Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Snowflake Connector for AWS Glue

Amazon Web Services | 2.9.1-2

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

354 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jetender V.

Cloud Database

  • July 01, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Easy setup
2. Self-training Videos
3. Can process structured and nonstructured data easily
4. Analytic Database for large datasets
5. Integration with cloud-based reporting
What do you dislike?
UI interface needs can be improved a lot. It should embed more features from Oracle database.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is solving the need for rich analytics, speed. Its ability to handle non-structured data is a great help for our day to day activity.


    Liz G.

Snowflake is the best interface out there

  • June 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Built in geospatial functions in Snowflake, easy way to search the db, easy way to see parsed json in one click before querying, and all around intuitive to use.
What do you dislike?
I don't like if you are working and accidentaly swipe to the left it kicks you back to the login screen. Super annoying. Also, when i work in snowsight to share queries when I save it and try to share with someone else it's still blank.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
querying data for adhocs, build pipelines for visuals in Tableau or other products, and keep data organized, help with geospatial queries to identify lat/long within geometries
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Dig in and play around. Use the built in geospatial functions.


    Sanjit P.

Data Warehouse can't be better than this

  • June 16, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Excellent user interface and navigation features in the web portal.
- Easy to log in via SSO (Single Sign-On)
- Users can create unlimited worksheets and works are auto-saved for future use.
- Easy to run SQL queries just by highlighting the portion to execute.
- On the sidebar, we can find database objects like tables present in the dev/prod database.
- When executing complex queries, you can monitor running performance on each node.
- Another app version called Snowsight is available which also includes all features.
What do you dislike?
- Whenever you want to execute a query you have to select it before running.
- Once a worksheet is deleted it's hard to find it back.
- Not easy for fresh eyes. Requires learning or background knowledge before using it.
- It will be really good to have a one-liner description pop-up when we hover a mouse on any button in UI.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using Snowflake for collecting logs and stats data from customers cluster. For the development and testing I prefer to use dev version and for publishing final data we use Prod version and create tables to store/query on data. The SQL query also supports all operations which I use to filter the results and store the output on aws for sharing with team. Depending on the role of user, we can set their limitation to acces the prob db tables and data.


    Apparel & Fashion

The best technology choice we have made from long time

  • June 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity of use, performance
Almost compatible with every other tools : legacy or new Data tools
What do you dislike?
nothing, we haven't find, so fare, any limitation to the datacloud platform
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
One unique source of truth in the company for IT department and data departement, serving all the business needs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
From our point of view THE best cloud data platform


    Okan .

Review

  • June 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Cloud based database system which has a great interface to develop easily and fast
What do you dislike?
Cost of implementation and very low level or administration abilities
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Having one single source of db technology where we can manage the huge portion of data


    Shiv Dutt S.

Cloud based data warehousing tool with Analytics services

  • May 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Performance of the tool, you can perform complex logic calculations on huge volume of data very quickly. At any point of time, you can add/remove servers to increase the performance. Easy to learn and deployment of code.
What do you dislike?
We have not encountered any drawbacks so far with this tool. The only challenge that we see is direct connectivity with the sources. For example, to pull data from SAP, you need to use a replication tool.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are building a centralized database in our organization for reporting purposes. As of now, we have multiple systems which are not synched with each other. We are bringing data from all of them in snowflake then transforming data as per business need for reporting.


    Andrew S.

Maintain the database.

  • May 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like Snowflake makes data storage simple and convenient, as well as the ability to query data sets using SQL.
It also supports JSON and Avro for structured and semi-structured data.
You can use the SQL language to write queries.
What do you dislike?
I would like Snowflake to include the following features:
On the same table, there are many indexes.
PKS or indexed paper.
Snowflake's server and runtime components occasionally malfunction.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Snowflake is outstanding in its structure and flexibility, for an executable database in the analysis created for the cloud, it allows access to data warehouses from anywhere, it also integrates seamlessly with AWS and other cloud platforms.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend Snowflake enables automated infrastructure management, optimization, availability, data protection, and more so you can focus on using your data.


    Manzar A.

Snowflake Review

  • May 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
what I like most about Snowflake is there is no need to optimize and cluster tables it is done automatically in the most efficient way.
Also, it can be hosted on any database, and there is no need to install any dependent service to run snowflake
What do you dislike?
Two things that I think must be improved are:
1. Sometimes it's server or execution part is not working properly, generally, the issue likes on the Snowflake side.
2. There is no role of indexing or PKS here.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is a data warehousing solution.
It is used to extract, transform and load complex and huge datasets.
It helps in generating insights from the huge datasets which help in decision making.


    Peter C.

Unlike any other database

  • May 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The features which are utterly unique, like time travel, zero copy cloning and separate costs for storage and compute. Snowflake is especially controllable - I can create data warehouses for specific purposes and groups of users or processes, and determine when they're available - all on the basis that the cost relates to the value.
What do you dislike?
Snowflake is still new. There are some features which would be useful around metadata management for data analysts, and other functions which other databases have. But I'm sure these are on the roadmap and will come in time - probably sooner than I expect!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To become more customer centric, to improve the efficiency of business operations, and to make it easier to comply with regulations. All of these can be achieved more effectively, faster and at a cost that more directly reflects the benefits achieved, than with other databases I've come to know.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You must take a look at Snowflake. It represents a massive and significant step-change in what's otherwise been a very staid area of computing.


    Information Technology and Services

Data Warehousing

  • May 03, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the data governance and programming language support for python. We can easily create different schemas for different operations and create roles for users with specific access/permissions.
What do you dislike?
It doesn't support primary key constraints, so wherever we want to create a table with unique records we need to build a logic (query) in such a way that will only update the table with unique entries. I personally like the BI (snowsight) it is somewhat unappealing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am storing my app's data and data extracted from firebase into snowflake using Hevo and python. Python connector for snowflake gives us the flexibility to transform our data and load it on the snowflake. The python-support of Snowflake is very good in my experience.