GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

NFL 为何选择 AWS

“我们成功的关键因素之一是拥有伟大的合作伙伴,AWS 恰恰印证了这一点。我们喜欢与技术卓越、智慧超群的企业合作,而我们的合作伙伴 AWS 正是如此。” 

– Roger Goodell,NFL 总裁

“我们成功的关键因素之一是拥有伟大的合作伙伴,AWS 恰恰印证了这一点。我们喜欢与技术卓越、智慧超群的企业合作,而我们的合作伙伴 AWS 正是如此。” 

– Roger Goodell,NFL 总裁

如今,在云端进行的绝大多数机器学习 (ML) 都是在 AWS 上完成的,这就是为什么 AWS 是 NFL 通过复杂的分析和 ML 来利用其数据力量的最佳选择。NFL 利用 AWS ML 的强大功能创建新的统计数据、改善球员的健康和安全,为球迷、球员和球队实时创造更好的体验。

机器学习

NFL 使用机器学习和数据分析服务来提高其 Next Gen Stats 平台的准确性、速度,并改进其提供的见解。

快速访问

借助商业智能工具 Amazon QuickSight,NFL 能够获得更深入的见解,同时还为球迷、解说和体育评论提供了与数据互动的机会。

速度

使用 Amazon SageMaker 来构建、训练和运行这些预测模型,有助于将获得结果的时间从 12 小时缩短到 30 分钟。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

吸引球迷

NFL 在 AWS 上构建了几个新的统计数据,每个统计数据都依赖于不同的数据点。下面是一些示例。有关详细信息,请访问 nextgenstats.nfl.com

预期的跑动码数

NFL 与 AWS 合作举办了第二届年度体育分析大赛,即 2020 年大数据碗,以开发这一新的统计数据。 预期的跑动码数是为了根据进攻球员和防守球员的相对位置、速度和方向,显示运球球员在给定的运球过程中预计能获得的跑动码数。

预期的接球后码数

这一新的预测模型使用 Amazon SageMaker,利用跟踪数据根据多个因素输出预期的接球后码数,例如接球球员面前的开阔程度、球员的奔跑速度以及奔跑方向上防守球员的多寡。

路线分类

下一代统计数据有助于球迷以新的方式对传球比赛进行情境化再现,预测球员跑动路线的类型(直线加速、内冲或外折),并为球队的打法分配一个总比分,以便球迷能够研究全联盟趋势,从而对进攻策略有一个新的理解。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

以下是它的工作原理

GRAPHIC_1_05

捕获数据

通过将 RFID 标签放置在球员的肩垫和比赛用球上来捕获数据。超宽带宽接收器可跟踪球员和球的移动,准确到英寸。数据捕获和存储过程使用了 Amazon EC2、S3 和 EMR。

GRAPHIC_2_05

分析数据

然后将这些实时数据与传统个人技术/比赛详情数据相结合,可以计算 100 项以前从未捕获过的指标。这些指标将经过构建于 Amazon SageMaker 之上的机器学习模型的计算,输出预测、统计数据等。

GRAPHIC_3_05

分发结果

最后,NFL 利用 AWS Lambda、Amazon ElastiCache、Quicksight、RDS、Route S3、API 网关和 DynamoDB,将获得的见解、预测和统计数据运用到解说分析、球员物色和教练工具中。

NFL 球员跟踪系统也称为 Next Gen Stats,可获取每位球员以及赛场上每英寸的实时位置数据、速度和加速信息。遍布整个体育中心的传感器会跟踪安装在球员肩带上的标签,精确绘制个人的运动图形。通过放置在球员设备和橄榄球本身的 RFID 标签捕获数据。然后,将实时数据传输到安装在 NFL 体育场的接收器,它为 NFL 提供每场比赛中每名球员的数据。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

应用机器学习
应用到数据

通过利用 AWS 广泛的基于云的机器学习功能,NFL 将比赛数据的使用提升到了一个新的水平,让球迷、解说员、教练和球队可以从更深入的见解中受益。

Diagram-MOBILE_02
Diagram-DESKTOP_02

来自传统个人技术统计的训练数据,以及从体育场收集的数据,将在几秒钟内完成成百上千个过程的计算,结果输出输入到 Amazon SageMaker。之后,NGS 团队构建的机器学习模型将从中获取这些数据,不断对模型进行训练和改进。然后,在比赛过程中实时使用或推断机器学习模型,生成诸如阵型、路线和事件的输出。

GRAPHIC_thin-rule_02

“我们选择 AWS 是因为它结合了先进的云服务、强大的机器学习功能以及以我们所需规模的运营经验。通过使用 AWS 为 Next Gen Stats 提供支持,我们将能够以更具影响力和更有意义的内容开启[赛季],获得对美式橄榄球比赛前所未有的深入见解。”

– Matt SwenssonNFL 新兴产品和技术部门副总裁

“我们选择 AWS 是因为它结合了先进的云服务、强大的机器学习功能以及以我们所需规模的运营经验。通过使用 AWS 为 Next Gen Stats 提供支持,我们将能够以更具影响力和更有意义的内容开启[赛季],获得对美式橄榄球比赛前所未有的深入见解。”

– Matt SwenssonNFL 新兴产品和技术部门副总裁

GRAPHIC_thin-rule_02
GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

NFL 押注
机器学习

想要查看手册? 通过 NFL CIO Michelle R. McKenna 的介绍阅读有关 NFL 机器学习之旅的更多信息,聆听 Matt Swensson 的第一手资料,了解他的 Next Gen Stat 团队如何与 AWS Machine Learning 解决方案实验室合作构建、训练和在 Amazon SageMaker 上部署其机器学习模型。

eBook-02
NGS-football-graphic

了解其他企业如何利用 AWS 的力量实现业务转型。

FEATURED AWS SPORTS PARTNERSHIPS
GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

WHY THE NFL CHOOSES AWS

“One of the key components of our success is having great partners and AWS exemplifies that. We like to partner with smart people who have great skills and we have that in our partnership with AWS.” 

- Roger Goodell, NFL Commissioner

“One of the key components of our success is having great partners and AWS exemplifies that. We like to partner with smart people who have great skills and we have that in our partnership with AWS.” 

- Roger Goodell, NFL Commissioner

The vast majority of machine learning (ML) being done in the cloud today is being done on AWS which is why AWS is the best choice for the NFL to leverage the power of its data through sophisticated analytics and ML. The NFL uses the power of AWS ML to create new stats and improve player health and safety, creating a better experience for fans, players, and teams—all in real time.

Machine Learning

The NFL uses machine learning and data analytics services to boost the accuracy, speed, and insights provided by its Next Gen Stats platform.

Quick Access

Using the business intelligence tool Amazon QuickSight, the NFL is able to gain greater insight while also opening a window for fans, broadcasters, and editorial to engage with data.

Speed

Using Amazon SageMaker to build, train, and run predictive models helped reduce the time to get results from as much as 12 hours to 30 minutes.

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

ENGAGING THE FANS

The NFL has built several new stats on AWS, each of which relies on different data points. Here are just a few examples. To see more, visit nextgenstats.nfl.com

Expected Rushing Yards

The NFL partnered with AWS for its second annual sports analytics contest, the 2020 Big Data Bowl, to develop this new stat. Expected Rushing Yards is designed to show how many rushing yards a ball-carrier is expected to gain on a given carry based on the relative location, speed and direction of blockers and defenders.

Expected Yards After Catch

This new predictive model uses Amazon SageMaker to output the expected yards after catch, based on numerous factors using tracking data such as how open the receiver is, how fast they’re traveling, and how many defenders/blockers are in the space.

Route Classification

This next generation statistic helps fans contextualize the passing game in new ways, indicating what type of route the player executes – go, post, or out – and assigns an aggregate score of how teams play so fans can study league-wide trends to gain a new understanding of offensive strategy.

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

HERE'S HOW IT WORKS

GRAPHIC_1_05

Capture Data

Data is captured by placing RFID tags on player’s shoulder pads and the game ball. Ultra-wideband receivers track the players and ball movement down to the inch. The data collected leverages Amazon EC2, S3, and EMR in the capture and storage process.

GRAPHIC_2_05

Analyze It

Next, this real-time data is combined with traditional box score/play-by-play data to calculate 100’s of metrics never captured before. These metrics are run through machine learning models built on Amazon SageMaker to output predictions, stats and more.

GRAPHIC_3_05

Distribute Results

Finally, the NFL leverages AWS Lambda, Amazon ElastiCache, Quicksight, RDS, Route S3, API gateway, and DynamoDB to put the insights, predictions, and stats into broadcast analysis, scouting, and coaching tools.

NFL player tracking, also known as Next Gen Stats, is the capture of real-time location data, speed and acceleration for every player, every play on every inch of the field. Sensors throughout the stadium track tags placed on players' shoulder pads, charting individual movements within inches. Data is captured using RFID tags in player equipment and the football itself. Real-time data is then transmitted to receivers installed in NFL stadiums, which provides the NFL with data on every player for every play.

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

APPLYING MACHINE LEARNING
TO THE DATA

By leveraging AWS’s broad range of cloud-based machine learning capabilities, the NFL is taking its game-day stats to the next level so that fans, broadcasters, coaches, and teams can benefit from deeper insights.

Diagram-MOBILE_02
Diagram-DESKTOP_02

Training data from traditional box score statistics, as well as data collected from the stadium, will run through hundreds of processes within seconds with the output fed into Amazon Sagemaker. From there, machine learning models built by the NGS team ingest the data, which continually train and refine the models. The machine learning models are then deployed in real-time during games to generate outputs such as formations, routes, and events.

In the news

NFL TACKLES PLAYER HEALTH AND SAFETY

By combining the NFL's vast trove of football data and insights with AWS’s expertise in machine learning, AI, and cloud computing, the NFL is expanding its partnership with AWS beyond its Next Gen Stats fan experience, generating new insights into player injuries, game rules, equipment, rehabilitation, and recovery.

GRAPHIC_thin-rule_02

"We chose AWS because of its combination of advanced cloud offering, powerful machine learning capabilities, and experience operating at the scale we need. By powering Next Gen Stats with AWS, we’ll be able to kick off our [season] with even more impactful and meaningful content, uncovering deeper insights into the game of football than we’ve ever done before."

- Matt Swensson, Vice President, Emerging Products and Technology at the NFL

"We chose AWS because of its combination of advanced cloud offering, powerful machine learning capabilities, and experience operating at the scale we need. By powering Next Gen Stats with AWS, we’ll be able to kick off our [season] with even more impactful and meaningful content, uncovering deeper insights into the game of football than we’ve ever done before."

- Matt Swensson, Vice President, Emerging Products and Technology at the NFL

GRAPHIC_thin-rule_02
GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

GOING LONG ON MACHINE LEARNING
WITH THE NFL

Want to see the playbook? Read more about the NFL’s machine learning journey, with an introduction from NFL CIO Michelle R. McKenna—and hear from Matt Swensson firsthand how his Next Gen Stats team worked with the AWS Machine Learning Solutions Lab to build, train, and deploy their machine learning models on Amazon SageMaker.

eBook-02
NGS-football-graphic

Learn how other enterprises are transforming their business with the power of AWS.