Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Canvas LMS on Ubuntu

Websoft9 | Canvas 2021-05-26.23 - Ubuntu 20.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,161 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Nicolas H.

Canvas Great Learning Experience

  • July 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Canvas is a very reliable learning management system (LMS); compared to other learning management systems, it is more cost-effective. My Employer switched to Canvas just when the Pandemic started, and the switch was smooth with no significant technical difficulties. I like that Canvas has a Commons area where instructors can share their content with others in their institution or public. I also like the ability to create videos from within the system. Sharing videos in Canvas works flawlessly and encourages collaborative sharing with students. The inline assignment grading is much better than other LMS. Instructors can add voice comments to students' submissions. I think that this kind of LMS helps students and instructors have a great learning experience.
What do you dislike?
Like any other technology, some technical difficulties may arise, and institutions may need to have a staff ready to solve these problems. Also, note that Canvas institutions may need to install third-party tools to enable some features such as gamification.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Canvas is a good solution for online learning engaging large number of students.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend that institutions do a comparison between several systems in order to choose the right product. For education the process may include a trail setup and then surveying students and faculty for their likes and dislikes.


    Education Management

Feature-Heavy Education LMS

  • July 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a user, Canvas seems to be fairly customizable and is really helpful for organizing large amounts of related/layered information. Based on the way my institution has it set up, it allows for all components of a course (e.g. syllabus, grades, Zoom information, etc.) to live separately but neatly in a menu for quick access to each page/resource. I have not necessarily seen a course component (or course builder) of it being used, so I can't speak to that or if it's available, but it has been really helpful as a sort of "basecamp" for accompanying live courses.
What do you dislike?
Personally, there was a bit of a learning curve, and it may have to do with the UX/UI - after getting used to the platform it has been very easy to use, but I don't find the organization and placement of items/links/menus to be super intutitive. I also feel like the course page is so open-ended (and a fairly basic blog-or word-like page) that a weekly course map for a quarter can be a bit daunting to sift through, even with ctrl + f. Perhaps some dynamic elements here would be helpful to keep from information overload.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Canvas has been really helpful for organizing all aspects of a course through giving access at all times to things like grades, assignment details/deadlines, and course materials.


    Bob B.

Canvas Review 7-2021

  • July 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Interface built-in media applications and reporting
What do you dislike?
Students can not easily text/meet with other students.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A learning/teaching platform that is reliable and cost effective


    Amber K.

A user perspective

  • July 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The navigation bar and how there were so many useful apps/widgets
What do you dislike?
As a user, I really have no complaints. I liked the visual organization
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It provides an organized yet easy-to-use environment for elearners


    Computer Software

Great program for school

  • July 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I am able to access all of my courses and school information on one program.
What do you dislike?
I don't like that I am required to change my password every few months. Although I appreciate it is a security measure, it is hard to remember after changing multiple times.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps me stay in touch with other students and the professor.


    Education Management

Easy to use learning management system

  • July 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I can choose my favorite classes and hide the courses from previous semesters so that the dashboard looks clean and tidy. We can upload our Homeworks and any other assignments and track the progress of the semester. Tutors can share all the required materials over the canvas, so all we need would be in the same place.
What do you dislike?
In the grades section, it is not transparent that how the final grade is being calculated. It is up to the teacher to configure the calculation parameters and write them on the syllabus, but that would be great if the grading scheme were visible on the grades page.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it to track our progress during the semester, access the materials, take quizzes and upload assignments.


    Education Management

Excellent tool for learning.

  • July 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like integrating all the modules we study, including the study material uploaded by professors; basically, I like the organization of study material.
What do you dislike?
I can see the difference in the calendar for my desktop and mobile view, which is some time frustrating
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am having organized digital study material, a great platform to communicate with professors when in doubt.


    Higher Education

Easy to use for students, less easy for teachers/professors

  • June 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Canvas does a great job of organizing my course material and making it accessible to me.
What do you dislike?
My professors really struggle to use it and on one hand I think it's because many of them are not used to this type of technology and on the other, perhaps Canvas needs to figure out how to make it easier to publish material and have better tutorial tools in place.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It just makes it a lot easier to be a student. Having my academic material digitized is really helpful. I appreciate the simple and real-time regular access to my course grades.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Teach your faculty and staff how to use it and push them to use it as much as possible. Once they know how, it's really such a helpful resource to students


    Higher Education

Intuitive platform, customizability

  • June 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Canvas allows users to organize materials, upload documents, create internal quizzes/tests, automatically integrate grades internally and externally, and send and receive messages from users.
What do you dislike?
The platform doesn't offer much customizing in terms of look. It uses a standard template. However, this does promote a user-friendly platform in terms of navigation, since every Canvas site will be consistent.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This has been great for multiuser communication, self-paced work, and administering exams remotely.


    Higher Education

Not bad but not the most easily navigated learning management system

  • June 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Canvas has most or all of the functionality one would expect from a learning management system; instructors can post announcements and resources for students, students can submit assignments.
What do you dislike?
The app is not the most easy to navigate; as a student, since there are so many links, menus, categories, and buttons, it is not always straightforward to find the resources that an instructor has posted - such as whether to look in Files or Assignments or Announcements.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Canvas is a useful tool for instructors to communicate and share resources with students and for students to access things such as the syllabus, calendar, and assignments.