Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Multisite Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami by VMware | 6.0.1-6-r05 on Debian 11

Linux/Unix, Debian 11 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

27 AWS reviews

External reviews

2 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Dinakaran K.

Best platform to manage multiple websites in one place

  • May 31, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Single dashboard to manage all the websites
- One WordPress package for all the websites
- Better RBAC management to provide roles and responsibilities to user
What do you dislike?
- Complex Migration
- No option for separating users
- No option for separate plugins for individual website
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Maintaining all the websites in one place which helps manage multiple clients websites
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have multiple clients in your organization and want to manage all the websites, this is what you need.


    J Tek

Bitnami provides great tools to make it easier to manage

  • March 10, 2022
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have been using Bitnami WordPress Multisite for some time now, 3 versions, and the tools and support set up by Bitnami to setup and manage my environment are fantastic. I use SSH to manage the environment, and it is very convenient to manage these processes with Bitnamis tools such as BNcert tool for managing https redirects and SSL with letsencrypt.


    Steve C.

Wordpress for Bitnami is solid for BLOG development

  • January 11, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has most tools available, including SSL certificate, for beginners. It is also easy to find help on Google. It makes it easy to deploy a web site, just follow step by step and make a few adjustments to deploy a web site. It takes less than half an hour to deply a simple web site. The plugins are very helpful in setting up my website.
What do you dislike?
It is not free, and it will not allow me to install a second site on the same port. I found help on Google, but found the help is already outdated so I have to search again for the most current commands on Bitnami. The plugins can be misleading, especially when AMP plugin. AMP is a powerful tool to validate my website content. However, it could also stop me from using older version of plugins or themes, especially for those with JS scripts. I have to deactivate AMP plugin to make my other plugins work.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It has most tools I needed for deploying a site, as a beginner. It allows me to run Bitname packages instantly on Google Cloud. It allows me to install SSL certificate and turns the site from non-secure to secure in just minutes, now without restarting Apache (like I found on Youtube). This makes it simpler and easier, again for beginner.


    blockchainer

Troubles with redirects and bad UI/UX

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I still have a trouble to make it NOT to redirect to the main domain when I open an additional site.

UI/UX of Sites is somehow inconvenient.

Otherwise, thank you for this useful work.


    Beracah

Stable

  • May 02, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have more than 7 instances and all are showing stable performances so far. One recommendation is to give an easy option to migrate instances from old php / bitnami to new version.. even with all tools, it is so difficult to migrate an old instance to a new one. Any help on this issue is highly appreciated


    JD Osterman

Not sure why so many negative reviews

  • January 10, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We installed this about a year ago using t2.micro free tier, set up 4 WordPress sites with custom domains (using an elastic IP, the domain management panel within WP Multi-site, and NameCheap as registrar) and have had no problems at all. Especially considering we basically had it all for the cost of the domain registrations, it has been great. We've never noticed any downtime or sluggishness on the sites.

Now that the free year is up, we'll stay with it and purchase a 3 year reserved instance, and still have a great price for a multi-site WP installation. The t2.micro instance has been fine for our relatively basic sites.

3 people found this helpful

    ComputerGuy

Basic Wordpress Functions Broken

  • August 24, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I should have stopped using this image when, right out of the box, I couldn't even create users in Wordpress. I persisted though and was unable to upload a theme and also could not activate the WP Mail SMTP plugin.

I restarted with the non Multisite Bitnami AMI and this all worked just fine.


    william zeitler

Dismal failure

  • May 26, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have set up maybe 100 Apache websites by hand, untold lines of PHP, etc.

I followed the directions and all I get is 404, regardless of my troubleshooting efforts.

1 person found this helpful

    Bill Kuehnle

Is this AMI really the problem?

  • October 22, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Note: This review exceeds the suggested 300 word limit by ~130 words. If that bothers you, skip the explanation, the first paragraph and conclusion found at the end summarize the problem.

I don't accept the reviews claiming this does not work. I think blaming the AMI misses the point. Blame, if any, should be directed at code developed by 3rd parties not Bitnami or WordPress.

Explanation:
I tried this AMI in a staging environment and quickly reverted back to my saved version of a previous Bitnami AMI running PHP 5.6, I don't believe the AMI is at fault. I gave it 3 stars because I wish Bitnami offered another WP multi-site AMI with PHP 5.6. On the other hand, enabling people to continue avoiding PHP 7, especially with a WP site, isn't necessarily good practice.

A better solution would be to downgrade to PHP 5.6 yourself after installing the AMI. I suspect for many people that might prove too difficult and defeat the purpose of using a readymade AMI solution.

If anyone has experience where a site works with PHP 7 in another environment but doesn't work with this AMI, I would very much like to hear about it.

I would skip Bitnami altogether and install a stack on a generic EC2 Linux instance then install WP multi-site. However, I tend to like Bitnami's application solutions. The structure they implement, although often annoying, provides better security than I want to spend time implementing if starting from scratch.

This AMI would probably be getting 4 and 5 star reviews if users ran WordPress by itself. But who does that?

There are virtually always 3rd party themes and plugins involved. When I reverted to an older version, mentioned above, I was working with a site I inherited that depended on numerous (an understatement) plugins of questionable quality. There wasn't time or money available to debug so much code to resolve PHP 7 issues. The site contains code that is so poorly written that it won't run on PHP 5.6 either when debug is turned on; so many notices and warnings are generated that the page output cannot be rendered in a browser. Granted, debug should NOT be on in a production environment but, the ability to enable it in a dev environment would be nice.

Summary:
PHP 7 has been a long time in the making. WordPress core developers have been preparing for it and WP runs fine, and much faster, by itself with this AMI but frequently themes and/or plugins do not because they were developed using PHP 5.6, or older, and are often poorly written to begin with. Theme/plugin developers state what version of WP they have tested against but usually don't mention, or even consider, whether PHP 7 is supported.


    jbesw

No longer works

  • September 26, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This used be a near-perfect AMI but has completely stopped working on AWS. Hopefully Bitnami can fix this but it's been broken for some time.