweights, I overcame and was able to do my work without any hiccups. I have a device that is more than 10 years old and able to install and run Ubuntu latest version without any issues at all. Also, as it is free, I don't need to worry about making payments for the software. I should appreciate the large community that are supporting Ubuntu to make all these free. Also, as I am an advanced user, I was able to learn more from the Ubuntu regarding the Linux operating system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The main benefit of the Ubuntu is that the OS is lightweight and free. We all knows that all other counterpart or the competitors for Ubuntu is now either paid or strictly available only for their own devices. So I recommend others to make an operating systems that are able to install even on a 10 year old system. Means that can be installed on a system that are having less resources. We know that we have used the Windows 7 for a long time without any worries of lags. Even a 2 GB RAM system can handle applications like Photoshop and Office very easily.


    Shivam S.

Very User friendly and easy to use

  • August 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu desktop is way better than the Ubuntu server as it is user friendly we can directly work with drag and drop feature in order to work on it.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it's functionality got stuck on the same place in order to setup the tools and environment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
By default OS we are using which is Ubuntu and best part is that it is an open source so it is very convenient in order to setup the things which required for the material and create the document for the same.


    Computer Software

Ubuntu Desktop

  • August 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu Desktop is secure and has an in-built firewall which makes it different from other desktop. It is built on the foundation of Debian's architecture and infrastructure
What do you dislike?
Nothing as such is there to disklike in Ubuntu Desktop
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security and devs who are not good with Linux cli can quickly learn and grow their skills using Ubuntu Desktop.


    Mohit B.

Entry Level OS with GUI Interface

  • August 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
First thing is, it's opensource free OS which easily work on basic system configuration without hanging or consuming the system resources. Due to command based system Linux was not so popular in end users but this is good option with very less commands and user interface is also very simple. Some of the applications are already preinstalled in this system which fulfillls the basic needs like browsing.This option is very economical option in the operating systems.Security is better as regular updates are there to upgrade the system ans security.
What do you dislike?
Difficult to adapt for existing user of Windows as the commands are completely changed and after replacing with this OS user may getting irretated due to flexibility. This is the best options for developers but not for the general users thoug multiple general usage applications are preinstalled in it but mostly persons are habitual to MS Windows OS. The major challenge to adapt this OS is "People are already adicted to Wondows OS and they dont want to adapt new system".The another reason for this is the flexibility as its very less flexible than windows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security is fas better in this as compare to windows and so issue in terms of support. As it's free to use so no impact on the budget and with regular updates, new application will work properly like after closing support of WindowsXP the browsers are not working and people are facing lots of issues even in internet surfing, such issues are not there with this operating system. open office is easily available to replace office as all basic functionalities are already there.


    Mohit A.

Best linux based OS ever!

  • August 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
UI is very simple , fast and responsive . It is open source , stable and virus free OS. It offers long term support . Connectivity is very good. Also we can run windows apps on Ubuntu using wine . It has own App Store . And maximum application runs on Ubuntu very easily.
What do you dislike?
It is not good for gaming purpose except this really best OS for developers and ethical hackers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using this OS for coding purpose and also runs perfect on old specification hardware very smoothly. It is very secure and fast OS.