Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 Baseline with OS Patches

Kurian | RHEL 8.6 20220820

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

27 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Tushar J.

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL): The Go-To Choice for Secure and Reliable Enterprise Computing

  • January 30, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
RHEL is a robust and reliable Linux distribution that is widely used in enterprise environments. It's known for its stability, security and support for enterprise-level features. The built-in features like SELinux and AppArmor provide an added layer of security. Red Hat offers a range of support options, including 24/7 support, which is a big plus for businesses that rely on their systems to be up and running all the time. The downside is that it's a commercial product, so it may be more expensive than other Linux distributions. Overall, it's a great choice for organizations that need a stable, secure and enterprise-ready Linux distribution.
What do you dislike about the product?
RHEL, being a commercial product, can be more costly than other Linux distributions. It may also have limited flexibility and customization options. Additionally, the package availability is limited as it uses its own package manager. Some users may find it not suitable for high-performance computing or large-scale deployment. Also, depending on Red Hat for support and updates may lead to vendor lock-in. However, it's a great choice for organizations that need a stable, secure and enterprise-ready Linux distribution.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
RHEL is known for its stability and reliability, making it a great choice for organizations running mission-critical applications and services. It's built-in features like SELinux and AppArmor provide added security which is important for organizations handling sensitive data. RHEL's scalability features like high availability, load balancing and storage management make it suitable for large-scale deployment. Organizations that need round the clock support can rely on Red Hat's 24/7 support and dedicated security team. Compliance with various industry standards and regulations is another benefit. Plus, it can be cost-effective for organizations as it allows them to use a single operating system for both development and production environments.


    Sriraj N.

Red Hat Linux - Power of Linux unleashed

  • January 20, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
RHEL is the most versatile operating system ever. It is robust and the best of any linux distros.
What do you dislike about the product?
There are many features that Red Hat provides which could be confusing for first timers. The different products they have and their portfolio is confusing
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
All our servers are RedHat. Our webserver, mysql db server, proxy servers, ntp servers are all RedHat


    Information Technology and Services

Best for handling servers in test and prod systems

  • January 06, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of use
Integration with different solutions
Open source
What do you dislike about the product?
Command line can have a slow learning curve in the beginning
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Able to use Red Hat Enterprise Linux OS on vanilla hardware machine for my test and prod systems


    Pranali G.

Linux operating system

  • December 23, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Operation system which is too secure as it requires kernel level of programming
What do you dislike about the product?
Time required too much time to get into the the kernel of the operating system
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Linux operating system is free and available in market place. Easy to use also used in cloud platform


    Hospital & Health Care

Secure and customizable OS for enterprise workload

  • December 23, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We can customise it as per the client's requirement. Also, the time to build a server is less. The support you get in case of any major outage is very good.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing so far. I have been using it for the last ten years.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are hosting various applications on Linux virtual servers. The operational cost is less than the other OS. Besides you get regular patches which ensure the OS is safe and stable.


    Deepak M.

User friendly

  • November 09, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Using the OS is very user-friendly as it provides GUI as well as a command line interface to the customers. Working on large set of file is incredibly awesome as with command line we can easily do all kind of activities.
What do you dislike about the product?
The only thing I dislike is that there are several applications that are usefully and available on Microsoft windows but they can't be used on Redhat Linux. The community should work more to help us with this.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being and open source environment is solving the biggest issues as with Microsoft windows it is very tough to customize things and the command line is also not user friendly.


    Gaurav K.

Redhat Linux is the heart of our organization

  • October 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Earlier our customers were using Windows and facing many issues. Then we approached them and suggested them to switch to Redhat Linux and feel the difference in the performance. Nowadays we can get skilled people who can manage your environment and put upmost security. We have moved few RHEL server to the aws cloud and its an amazing experience for customers and us
What do you dislike about the product?
No we can not hate Redhat Linux. Sometimes support people will take time to resolve the issue may be they are diagnosing the data which lead to increase in our downtime. But that is acceptable for our customers
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Earlier our application response is not as good as it was earlier. May be we dont have big database at that time. But when the data is grown we are seeing performance issues putting our database on windows server. Even if we to make some changes in the database server name then we have to face lots of challenges and make chages in registry and other places. But when we switched to RHEL, our application response time even improved a lot. And we can get skilled people who can help you securing your database and helped a lot in improving performance


    Sudeep Narayan B.

Experience in using RHEL in Server

  • September 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Being a Redhat Certified Engineer, to me almost everything, from widgets to config files to server creation and cluster build up is awesome.
What do you dislike about the product?
There is nothing particular that I dislike about RHEL
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Red hat Enterprise Linux provides us with adequate after-sales technical support as and when we had required in the EE Lab. We have become more productive by using the Operating System.


    Jose R.

Strong and reliable OS

  • September 20, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Handle os functions with easy and good tools
What do you dislike about the product?
I do like everything, specially the user interface
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is a platform very stable to support our web developments


    Satchidananda R.

Red Hat Enterprise Linux Review

  • August 26, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Red Hat Linux Enterprise is a great OS in the IT market to run different applications and database.
We are using Ansible, openshift and docker automation tools to automate the daily jobs and workload.
VCS cluster is the best one which provides high availability for application.
Performance is quite good.
What do you dislike about the product?
Redhat enterprise support is paid. The cost of the licence is a bit high as compared to other OS in the IT market.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Red hat enterprise is the best OS which provides all application support. We are using the SAP and oracle database in Redhead servers.
We are using the Cloud base environment where we have run multiple automation tool to auto-mate the projects like Ansible, Openshift etc.