Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

24 AWS reviews

External reviews

468 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Gonçalo M.

I used mongodb for small and big sites, always with mongodb

  • March 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
MongoDB is great because its colelctions are in "json" and it makes it so natural to work with nodejs. I like the ease which you can protoype apps, you just have a bunch of data and throw it at mongo and then you can easily query it.
Aggregations are very powerful and I always found the right solution for complex data.
What do you dislike about the product?
There are other document databases which offer a way better integration for relations/joins. That's basically the first question that comes from a guy coming from mySQL which is difficult to explain to them how you would avoid them.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We had so much data around and using a database like mongo we made our data more flat, of course our DB size was very big but the performance improvements were visible. The benefit of it was that our pages were much faster to get delivered, data was all there and we did not have to go make 200 queries.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you choose to move to Mongo from a "traditional" RDBMS you have to rethink the way you see "tables", collections in this case. This I guess is the most difficult part to move to mongo.
If you need good scalability mongo is a good choice, it is just easy to setup and it just works.


    Marc Antuan E.

Ease of use

  • March 12, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
JSON like usage. Just storing/retrieving JSONs is huge for our SPA, as it just stores the objects from the front end straight to the database and back.
What do you dislike about the product?
Lack of relationships. Comming from a RDBMS world is hard to envision everything as isolated objects.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Faster response times
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Forget about relationships


    E-Learning

Great DB for start up!!!

  • March 01, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of use, retrieval speed, don't use contrast colors for gui
What do you dislike about the product?
Make it more user friendly by using more gui
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Quicker retrieval


    Derek N.

MongoDB is Simple to Use NoSQL DB

  • February 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I've liked MongoDB from the beginning for it's ease of use. When building out a new app, it's no schema nature makes building the data layer a snap. It has very supported clients in pretty much every programming language, so I've never had an issue with Mongo support cross different environments.
What do you dislike about the product?
Mongo doesn't have native support for joins, which can bite you later when your db grows and complex queries would be better served by using a join. With that said, blindly using Mongo for a highly relational project is a reason many people give Mongo bad reviews, but it was never supposed to be used for such scenarios. Although, I admittedly sometimes still use Mongo in highly relational apps because it's ease of use makes up for some of the relational query issues I may have.

Also, mongo is password free by default, which unfortunately leads to a lot of users having public facing DBs with no password protection!

Lastly, a production environment is pretty complicated to setup properly. For the most part, I'd recommend using a service to manage this for you. So in that regard, a production environment setup could be much easier to setup.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I love using Mongo in applications where the incoming data to be stored has no implicit structure. This is where a schemaless database shines.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give MongoDB a try. It has a very low learning curve at first, so it's easy to get started. With all devs being familiar with JSON, the Mongo syntax is super easy to pickup. Just do not expect it to be a relational db, because it's not.


    Higher Education

MongoDB changed how I construct databases

  • February 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
- Very different compared to SQL but in a good way. It really makes sense to me when constructing databases.
- I love how you troubleshoot the mongdb to see if data is being populated correctly or databases are nesting.
What do you dislike about the product?
So far after using it for a few months, I don't see any negative things at the moment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am just creating my own personal apps using MongoDB as the back end database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will definitely recommend.


    Raju M.

Totally enjoying NoSQL with mongodb

  • February 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Since mongodb is schemaless, it is very flexible when working with collecting dynamic data, I use mongodb for an IOT project and it involves storing large amounts of data and performing quick aggregations on a daily basis. MongoDB does this very fast and in my opinion performing time based operations on MongoDB is much easer than on MySQL; I have worked with MySQL and there came a time that my project almost came to a halt because the data queries became so complex and there was drop in performance. That has not been the case with MongoDB.
What do you dislike about the product?
Map reduce was something that took me a lot of time to understand and I just wish there were more resources to learn this.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Providing analytics for IOT devices.

Having moved from MySql based system, where I was at my wits end trying to write proper queries, Mongodb uses plain Javascript which I understand well enough, it made my work a lot easier.

I didn't have to learn a lot to undestand how MongoDB worked because I already wrote code in Javascript and there are lots of good nodejs ORMs for MongoDb;
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want something scalable and fast, I would suggest MongoDB.


    Mathias F.

Best NoSQL option

  • February 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I did a great research of NoSQL document oriented databases. MongoDB was my ultimate choice and I haven't regretted it yet. I loved the online documentation, the great books, the huge community. Technically, I've been running a web application with MongoDB with 3 shards and 2 replicas for 5 months now and it's working so smoothly it scares me.
What do you dislike about the product?
Being used to work with MS SQL, I miss the Management Tool application. I found some client apps for Mongo, like Robomongo, but still haven't found the one that makes me feel completely covered and comfortable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
MongoDB solves every database related problem for a modern web application. Dynamic document structure, rapid searching, ease of learning, etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should read a book before starting using it. There are many configuration aspects you should know from the beginning.


    Ewen F.

Lightening fast development and easy scalability

  • February 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
MongoDB offers a fast development model over the traditional relational / SQL systems.
What do you dislike about the product?
The lack of good instrumentation to understand the internal state
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Startups development is all about experimentation, both in terms of business model and technical implementation. Using MongoDB it is possible to very rapidly construct and test ideas.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ensure you need to experiment, else go with proven solutions.


    Robert M.

Fantastic DB for all aspects of the technical lifecycle

  • February 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Quick and easy setup for prototyping applications without overly worrying about data structures, strong integration with high quality frameworks like NodeJS and Meteor, great to use when your using Javascript within your stack. The latest version that allows for joins within the aggregation pipeline has been fantastic.
What do you dislike about the product?
How much flack MongoDB (and most NoSQL DBs) get when people try to use them without understanding their benefits
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Working heavily with the MeteorJS framework which is tied directly to MongoDB, not only do we use it in our production app we also use it for all of data analysis DB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ensure it meets your requirements, which I guess can be said of any technology, mainly that whatever framework your using integrates well with MongoDB and has all the functionality you need it to have. In particular, how important are lots and lots of joins?


    Poe B.

Fast, easy to use and scalable

  • February 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Mongo is the best option for web based apps and can be used with other databases too. Is a perfect match for applications made on Node.js - and more, his scalabity and speed are amazing, making this database the first choice for startups and other bussiness with core on inovation.
What do you dislike about the product?
The database need some improvements like unique keys, but in general he is perfect! :)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My tear are making some integrations with websites and mobile apps and using Mongo DB we can get fast response using sharding and others features. This DB is amazing fast and flexible!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a fast and flexible DB, with a lot of native support for fast lanes, this is your DB. But, you'll need a lot of team organization and documentation on your tasks - if you have a Agile Team, it's is a perfect match! :)