Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Web Server for openSUSE Linux Leap 15.2

Kurian | Apache 2.4.43

Linux/Unix, SUSE 15 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

114 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Apache server is an excellent, flexible web server

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the fact that there is an awful lot of reference material out there for apache, and that I can find example configuration snippets for basically anything that I need to do with it.
What do you dislike?
I used to run a lot of Apache 2.0 & 2.2 servers back when that was current, and with Apache 2.4, there are a handful of things that are critical, but which are configured inversely from the way 2.2 was. For example, the default directory permissions are exactly opposite what they were and with 2.4, the command syntax for configuring access is exactly opposite what it was. If you migrate from 2.2 configs, it doesn't "just do the right thing", it requires manually changing things to get the desired results. I would have given this a 10 instead of a 9 had the developers of 2.4 made it compatible with 2.2 configs, and still had the server do the right thing. I also don't like the fact that it requires a fair amount of cpu & memory to run properly. I build embedded systems as well sometimes, and many of those have cpu speed & memory constraints that make apache impractical for it. I use other web server software such as uhttpd as the server there.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Apache is a generic webserver, so it can live where ever you want to have a web application. I use it for hosting my customers in a cloud server, and I configure each customer within it to have separate name-based virtual hosts, as well as SSL configs for each based on IP address. A strong competitor to apache server is nginx, however I have not been convinced yet that nginx is worth converting over to. Most of my work with apache is setting it up for hosting multiple customers websites on a single cloud server, however I have also used it in building higher-end embedded systems, meaning that these systems had the required horsepower necessary to run apache. Apache is a bit of a hog, so it's not completely useful for embedded systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are setting up a public-facing webserver, apache is how I do it. nginx may be ok, I just haven't gone down that path far enough to evaluate it thoroughly. If you are building an embedded system, skip apache, use uhttpd instead.


    Faisal I.

Best legacy web server to host your applications

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked its easy configuration and easy to host and manage your web application such as php , laravel etc. Really powerful to handle traffic it supports modules so you can use them according to your requirements.
What do you dislike?
Found nothing till yet for which I can say disliked in it everything is working fine for me. I never had any issue with this working smoothly and easy configurations, so no problems till yet for which i can say that i disliked this thing in apache.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was assigned with a task to host and configure Laravel web application for which i found apache server to host and configured it and in no time our web application was live for production also configured apache for heavy traffic to mitigate down time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best to use easy to configure


    Hospital & Health Care

Web Server (Apache)

  • October 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy configuration file management.
Easy to setup redirection rule.
What do you dislike?
URI(path) management is a bit tricky. One need to go with proper documentation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating host and adding html files.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It supports both IP based and Host based configuration.
You can use rules creation and 301 redirection.. directly from apache.


    Retail

Apache open Source for Small Business

  • October 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's relatively easy to set up and administer even for a non sysadmin developer like me. Low cost as well
What do you dislike?
Lack of support if I run into a problem. But I can usually figure it out by searching forums so it's more a minor inconvenience.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Providing low cost ecommerce hosting to small businesses. I can quickly and cheaply implement a web server for even mom and pop businesses.


    Sibongakonke N.

A fully featured open source web server

  • October 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Server is a compact server for Linux-based systems. The server is efficient and fast, the server allows you to host multiple websites on a single machine, and you can secure the websites through SSL with minimal configuration
What do you dislike?
for additional functionality, a lot of configuration is needed, and it is easy to get lost if you lack experience in server management
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hosting multiple websites on a single Ubuntu server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's free to use and easy to install, the Apache Server has a large community of users that support each other


    Paul J.

Apache as a timesaver

  • March 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Apache used to be the defacto webserver and it still a good choice when you are supporting existing Apache based configurations. Migrating a webserver with 200+ sites to another webserver is a major amount of work.

Especially lots of PHP based solutions rely on .htaccess ; rewriting those can be a pain.
Just keep on rocking with Apache.
What do you dislike?
The configuration syntax is a bit 90's compared to the more modern servers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Have been running PHP code with mod_php for years
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If it fits the use-case its fine...


    Juan R.

Web server on private and shared server

  • January 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the stable and secure, all the necessary options to control a web page, permissions, php, java and much more.
Access control to main system folders.
What do you dislike?
I don't like how complex Apache Server can be, it has many options without detailed documentation on the Internet.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I do tests on my server before uploading to my shared cloud on the Internet, tests with php code, direct reading of special open source APIs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use to test your server and create special applications.
mount your web page with Apache Server.


    Yonatan H.

Private web server

  • January 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Compatible with Windows and Linux, I use both operating systems on my PC. Linux installation is direct from online repositories always available, no need to download extra for installation.
Secure folders within the Apache installation with exclusive modification permission.
What do you dislike?
Finding errors during a server crash is difficult, it requires automatic restart of all activated services.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have control of my web page, reading PHP, Java and other resources of my personal applications on my PC and private hosting.
I test all applications with Apache Server before installing to my shared server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Installing Apache Server is simple, requires quick steps, test your website and third-party applications.


    Preeti N.

Apache Server is the best

  • November 06, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easily available, Free of Cost, It is very easy to set up, support the most OS, and user friendly
What do you dislike?
PHP integrations can be tedious sometimes for beginners. But it's not too much of a trouble
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helping our team and interns to give the real-time experience of hosting


    Rosemarie S.

Most used HTTP Server worldwide.

  • October 05, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Apache server is a free and open source program that provides enough options and ways to use it without caring much about hardware configurations; it runs on almost everything!
- It is customizable and adaptable.
- Apache Web Server offers comprehensive configuration choices that make it ideal for web applications that take into account efficiency and a high degree of security.
- One of the major advantages I have found is that it has a great documentation and community support.
What do you dislike?
- It has a comprehensive setup. It is not good for beginners.
- It is not easy to set up security solutions as it requires an additional degree of experience.
- A lot of RAM is absorbed by Apache under heavy loads.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's very easy to use, safe and can be easily tailored to various environments using extensions and modules. Apache works smoothly on all Windows and Debian site servers. My overall experience has been very good.