Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Learning Management System

Websoft9 | Canvas 2021-05-26.23 - Ubuntu 20.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,237 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Meryl D.

A learning management system made for students and teachers

  • January 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
An easy-to-use platform that made creating and sharing files, assignments, and projects a piece of cake.
What do you dislike?
Students needed some training to understand how to best use the platform, but it didn't take long to bring them on board.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To communicate, share, and track student assignments and projetcs.


    Chad W.

Very Useful when used right

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to use when set up correctly on the back end. Clean look. Easy to navigate. Stable.
What do you dislike?
Mobile app needs some work to be as stable as web based login. Can be messy if not set up on the back end well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The seminary that I just graduated from uses canvas for all online classes and it's extremely effective for remote coursework.


    Education Management

Canvas Review

  • January 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy the transparency of the platform. The ability to host multiple different sections on one platform is very convenient.
What do you dislike?
I do not like the disjoint between the canvas page and the created groups associated with the class.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am able to create and edit the pages prior to publishing the courses. The ability to edit the courses at a later date is a huge benefit.


    Higher Education

Great Place to Organize Content

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The modules in Canvas allow me to organize the course content more sensibly and include videos about each chapter within the same modules. It enables Zoom to be embedded within Canvas, making it easier for students to access links to Zoom meetings efficiently.
What do you dislike?
Automatic posting of Zoom recording on Canvas is not supported by the one I am using. I have to create a page manually and include links for each recording.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Facilitating classes, grading, communicating with students.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Maximize the capability of the platform to facilitate online learning by attending training on how to use the platform.


    KATHRYN P.

Canvas is essential in today's classroom!

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best about Canvas is how easy it is to use. I can quickly upload and assignment or link to my students, and they can open it up and complete it easily. I love how I can set up an interesting BItmoji homepage with lots of helpful links and tools.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I dislike about Canvas. It is very user-friendly. I used the self-paced learning module to teach myself how to use Canvas in one day! I have been using it since last school year, and it is truly unique.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I solved the problem of reaching both my in-person and virtual students simultaneously. I did not want to do double the work, and Canvas made it incredibly easy to deliver instruction in person and virtually. My students love using the Kami feature to complete assignments.


    Education Management

Canvas for the Classroom

  • January 10, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have enjoyed Canvas for my students while being distance learning. Canvas is an online platform that my students are using to complete daily assignments, quizzes and test. Canvas is a very complex online platform and our district uses it for all forms of communication and learning. In my Canvas account, I am able to make pages and modules and it allows student to have one place for all lessons and materials. All pages and modules are customized by the teacher and can also use HTML code reader to integrate videos, interactive lessons and assingments. I am able to add in Google slides and other websites that allow me to embed html codes. My students use a welcome page when they enter Canvas. This page then allows them to be linked to different pages and modules. The modules are assigned work and activities for students to complete. I like that each page can be linked or hyperlinked to different pages or websites. I have also enjoyed being able to assign multiple assignments and keep them organized in a module. And all these assignments are created in Canvas. Canvas has the option to make quizzes or an assignment to complete. There are multiple options when deciding the type of work or how you want to receive the work back. You can ask for a student to record a video or upload a photo and send it back to the teacher. Students can also type in a fill in the blank or essay option answer. There is a great variety and multimedia option to receive work back from students. I have enjoyed being able to send assignments using on the platform and not having to link between different sites or areas for work to be completed.
What do you dislike?
There are issues with the students being able to access the work easily unless they understand to use certain tabs. The program is very overwhelming at first when being used and set up. The teacher or the school is creating everything from blank pages or modules and those two main ideas are very confusing until you are able to use them and decide which would be best to use in your classroom. There is a difficulty with copying and pasting items or images in the pages. There is not an undo button so you need to be careful when working and designing pages that you don't delete something by accident. There isn't a lot of options for fonts when creating text. When students are completing quizzes and assignments, I do not like that there isn't a way to print the quiz or the assignment. For my students in class, I would like to print a copy of the work and that doesn't seem to be an option. I also have a struggle with getting data back on those quizzes and assignments. I want to be able to print all student grades and this cant be found in the program.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using Canvas has allowed our district to teach hybrid. Canvas is being used by our students at home and in class and has been a tool we are able to use and maintain during the entire school year. We are able to have all students sign onto one place to find their work and to complete lessons as well as seeing how long a student took to complete a task and send feedback to the student. I have enjoyed the organization part of Canvas where all students to come in and work. I am also using Canvas to help get fed back and data from students. I can view an assignment that was created for the class and check on the student's progress and score while they are working. I can then check in with the student and reassign the work if needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would say Canvas is a great program for schools to use. There is a lot the program allows teachers, students and administration to use in order to teach and facilitate effectively.


    Steve C.

Canvas LMS - great for remote learning!

  • January 06, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Canvas was a great tool to help us cleanly and effectively transmit online learning to graduate students. Probably the thing that sticks out most was the aesthetically-pleasing layout of Canvas... each online course was presented in a clear and effective way, which I believe helped maximize the learning experience.
What do you dislike?
Honestly, for what we needed at the time, Canvas met our needs! I cannot think of anything that I particularly disliked... the layout was aesthetically pleasing, the videos were easy to access, and the resources (like PDFs and other course documents) were also readily accessible for each online class.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Canvas allowed us to offer effective remote learning opportunities to individuals all around the country. This tool allowed the educational institution where I worked to do what we had not really been able to do before - to take our educational resources to those who could not physically attend our campus in person.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Canvas was a great resource when we were first really stepping up our game in terms of online learning! You should definitely check it out!


    Higher Education

Well organized and clear program for educational purposes.

  • December 28, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Canvas has a lot of the things I look for in a program to organize courses all in one place. I especially like the customizability of the dashboard and the ability to connect to other programs like Google drive to submit work. In addition, grading student work is easy with Canvas due to all files being collected in one place. Canvas also has the option to calculate student grades and insert/ change scores to view final grade possiblilties, which is a great feature.
What do you dislike?
The Canvas inbox is slightly unclear and usually will not get rid of message notifications even if they have already been read, which is occasionally frustrating. In addition, it isn't easy to submit multiple files from Google drive in combination with files coming from your computer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Canvas is extremely helpful for organizing courses, and the ability to customize things like the layout, profile, and notifications is beneficial. It also allows for easy grading of student work since all files are in one place.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to upload both a file from a Google drive and a file from your computer, it is best to download the document from your Google drive as a pdf to your computer and then submit both as files from your computer. Otherwise, Canvas has difficulties submitting both.


    Neal C.

Takes some getting used to

  • December 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Modules! I appreciate how easy it is to organize (and re-organize!) my content and lessons within the modules. This makes it easy to make adjustments, and adjustments and flexibility are immensely valuable this year!
What do you dislike?
I wish we could mark attendance using Canvas. And post grades. Since that is not an option, our system has to use a different software specifically for that, and the interface between the two is terrible.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using it to put assignments out to students. The SpeedGrader is a wonderful time-saver, making it possible for me to be much more productive! I appreciate how quick and easy it is to give feedback to students within that system.


    Higher Education

One of the best educational learning management system

  • December 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is simple to use and supports extensive third-party integrations. The courses are organized in the dashboard using cards.
What do you dislike?
It is complicated for the average user. Lack of support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is an efficient educational learning management system that facilitates the way to communicate with students, especially in the covid-13 pandemic situation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Canvas is a good educational learning management system to consider as it has a modern interface and supports several 3rd party apps.