Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cisco Cloud Services Router (CSR) 1000V - AX Pkg. Max Performance

Cisco | 17.03.06

Linux/Unix, Other Cisco IOS XE - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

14 AWS reviews

External reviews

15 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Zaheer N.

Cisco Cloud Services

  • March 13, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
This one is simple to use as opposed to our previous system, which frequently crashed. These appear to be well-liked by the staff. Security, Networking, and DMVPN
What do you dislike about the product?
There could be more stability. Not aesthetically appealing and does not entice one to use it. Restriction on live transfer, licensing, and licence upgrades. Excessive IP address assignment is required to get it to work sometimes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I cannot handle essential and urgent information because of connection issues, and I do not believe it is safe for the info to come promptly. This device increases and improves overall productivity and efficiency by removing the need to maintain the router's physical hardware.


    Nirav D.

Best Virtual Form Factor Router

  • March 09, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Cisco Router 1000v delivers comprehensive WAN gateway and network services functions into virtual and cloud environment. It can run on Cisco UCS Servers an well as in servers from leading vendors that supports VMWare ESXi. It is bundled software of networking and security features.
What do you dislike about the product?
There is no downside of Cisco Cloud Service Router. It is designed in a way it is expected to run as such However, Cost is high for a piece of software. Excessive IP address assignment is required to get it work sometimes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Cisco Cloud Services Router 1000v solves to connect on-prem network to the cloud or even can be used as a SD-WAN Edge which eliminates the need to manage physical hardware of the router which increases and improves overall productivity and efficiency.


    Kris

Poor technical performance, and poor commercial experience

  • August 21, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Sorry, but I'm going to have to give a scolding bad review here.

We purchased (with the intention of ordering another 6 more units) of t2.medium licensed CSR1000v AX max performance, and the experience has far from being exceptional.

1. Cisco has no means of wanting to be reached of contacted beyond the use of community-supported forums.
2. While the "platform hardware throughput level" lists "200000000 kb/s", I'm getting at best a feeble 2 mbit.
3. The BYOL edition appears to have moved to 16.12.01, while the AWS licensed is still at 16.10.01b, and community forum suggests me to upgrade to 16.10.02, which does not exist, unless I have a TAC support agreement.

I'm just itching to move to VyOs.


    Sameer I.

Its Reliable and Secure for enterprises

  • June 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Secure, price is low, its compatible with most visualization platform and its ease of use.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes the system fails but can be fixed in no time, Vm cannot be suspended
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Connectivity, streamline of users is at ease and fast.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Frequency of Crashes is low and the system is easy to setup and manage


    Jimmy D.

It connects all my environments together in a smart, efficient way. However, they could make the pricing cheaper.

  • January 15, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It's in our transit VPC and transit router. We use it as a way to connect multiple environments together and also our third-party vendors together. So, it is a VPN.
How has it helped my organization?
I now have ease of flexibility, ease of use, and most importantly, convenience.
Before, creating a new account (a new VPC) in AWS, we would have to establish VPN tunnels with on-premise, which was a huge process. It would take a least a month or so to finish everything. You have to work with a different team to do on-premise connections, since I am not responsible for on-premise. With Cisco CSR, all I have to do is have one transit VPC, one VPN, then everything else goes to that transit VPC. So I never have to worry about getting in touch with security again. I can have as many accounts as I want, which now take about a day to set up.
You don't have to do anything now. A new account comes up, link in the action, download it to the account, and you are set.
What is most valuable?
Feature-wise, Cisco is easy to configure. I know the command line. Therefore, it's easy for me to program it the way I want, and it's just a convenient tool. It's robust, and it works.
The bandwidth and throughput are pretty good.
My oldest firewall is about 12 years old, and it still works. So, that's why I trust Cisco.
What needs improvement?
Cost is a big factor. We would like to see the price reduced.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
My last Cisco router was 12 years old. So, it is stable.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It is definitely scalable. It can handle a lot more traffic and group work compared to any other products that I've evaluated. It could easily scale a lot more than what I'm doing right now. I have about 12 environments going through the CSR and about 4 vendors. I could easily double that.
We are a huge consumer of Cisco products. We have about ten routers and firewalls with more than 30 odd switches. So, it's a huge infrastructure.
What about the implementation team?
The implementation and configuration with AWS was straightforward and simple.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
They could make it a little cheaper. It is a lot of money. It's almost $25,000 USD a year if I buy directly from AWS Marketplace, and we need at least two of them.
We would prefer to go through the vendor instead of AWS, as we have a relationship with the vendor and can get discounts directly from them. Going through the vendor, it is much cheaper for us. Though, we would still keep it hosted on AWS.
The purchasing process through the AWS Marketplace is simple and easy. All I had to do was click a button, and it got the evaluation started. Then, when the evaluation was about to end, I received emails. It was directly billed to my router account. I didn't actually do anything at that point.
We went through the AWS Marketplace because when this whole project started I was searching for options. I had used Cisco CSR in the past, but I was still searching for something cheaper. With the AWS marketplace, I just searched for VPN solutions and IPsec, and Cisco CSR received a couple of the top hits. So, it was just click a button and easy to deploy from the AWS Marketplace.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We evaluated Fortinet, SRX, and Palo Alto. We also looked at Openswan, which is an open source.
I chose Cisco because I am more familiar with it. I have a lot of certificates in Cisco, so I'm more comfortable with Cisco. I was the one implementing it, so we went with Cisco.
We used the other Cisco product, Cisco ASA. It's almost the same thing. It's an on-premise firewall versus a cloud firewall.
What other advice do I have?
Keep a long-term goal in mind. Where do you want to get to:
* If it's a small environment, I would not pay for a CSR. It's too expensive. Go for something cheaper.
* If it's a bigger environment and you will eventually scale out, then definitely go with a CSR. It will be sustainable, scalable, and definitely stable.
The product serves me purpose. It connects all my environments together in a smart, efficient way.


    Luis H.

Provides us with secure 3G/4G LTE WAN cellular and wireless LAN connectivity for mobile environments

  • January 14, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Gateway communication for IoT activities is our primary use case. We were looking for a stable mobility solution.
How has it helped my organization?
It provides us with highly secure, reliable, and easy-to-manage 3G/4G LTE WAN cellular and wireless LAN connectivity for mobile environments.
It has delivered high-speed secure VPN services with High Availability, strong firewall protection, Application Visibility and Control, and more. This AMI runs Cisco IOS XE technology features (ASR 1000 and ISR 4000 series) and uses AWS instances with a direct I/O path for higher and consistent performance, as well as 2x performance with IMIX packets.
What is most valuable?
The most important feature is that it is designed for mobile vehicle communication in harsh conditions. It is also:
* easily and rapidly deployed
* highly available
* highly secure
* reliable.
Also, in terms of integration and configuration of the product in our AWS environment, it has 1700/2100 MHz (Band 4 AWS) frequencies.
What needs improvement?
Cisco should improve on the operation due to a clock signal component failure. I would also like to see better security, where there are more access controls and data confidentiality.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is a stable solution. I have put high workloads on it and it has been very stable.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
For my environment it is a good solution.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The pricing is good for what it offers.
What other advice do I have?
It integrates with multiple solutions but I have only tried it with AWS solutions.


    Thomas F.

It provides peace of mind because it is a stable product

  • January 09, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It provides peace of mind because it is a stable product that you aren't going to lose sleep over at night wondering if it will be running or not.
It is an all-inclusive solution.
What is most valuable?
* Reliability
* Cost-effectiveness
* Portability
* Security
What needs improvement?
I would like the ability to moderate between devices on-premise to off-premise. This would be a vast improvement.
In the next release, I would like them to add the ability to track a security feature to track the various IPs that come in.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
In AWS, the size of my environment is relatively small at the moment. I only have 45 VMs.
How is customer service and technical support?
Our experiences with their technical support have been positive.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of the product in our AWS environment was mostly straightforward.
What was our ROI?
It is sort of like insurance. You hope you never have to use it. We pay a premium, hoping that the service never goes bad on us.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing the product on the AWS Marketplace was very simplistic. Our organization was trying to centralize our billing costs, and simplicity was best.
The pricing is fine, though it might have been cheaper going through a partner or doing a direct buy.
What other advice do I have?
Cisco has been around for years. It is solid and has one of the most recognized brand names in the world.


    CloudSol4cd7

Smooth experience purchasing through AWS Marketplace, great routing abilities

  • January 06, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Our primary use case of this solution is for routing.
How has it helped my organization?
Cisco has helped improve my organization in the was that it actually helped us to get the communication between on-prem and cloud to become smoother since we got it.
What is most valuable?
The most valuable feature is its routing abilities.
My experience with purchasing through AWS Marketplace was pretty smooth. We pay the same license cost as we do for long-term devices. We chose to procure via AWS Marketplace because that's the option we have. If we wanted to price something in AWS on every PC, we would have to go to the Marketplace and buy it. There are different versions available, so this is the version that has the capabilities that we wanted to explore. That's why we use Marketplace. The cost is a little higher at this point in time; but, we'll see how it goes.
What needs improvement?
They have an online registration that happens after they pick up block months. If they could decrease to yearly or something, sometimes the device is not cell phone accessible. That becomes an issue or challenge for us. If that can be improved, that would be really great.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
We have at least more than 60 CSRs deployed and the scale works well. Scalability has not been an issue.
How is customer service and technical support?
The technical support from Cisco is good. I would rate them at least a nine out of ten, if not ten out of ten.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We chose Cisco because the license cost is not that high and it's easy to consume on AWS. It gives access to so many variables that can be used, and even again, on Prime we're using the same one.
I would like to see them have an offline license. The moment you instant ship a device the license never goes off unless you destroy the device in the cloud.
How was the initial setup?
Integration has been pretty smooth. We're still exploring some automation capabilities to configure. Cisco doesn't have it in-house; but, we're trying to make it ourselves.
It integrates well with the other products we're using. We have it with multiple windows like Palo Alto, Arista and it easily integrated with them.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We also looked at Arista alongside Cisco. We didn't end up choosing them because of the cost of the license, the bandwidth, and the support to different routing protocols. Considering what we have on-prem we wanted to match that and we started deploying it in the cloud.
What other advice do I have?
I would rate this solution an eight and not a ten: first, because we don't have automation available in-house and they give us the ability to deploy it on the cloud. Second, because of the license issue that we had with it. Other than that, everything is perfect.


    Anthony P.

Purchasing through the AWS Marketplace was easy; click a button and you have it

  • December 23, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it to create a transit VPC within multiple AWS accounts.
How has it helped my organization?
It allowed us to create a more secure VPN than we would have been able to do without it.
What is most valuable?
It is supported by Amazon. They had documentation on how to set it up. It was supported by Amazon, so if I had problems, I could get help from Cisco or Amazon.
What needs improvement?
It is too complex. It is not easy to set up, even with the documentation that they provided. It is a little confusing.
I would like a GUI interface. The command line is not very straightforward, especially if you don't use it every day.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
Stability is great.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
Scalability is very good, as long as you are paying for the licensing to support it.
The size of our environment is about 400 servers and 300 users.
How is customer service and technical support?
If we needed technical support, we would call Cisco and ask for assistance.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration were complex. It was not easy to set up. We had to use a lot of Cisco's help.
It is not being used with anything else. It is its own standalone thing.
What was our ROI?
It just makes our lives a little easier.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The cost needs improvement. It is very expensive through the AWS Marketplace.
Purchasing through the AWS Marketplace was easy; click a button and you have it. Our organization saw it was in Cisco's documentation, and that is how we set it up.
What other advice do I have?
The product is fantastic. It just costs to keep it running. If you have the revenue for it, it is a good product. My current business is small, so we can't use it, as it's too expensive. Though, it would be a good product for a mid-to-large size business,


    ProjectM702c

The product scales and handles stress very well, but the price is a bit high

  • December 17, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The primary use case is routing ingress traffic to various VPCs.
What is most valuable?
The stability and history that it has working successfully on AWS. Also, AWS highly recommends this product.
What needs improvement?
The ease of use within the AWS environment needs to improve. Sometimes, it is very esoteric in how you use it. Therefore, you have to learn to use it, then you are able to.
For how long have I used the solution?
Less than one year.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It handles stress very well. We have not reached a point of needing to worry about its capabilities.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The product scales very well. The size of our environment is three VPCs and about 30 EC2 instances.
How is customer service and technical support?
Our contacts within Cisco were available for us for technical support, so that has work out fine.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing it through the AWS Marketplace was very simple. We went through the AWS Marketplace because it was the easiest way to get the product up and running very quickly.
The price is a little high, more than what we wanted to pay. This is one area where we would like to understanding how the price could be brought down a bit more.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
This product is highly recommended by AWS, so we did not consider other products.
What other advice do I have?
It offers exactly we need. It was easy to get up and running. The support was available when we needed it. Ultimately, it is just a very expensive product.
Make sure you scale at the right level that you are at for the products that you need, including this one.
We use the AWS and on-premise versions of the product. They compare very well. The AWS version offers quite a bit of functionality. Luckily, we have had team members who are familiar with the CSR on-premise version and are able to use that on the AWS version. It has worked out very well for us.