Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

AlmaLinux OS 8 (arm64)

AlmaLinux OS Foundation | 8.9.20231123

Linux/Unix, Other 8.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

10 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Gerlyn Eduardo D.

Sorprendente

  • November 21, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The best CentOS replacement, AlmaLinux has filled this gap in free alternatives to RedHat. It covers all the necessary requirements to set up a server to the extent that it's my distribution for my services on AWS.
What do you dislike about the product?
I spent years setting up servers on CentOS, and AlmaLinux has everything necessary to deploy any service.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To host multiple servers on AWS using a distribution derived from RedHat. It's my distribution of choice for cloud-hosted services on AWS and Azure, as well as other local servers.


    Javier Z.

A great alternative to the dying CentOS 7

  • October 17, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The fact that it is based on Red Had Enterprise Linux, it means that managing the server is pretty predictable and reliable while avoiding paying for support agreements
What do you dislike about the product?
Some packages were a bit difficult to find and install, but overall the experience has been positive
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It was utilized as a candidate to migrate all our servers to it as CentOS 7 will lose support/updates next year


    leon m.

Have shown awesome stability in every workload

  • October 01, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like this tool because it is a free tool and open source where anyone can download it in internet without any cost and install it with ease.
It has great security features like errata, and oval to help protect you computer from virus and attacks.
What do you dislike about the product?
I have experiemented this tool and I have not seen any challenges so far. It is very perfect.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have used this tool to load apps and to access my computer. It has given me good interface to work with different apps.


    Information Technology and Services

Reasonable solution to replace CentOS Linux but maybe not CentOS Stream

  • September 18, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
RedHat based. Uses RPM / DNF package manager. Long term support releases. Downstream from RHEL. 1:1 binary compatibility with CentOS. Super easy CentOS -> AlmaLinux migration tool.
What do you dislike about the product?
The Logo is horrible. Can replace CentOS Linux but if you want bleeding edge, maybe CentOS Stream is still a better option. The default GUI is not so hot. The distribution name "AlmaLinux" also not so great.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Currently we are testing out AlmaLinux as a viable alternative to CentOS flavor linux. We are running it in on a sandbox server and evaluating making the migration from CentOS Linux to AlmaLinux. So far it seems like it will solve the need just fine.


    Elena C.

the best for server's handle

  • September 08, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
support and installation for use like a server
What do you dislike about the product?
not all app is update and compatible with server version
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's very easy to setup web server


    Pankaj B.

AlmaLinux: A Trusted Environment for Software Development

  • September 05, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
As an engineer, I find AlmaLinux's rock-solid stability, which comes from its roots in Red Hat Enterprise Linux, to be particularly impressive. It provides a consistent and dependable environment for application development and hosting. The value of offering Long Term Support (LTS) versions is immeasurable and guarantees a stable environment for software development. Strong security procedures that AlmaLinux adopted from RHEL give users assurance that their systems are protected by timely security updates and patches. Application migration is made simpler and deployment compatibility difficulties are reduced because to its dedication to maintaining binary compatibility with RHEL. The vibrant AlmaLinux community offers top-notch assistance and resources, and the open-source nature of the software enables for modification to fit particular project needs. AlmaLinux is a dependable operating system with a consistent release cycle and wide programme and tool compatibility.
What do you dislike about the product?
Although there are many excellent aspects of AlmaLinux, there are a few that might not be as wonderful. First off, AlmaLinux is a little different than CentOS, so if you're coming from that environment, it could take some time to adjust. Second, certain third-party applications or programmes that were simple to find on CentOS may be more difficult to discover and use now. There may be a learning curve to grasp how things operate if you are new to CentOS or other comparable systems. Additionally, compared to some other systems, AlmaLinux may offer less possibilities if you want a lot of commercial assistance. AlmaLinux occasionally uses somewhat older software versions, which might be an issue if you require the most recent functionality. Lastly, It might not be the ideal option for older or slower machines because it might occasionally demand a little bit more computer resources. When determining if AlmaLinux is appropriate for your software projects, bear these considerations in mind.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
AlmaLinux provides a robust, safe, and well-supported Linux system to address important difficulties in software engineering. The dependability of my software projects in production situations depends critically on this stability. Long-term support (LTS) releases of AlmaLinux also considerably lessen the interruption brought on by frequent upgrades, allowing me to concentrate on development rather than ongoing system upkeep. Its strong security procedures, which were carried over from Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), provide me piece of mind by assuring prompt security updates and patches, which improve the security of my systems and data. Overall, AlmaLinux's response to these issues significantly streamlines my software development procedures, lowers operational risks, and fosters effectiveness in server environment management.


    Shashi G.

Review

  • September 05, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
AlmaLinux is not only a solid replacement for CentOS but also a great alternative to RHEL. You get an enterprise-grade OS without the service fees associated with RHEL. It is a robust and well-tested operating system.
What do you dislike about the product?
AlmaLinux, it sounds like AlmaLinux is maintained with security patches long term like CentOS was, plus maintenance in that regard is also superior.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Even though AlmaLinux is distributed for free, there are a lot of financial resources that go into developing software, let alone an operating system. You need to pay software developers, system admins, and other management logistics


    Oleksandr G.

Best Community supported Enterprise Linux

  • March 24, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Great Community supported Enterprise Linux.
Great stability, 10 years support.
Everything you can expect from the Enterprise Linux rebuilds
Rapid builds of new EL versions.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing to dislike: if you consider AlmaLinux as a community supported distribution, the expectations are low enough.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use AlmaLinux as a primary Operating System for all our business hosting needs, running the applications, docker containers, libvirt virtual machines.
Great 10 years patches support allows us to cut the costs for the applications moving.


    Sandor P.

The new CentOS

  • December 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Stability. It is like RHEL but free to use.
What do you dislike about the product?
If you want technical support it's not the best choice. For Enterprise use I'd choose the paid system by the same company.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is completely free and upgradable to CLOS.


    Ashutosh D.

An excellent alternate to RHEL

  • January 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's a lifetime free enterprise-level solution that has all the required services in place with excellent community support. A large number of organizations adopt it.
What do you dislike about the product?
The main downside is that some of the features are not there due to patent problems. Another one could be the absence of the NTFS file system by default mode—no other major downside.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have been deploying various ETL pipelines on the AlmaLinux parallel with RHEL, and the results have been surprising. Its performance is neck to neck when we compare it to RHEL. It has been a great cost-efficient alternative to RHEL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a must-have Linux distro for those with limited licensing capabilities but looking for no compromise in performance. It is nowhere less than RHEL in peak performance scenarios. Most features work the same.


showing 1 - 10