Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

QuestDB: high-performance open source SQL database for time series

QuestDB | 6.1.3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2.0.20210318.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

12 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Alexis R.

I'm amazed how fast it runs

  • April 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I used various time-series databases for an IoT sensor project, but I always ran into performance issues, and they were cumbersome to use. That's until I tried QuestDB; I actually couldn't believe it ran so fast that I thought I made a mistake in my SQL code. The team is super responsive and friendly as well.
What do you dislike?
I'm just waiting for more sharding features
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm considering using QuestDB to aggregate data sources that generate a ton of time-series data


    Yitaek H.

Fast open-source timeseries database

  • February 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
QuestDB is a performant timeseries database able to ingest large amounts of data and query in ms. The console UI is also intuitive as easy to use. A lot of the Postgres features are already supported so no need to learn a new query language. I have not tried out other ingestion methods (e.g. influx line protocol), but it's definitely nice to have
What do you dislike?
Kubernetes deployment options are currently limited. There is a Helm chart available, but I would like to see other features like replication or running in multiple regions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've only tried running it on my personal projects to ingest IoT data.


    Peter Z.

Looks great for your project, waiting more enterprise features

  • January 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I’ve liked SQL query language, easier to start with. Also easy to upload large CSV files and query it quickly.
What do you dislike?
Hard to tell from my personal perspective, but I’d expect Quest is working on replication and building visualisation capabilities that are critical at larger deployments
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A project to explore value of financial transactional data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a go, and if something does not work perfectly/missing chat with the team


    Information Technology and Services

QuestDB is the database of the future

  • January 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I was stunned with the performance and simplicity of QuestDB. I am a developer, I looked at the code base and it looks very clean. Moreover they said they took great care to ensure high stability, which is a great choice in my opinion. I was struck by the fact that time-series can be applied to any domain.
What do you dislike?
1) The insane amount of logging. 2) The website domain, questdb.io, should end with .com, otherwise branding will suffer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have not yet used QuestDB.


    Computer Software

An Excellent, Simple, and Reliable Time Series Database

  • January 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
QuestDB is a simple but very powerful time-series database that is lightweight and can be used at any scale.
SQL like query language make things simple and its performance is absolutely insane! It is open source and apart from the database it has incredible modules to use for your projects.

And whenever there is an issue or you want a new feature their team is very responsive.
What do you dislike?
That is only append db and doesnt support delete and update of rows
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
High performance code and extremely fast queries


    Gábor B.

Easy to use on every scale

  • January 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really like the simplicity and ease of use without compromises for performance. It was a very clever idea to implement the Postgres connection protocol and SQL interface; thanks to that, it is possible to use the database with any language which has built-in or third-party support for that.

Also, the interactive web console shipped with the database helps a lot to discover features of the database, generate charts, and gain more experience.
What do you dislike?
The documentation is well written, extensive, and helpful, though it could be organized a bit better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I haven't used it in production yet, but I'm sure I'll pursue the opportunity to do it.


    Kovid R.

Feature rich, promising, and powerful Time-series Database

  • December 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A highly performant time-series database was the need of the hour. QuestDB is great at processing time-series data in sub 100 ms time. With its support for the InfluxDB line protocol, streaming and batch ingestion of data is a cakewalk. This helps the most when the data is coming from lightweight devices. I like the SQL support that QuestDB has, especially with the extensions. It is worth mentioning that installing and running QuestDB on commodity hardware is really easy for those who want to explore it. The browser-based UI makes the whole process completely hassle-free.
What do you dislike?
I haven't used the database in production yet. After having explored the SQL capabilities, support for InfluxDB line protocol, and a couple of other features, I haven't come across anything that I really dislike till now. The one thing that can be improved is probably the visualization capability in the browser console.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As I said earlier, I haven't used it in production but I will do that the first chance I get. We need to stop unnecessarily loading transactional databases with time-series workloads. QuestDB provides a great alternative to time-series data processing with some very cool features, which is why I like exploring it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just go to the website and run it on your own system. Experimenting with QuestDB is really easy. The setup only takes a couple of minutes.


    🤷‍♂️ David G. S.

QuestDB for IoT

  • December 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
QuestDB is super fast, and allows me to store and query enormous volumes of data very quickly. I have sensors writing data to QuestDB more than once per second, and it is a significant volume of data. I've not had any data dropped, and I can query hundreds of thousands of rows of data in well under a second with complex SQL queries.

The easy integration with Telegraf for data ingestion has made data collection on the underlying platform that I run QuestDB on.

I especially like that QuestDB can ingest InfluxDB Line Protocol unchanged. This has made a transition from InfluxDB to QuestDB fairly seamless.

Having a single, small binary to install is very convenient.

Now that I can display the results of my data queries in Grafana I'm able to build highly functional dashboards for displaying and reacting to IoT sensor data in real-time.
What do you dislike?
I wish there was support for ARM64 architecture.
I've had a couple of instances of runaway log files, but Vlad and the team is amazingly responsive in fixing things.
Overall, I'm extremely impressed with, and happy with, QuestDB for my IoT deployments.
I do wish there were an alerting framework built-in, as I've had to create an external framework for generating service and data alerts, but I expect as the product matures these things will arrive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm able to store HUGE amounts of IoT data at wire-speed.
I'm able to query that data at sub-second speeds. I currently have over 100million records.
For IoT, given the enormous amounts of data involved, QuestDB is a natural fit. I've been doing IoT deployments for almost 20 years, and this is the best data platform I've found -- especially now that they have an integration with Grafana for dashboarding.


    Jerome R.

The best open source time series database

  • December 04, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The open source nature, the availability of the team, the speed at which they release new features. Finally, the ease of use and performance of the software itself.
What do you dislike?
No replication yet, and sometimes the query language lacks some mathematical functions. But this is improving.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Analysis of large amounts of financial transactions spanning multiple years to generate new insights.


    Investment Banking

Performance out of the box

  • November 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Being a time series database at heart it is very optimized for that use case. QuestDB is blazingly fast querying, aggregation, filtering etc. Also, not having a heavy client integration with the language of choice is very easy.
What do you dislike?
There is currently no replication. (My understanding is, though, that it is being worked on.)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Analysis of large amounts of financial (trading/market) data.