AWS 体育合作伙伴页面
NFL 德甲联赛 六国锦标赛 F1
GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

改变
游戏规则

机器学习、人工智能和高性能计算正在推动下一轮的科技体育创新。赛队、联盟、广播公司和合作伙伴都在使用 AWS 来构建数据驱动的解决方案,帮助一级方程式赛车等组织重新设计赛车,帮助 NFL 球队训练球员,帮助 NBA 球队与球迷互动,如此等等。科技正在改变游戏规则。AWS 就是解决方案。

解锁数据的
潜能

数据虽然拥有推动变革的潜能,但经常会因各自为政、互不兼容的格式和存储解决方案而受到限制。了解全世界部分最大的体育比赛组织如何成功整合现有数据、使用 AI 技术提取新数据以及实时大规模分析数据,从而进一步提高效率,将新商业模式变现,以及如何将这些解决方案应用到任何行业。

吸引并
取悦球迷

客户的要求越来越高,企业不仅需要取悦客户,同时也需要能够赚钱,而机器学习可以帮助找到解决方案并生成满意的见解。体育比赛组织和他们的广播合作伙伴通过几乎实时的见解(例如 NFL Next Gen Stats、Six Nations Rugby、Clippers CourtVision 和 F1 Insights)来增强赛前、赛中和赛后的球迷体验。

加速
创新

跟上快速变化的世界的步伐要求不断进行重构,传统的模型往往太慢。体育比赛组织正在 AWS 云中进行创新,例如 F1 使用 AWS HPC 来提高赛车性能,西雅图海鹰队在构建改进的训练计划,许多球队和联盟在跟踪球员健康状况和表现,并扩展对客户数据的使用以更好地服务观众。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

让数据
说话

需要了解更多? 下面的一些案例介绍了 AWS 如何帮助客户和合作伙伴吸引球迷、训练球队以及转变体育比赛业务。

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

大学橄榄球季后赛

大学橄榄球季后赛 (CFP) 是美国收视率最高的现场体育赛事之一,它是一项一年一度的季后赛邀请赛,旨在争夺 NCAA 一级橄榄球全国冠军,这是大学橄榄球的最高水平。结合使用 Veritone 的 APN 合作伙伴技术与 Amazon Transcribe、Amazon Rekognition 和 Amazon S3 后,CFP 能够开发出更高级的媒体存档。通过使用这些技术,CFP 简化了获利和元数据工作流,降低了生产成本,并且最终让其媒体合作伙伴能够快速、轻松、全面地访问近乎实时的高价值内容。

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

DRAFTKINGS

DraftKings 拥有九百万参加其创新性体育技术和媒体娱乐平台上的梦幻每日体育竞赛的注册用户,它需要确保能够始终为最繁忙流量日做好准备,以便在公司内扩大敏捷采用并转变为面向微服务的架构。使用 New Relic 在 AWS 上运行的前端客户体验之后,DraftKings 为移动和 Web 应用内的用户快速部署了新功能、产品和参与技术。借助来自 Amazon EC2 和 Amazon RDS 的实时性能反馈,DraftKings 在确保可靠性、性能、可用性和可扩展性的同时,还能为用户提供持续价值。

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

FANATICS

Fanatics 通过在线商店和实体店向球迷提供成千上万种经官方授权的、正品专业大学运动商品。每年有超过 2.5 亿访客访问该公司的 300 多个网站,这就导致了海量的产品搜索和交易,进而产生了大量的数据。通过与 AWS 合作将其分析数据迁移至 Amazon S3,Fanatics 能够更快速地存储和检索任意数量的数据,最终通过更可靠、安全、经济高效和可扩展的云存储环境增强了其业务智能和分析能力。

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

FANDUEL

FanDuel 拥有一百万活跃付费用户,因此其梦幻体育平台基础设施必须’具有高度弹性,以应对每天的流量高峰。FanDuel 是一家位于英国的初创公司,自 2012 年起在 AWS 上运行其梦幻体育服务,使用的服务包括 Amazon S3、Amazon EC2 以及 Auto Scaling 和 Elastic Load Balancing 等,以确保实现无缝容量预置。此外,FanDuel 还因故障转移计划使用 Amazon RDS for Aurora 和 Amazon DynamoDB,以存储决赛分数之类的赛后信息。使用 AWS 后,FanDuel 的正常运行时间接近 100%,并且得益于 Auto Scaling,它们能够轻松应对大量游戏日流量。

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

FANTASYDRAFT

FantasyDraft 允许体育迷们在线上为大型体育赛事选拔运动员队伍,付费参加比赛,运动员们根据网站的得分规则获取梦幻积分。由于高峰流量时间集中在主要运动项目和比赛上,因此,网站可用性对于能否打造出色的客户体验至关重要。结合使用 Amazon EC2 实例和 Auto Scaling 后,FantasyDraft 可以通过调整网站流量来自动扩展服务器容量。迁移至 AWS 后,FantasyDraft 因 EC2 的低计算成本而降低了运营成本,将网站性能提高了 20%,并且减少了网站停机时间,从而降低了公司的用户流失率和财务风险。

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

FORMULA 1 系列

FORMULA 1 是国际汽联认可的最高级别的赛车运动,拥有最快、最先进的汽车。在每次比赛中,每辆赛车上的 120 个传感器将会生成 3 GB 数据,并且每秒会产生 1,500 多个数据点。F1 使用 Amazon SageMaker 来训练涵盖 65 年数据的深度学习模型,以向粉丝提供由 Amazon Kinesis 实时流式传输的团队和驾驶员做出的瞬间决策统计信息、预测和见解。此外,F1 还使用在 Amazon HPC 运行的计算流体动力学 (CFD),可以在虚拟环境中快速制作新车身设计的原型, 以用于 2021 赛季。

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

GOLDEN BOY PROMOTIONS

Golden Boy Promotions 是拳击界最活跃、最受推崇的承办者之一,由世界拳击冠军 Oscar De La Hoya 于 2002 年成立。该公司分散的资产管理和分配系统由内部硬盘和多个 FTP 帐户组成,而这无法满足数量不断增长的内容和现场录制节目的需求。通过结合使用 Veritone 的 APN 合作伙伴技术与 Amazon S3、Rekognition 和 Transcribe,Golden Boy 现在可以与广播合作伙伴可靠地共享素材,以便在宣传片中对肩部进行特写回放,并且可以对内容进行自动标记并更轻松地进行排序以及根据每场赛事更改布局。

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

GUINNESS SIX NATIONS

Guinness Six Nations 是一年一度为期六周的国际性橄榄球比赛,使用人工智能和机器学习技术以及预测分析来为球迷提供新的比赛见解。通过评估速度、过人、抢断、冲撞以及花在密集争球上的时间,Guinness Six Nations 可提供完整的密集争球分析。通过分析装备重量、球员经验和历史数据,Guinness Six Nations 可以预测并列争球获胜方,从而提高橄榄球球迷们对体育广播解说员的期望。

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

LA CLIPPERS COURTVISION / SECOND SPECTRUM

NBA 洛杉矶快船队通过其官方视频跟踪提供商 Second Spectrum 的构建于 AWS 上的技术,开发了一款被称为 Clippers CourtVision 的现场增强球迷体验。NBA 所有 29 个球馆中的摄像机都会收集和存储 3D 空间数据(包括球和球员的位置和动作),然后使用机器学习和高级分析来生成从篮球比赛的实时布局到逐帧投篮概率的图形叠置,使球迷们可以对球场上的动态有更深刻的理解和欣赏。

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

NASCAR

NASCAR 是美国最大的赛车组织,将其包含 70 年历史片段的18 PB 视频存档迁移到了 AWS,它可以使用 Amazon Rekognition 自动标记带有元数据(如驾驶员、汽车、比赛、圈数、时间和赞助商等)的视频帧,并且可使用 Amazon Transcribe 为解说中的每个词加上字幕和时间戳。这为 NASCAR 节省了数千个小时的手动标记和搜索视频存档时间,从而可以更轻松地向粉丝们展示 NASCAR 历史上最具标志性的时刻。NASCAR 随后使用 SageMaker 训练深度学习模型,以增强对元数据和视频的分析。 

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

NFL

通过其使用机器学习技术构建于 AWS 上的 Next Gen Stats (NGS) 程序,NFL 可提供突出展示比赛规模、速度和复杂性的高级统计信息。超宽带接收器使用 RFID 标签精确追踪球员和球的运动,并利用 Amazon EC2、S3 和 EMR 捕获和存储每场比赛中超过 3TB 的数据。将实时数据与传统的技术统计数据相结合,以计算数百种指标,并将预测结果和见解通过图形传递给在线、幕前、体育馆以及第二屏幕体验的球迷,而且还可以通过 API 传输给全球、分析公司、广播解说员和评论员。 

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

PFF

Pro Football Focus 于 2006 年在英国成立,现在的大股东为前 NFL 职业运动员 Cris Collinsworth,PFF 500 多人的团队使用复杂的数学和分析模型来分析职业橄榄球和大学橄榄球比赛。PFF 已开始实施使用 Amazon S3 和 AWS ElastiCache 的机器学习解决方案来进行规模管理,并且已于 2019 年 7 月将其整个技术和云堆栈迁移至 AWS。PFF 将使用 AWS 计算、存储、数据库、无服务器、分析和机器学习服务来提高运营效率,加快创新并更深入地分析比赛统计数据。借助 AWS,PFF 能够展示以往从未公之于众的指标,从而改变球队、球迷和媒体对橄榄球的体验方式。

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

SEATTLE SEAHAWKS

Seattle Seahawks 被认为是 NFL 中技术最先进的数据驱动型球队之一,它正在将其大部分基础设施迁移至 AWS,以利用计算、存储、数据库、分析和机器学习服务来更深入地分析其球员和竞争对手的数据,提高运营效率并加速创新。通过 Amazon S3 上的数据湖,可以将该团队 40 多年的统计数据与 NFL 数据、球员追踪、GPS 移动、球员的身体健康数据以及球探信息相结合,以提供更深入的可见性和更出色的见解,让教练能够更好地进行对位和实时调整,进而实现更多成功的达阵。

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01_MLB

美国职业棒球大联盟

MLB 长期以来都被认为是“美国最受欢迎的消遣方式”,它是一项采用高级统计技术的领先运动,该技术通常被称为“Sabermetrics”,是由统计学家 Bill James 创造,并通过书籍和电影《点球成金》中广为人知。 然而,经过 143 年通过手动流程跟踪统计数据之后,MLB 淘汰了这一费时的做法,它现在自动收集数据并将其存储在云中,以此解锁了前所未有的可能性。由 Amazon ML Solutions Lab 的数据科学家构建的 MLB Statcast 使用 Amazon SageMaker 来训练和部署深度神经网络,通过使用大量数据(包括运动员的速度和爆发力、捕手的弹出时间、投手的速度和用手习惯、滑出距离和比赛情况)实时预测能否盗垒成功;在击球手在踏上本垒时根据内场位置变化预测预期安打率变化;并根据深度学习模式识别清楚地展示新投手与击球手之间的对位情况。

关闭
Sports_Icon-Graphics_01_AUSswim

澳大利亚游泳协会

游泳是澳大利亚最成功的奥林匹克运动,也是澳大利亚最受欢迎的活动之一,每年都有超过 450 万人参与其中。参加游泳是澳大利亚标志性文化的基础组成部分,但它依赖政府资金支持,并且全球竞争也非常激烈。通过与 AWS 合作,该团队已使用机器学习模型来优化接力队员组成,以最大程度地提高在大型比赛中获得奖牌的机会。对于能够在吸引、支持和培养澳大利亚下一代精英游泳运动员方面发挥积极作用,AWS 感到非常自豪。通过此次合作,AWS 希望为澳大利大游泳协会提供支持,以增强这项运动的知名度和媒体报道水平,提高全国参与率并为提高澳大利亚国家游泳队的成绩做出贡献。

关闭

AI 可以为业务带来什么

了解如何立即在 AWS 上开始使用 AI 和 Machine Learning

新闻提要

AWS 和 Formula 1 宣布在 2020 年赛季提供新的赛车表现统计数据

在奥地利斯皮博格举行的 Grand Prix 赛季开幕式上将启用“赛车性能分数”,六个实时赛车统计数据的第一个数据将首次亮相于 7 月 3 日的周末。


NFL 与 AWS 合作主办首届虚拟 NFL 选秀大会

由于 COVID-19 疫情爆发,无法举办大量人群聚集的活动,NFL 今年将举办虚拟 NFL 选秀大会,依托 AWS 的技术提供无中断的体验。

Sports_Logo-Graphic_01_NFLDraft

NFL 实现球员的健康和安全

通过将 NFL 的丰富足球数据和见解与 AWS 在机器学习、人工智能和云计算方面的专业知识相结合,NFL 拓展了与 AWS 的合作伙伴关系,超越了其下一代统计数据的球迷体验,从而对球员伤病、比赛规则、装备、康复和恢复产生新的见解。


用数据重写行动手册

PFF 对橄榄球的分析要比地球上任何其他人都更深入细致。尽管公司拥有超过 500 人的团队,但单靠人力能够实现的结果总有局限。利用过去 14 个 NFL 赛季每场比赛的上亿数据点,并借助在 AWS 上使用 Amazon SageMaker 构建的机器学习模型,PFF 在分析和评价运动员方面走在了世界前列。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

借助 AI 推动
体育比赛的转变
 

体育行业使用 AI 技术推动四大重要转变。

  • 实时
  • 自动化
  • 预测
  • 动态
  • 实时
  • TAB_Rule_02

    从延时到实时

    手动采集和分析模拟数据意味着除了颜色以外,直播评论员没有更大用武之地。现在,球迷、转播人员和球队都能从传感器和摄像头的自动化数据采集受益,而高性能计算意味着使用机器学习模型构建的见解和分析(例如 F1 赛车选择冲坑的冲击力)可以实现近乎实时的处理和交付。

    了解 F1 如何实现 >
    TAB_F1_01
  • 自动化
  • TAB_Rule_02

    从手动到自动化

    将耗时、不可靠且单调的任务自动化,能够释放宝贵的资源。从预测门票销售或预测接住概率的机器学习模型,到 NASCAR 使用人工智能服务来检测对象并将语音转换为文本,从自动为媒体添加标签,人工智能让人类可以发挥自己最擅长的方面,即从事更有创造力和战略性的工作。

    了解 NASCAR 如何实现 >
    TAB_NASCAR_02
  • 预测
  • TAB_Rule_02

    从被动到预测

    过去,教练和球队必须持续不断地被动反应并改变策略,或者单纯根据直觉来预测比赛或行为,现在他们可以在比赛期间访问宝贵的预测性数据,让他们能够在比赛期间作出主动且明智的实时决策,例如 NFL 教练可以在球员体力耗尽前就撤换球员。

    了解 NFL 如何实现 >
    TAB_Football_02
  • 动态
  • TAB_Rule_02

    从静态到动态

    任何体育迷都会告诉你他们的运动不仅考验体力,也同样考验智力。通过视觉丰富的屏幕图形和交互性的第二屏幕体验让球迷看到数据和见解,体育比赛组织和广播公司可以剥开决策差异的后幕,丰富赛场内外的球迷体验,例如六国橄榄球赛会显示密集争球期间的实时见解。

    了解六国橄榄球赛如何实现 >
    TAB_Rugby_02
GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

资源

获得专业人士的帮助

AWS 专业服务是由专家组成的全球团队,可以帮助您在使用 AWS 云时实现预期业务成果

开始使用专业服务 >

与机器学习专家互动

Amazon ML Solutions Lab 将您的团队与我们的专家配对,为您的业务构建新的机器学习解决方案。

开始使用 ML Solutions Lab >

获得合适的机器学习合作伙伴

AWS 机器学习合作伙伴提供一系列咨询服务和技术,帮助您探索和构建正确的解决方案

寻找 AWS 合作伙伴 >

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

CHANGING
THE GAME

Machine learning, Artificial Intelligence, and high performance computing are ushering in the next wave of technical sports innovation. Teams, leagues, broadcasters, and partners are using AWS to build data-driven solutions, helping organizations like Formula 1 redesign their cars, NFL teams train their players, NBA teams connect with their fans, and so much more. Technology is changing the game. And AWS is how.

Unlocking Data's
Potential

Data’s transformative potential is often limited by fragmented and incompatible formats and storage solutions. Learn how some of the world’s largest sports organizations have successfully consolidated existing data, extracted new data using AI, and analyzed data in real time at scale to drive new efficiencies and monetize new business models, and how to apply these solutions to any industry.

Engaging and
Delighting Fans

Customers expect more than ever before, and machine learning can help surface solutions and generate insights that delight as businesses compete for share of both mind and wallet. Sports organizations and their broadcast partners enhance the fan experience before, during, and after games through near real-time insights like the NFL Next Gen Stats, Six Nations Rugby, Clippers CourtVision, and F1 Insights.

Increasing Pace of
Innovation

Keeping up in a quickly changing world means constant reinvention, and often conventional models are too slow. Sports organizations are innovating in the AWS Cloud, like F1 using AWS HPC to improve vehicle performance, the Seattle Seahawks building improved training initiatives, and teams and leagues tracking player health and performance and scaling their use of customer data to better serve their audiences.

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

THE DATA TELLS
THE STORY

Ready to see more? Here are just a few examples of how AWS is helping customers and partners engage their fans, train their teams, and transform the business of sports.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01_Bundesliga

BUNDESLIGA

As the football league with the highest stadium attendance globally, and broadcast in more than 200 countries, Germany’s Bundesliga is among the leaders of the world’s most popular sport. To increase fan engagement, Bundesliga is leveraging live data streams and historical data from over 10,000 games to build and train ML models in Amazon SageMaker for real-time predictions and additional insights. These models will be deployed as insights and graphics to show fans when a goal is likely to be scored, identify potential goal-scoring opportunities, and highlight how teams are positioning and controlling the field. The league is also working with AWS to deliver fans customized content and search results based on their location, favorite players, teams, and matches, and using Amazon Rekognition to analyze the largest digital football media archive in the world with more than 150,000 hours of video to easily search for historical footage.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

THE COLLEGE FOOTBALL PLAYOFF

One of the most-watched live sporting events in the US, the College Football Playoff (CFP) is an annual postseason invitational tournament to determine the NCAA Division 1 Football national champion, the highest level of college football. Using APN Partner technology from Veritone, along with use of Amazon Transcribe, Amazon Rekognition, and Amazon S3, CFP was able to develop a more advanced media archive. By implementing these technologies CFP is streamlining monetization and metadata workflows, reducing production costs, and ultimately providing their media partners with fast, easy, and comprehensive access to high-value content in near real time.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

DRAFTKINGS

With nine million registered users who participate in daily fantasy sports contests on its innovative sports-tech and media entertainment platform, DraftKings needed to ensure it was always ready for the busiest traffic days, expanding agile adoption across the company and moving to a micro-service oriented architecture. Using New Relic for its front-end customer experience run on AWS, DraftKings quickly deploys new features, products, and engagement techniques for users across mobile and web offerings. And with real-time performance feedback from Amazon EC2 and Amazon RDS, DraftKings delivers continuous value to its users while ensuring reliability, performance, availability, and scalability.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

FANATICS

Fanatics offers tens of thousands of authentic, officially licensed professional and college sports merchandise to fans through its online and brick and mortar stores. More than 250 million people visit the company’s 300-plus websites every year, creating a massive number of product searches and transactions that generate enormous amounts of data. Working with AWS to move its analytical data to Amazon S3, Fanatics were able to more quickly store and retrieve any amount of data, ultimately enhancing its business intelligence and analytics capabilities in a more reliable, secure, cost-effective and scalable cloud-storage environment.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

FANDUEL

With one million active paying users, FanDuel’s fantasy sports platform infrastructure has to be highly elastic to cope with significant daily traffic spikes. A startup based out of the UK, FanDuel has been running its fantasy sports service on AWS since 2012, using services like Amazon S3, Amazon EC2 with Auto Scaling and Elastic Load Balancing to ensure seamless capacity provision. FanDuel is also using Amazon RDS for Aurora due to their failover plans and Amazon DynamoDB to store post-game information such as final scores. Using AWS, FanDuel’s uptime is close to 100 percent, and thanks to Auto Scaling, they can accommodate an influx of game day traffic with ease.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

FANTASYDRAFT

FantasyDraft allows sports fans to draft teams of athletes in major sports online, paying to enter contests in which their athletes score fantasy points according to the site’s scoring rules. With peak traffic days and times focused around key sporting events and contests, website availability is vital creating a great customer experience. Using Amazon EC2 instances and Auto Scaling, FantasyDraft can automatically scale server capacity with fluctuating site traffic. Since moving to AWS, FantasyDraft has reduced operating costs due to low compute costs of EC2, increased website performance 20%, and decreased website downtime, reducing user churn and financial risk for the company.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

FORMULA 1 SERIES

FORMULA 1 is the highest class of automobile racing sanctioned by the FIA, with the fastest and most advanced cars. During each race, 120 sensors on each car generate 3 GB of data with more than 1,500 data points being created each second. F1 uses Amazon SageMaker to train deep-learning models with 65 years of data to provide fans with statistics, predictions, and insights into the split-second decisions made by teams and drivers streamed real-time through Amazon Kinesis. Additionally, F1 is using Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) run on Amazon HPC for rapid prototyping new body designs in a virtual environment for use in the 2021 season.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

GOLDEN BOY PROMOTIONS

Golden Boy Promotions, one of boxing's most active and respected promoters, was founded in 2002 by world boxing champion Oscar De La Hoya. The company’s fragmented asset management and distribution system made up of internal hard drives and various FTP accounts couldn’t keep up with the growing volume of content and live studio shows. Working with APN Partner technology from Veritone and using Amazon S3, Rekognition, and Transcribe, Golden Boy can now share material reliably with broadcast partners for re-air and shoulder programming for promotional pieces, with the scale to auto-tag and more easily sort content and change layouts specific to each fight event.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

GUINNESS SIX NATIONS

Guinness Six Nations, an annual international six-week rugby tournament, uses AI and Machine Learning technology and predictive analytics to provide fans with new insights into the game. By measuring speed, cleanouts, steals, infringements, and time spent in the ruck Guinness Six Nations will provide a full ruck analysis. And through the analysis of pack weights, player experience, and historical data Guinness Six Nations can predict the success of a scrum—raising the bar for what rugby fans around the world expect from their sports broadcasters.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

LA CLIPPERS COURTVISION / SECOND SPECTRUM

The NBA’s LA Clippers, through technology built on AWS from their official video tracking provider Second Spectrum, developed a live, augmented fan experience called Clippers CourtVision. Cameras in all 29 NBA arenas collect and store 3D spatial data including ball and player locations and movements, and then use ML and advanced analytics to generate graphic overlays ranging from live layouts of basketball plays to frame-by-frame shot probabilities, giving fans a deeper understanding and appreciation for what happens on the court.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

NASCAR

NASCAR, the largest stock car racing organization in the US, migrated its 18-petabyte video archive containing 70 years of historical footage to AWS, and can use Amazon Rekognition to auto-tag video frames with metadata, such as driver, car, race, lap, time, and sponsors, and Amazon Transcribe to caption and time stamp every word within speech. This saves NASCAR thousands of hours of manual tagging and searching their video archives to present fans with the most iconic moments in NASCAR history. NASCAR will then use SageMaker to train deep learning models to enhance metadata and video analytics. 

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01_NFL

NFL

Through its Next Gen Stats (NGS) program built on AWS using machine learning technology, the NFL offers advanced stats that highlight the scale, speed, and complexity of the game. Ultra-wideband receivers track the players and ball movement down to the inch using RFID tags, capturing and storing over 3TB of data each game leveraging Amazon EC2, S3, and EMR. Real-time data is combined with traditional box score data to calculate hundreds of metrics and output predictions and insights delivered through graphics to fans online, onscreen, in stadium, and in second screen experiences, and as APIs to teams, analytics companies, broadcasters, and commentators. 

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

PFF

Founded in 2006 in the UK as Pro Football Focus and now majority owned by former NFL pro Cris Collinsworth, PFF’s team of over 500 analyzes pro and college football using sophisticated mathematics and analytics models. PFF began implementing machine learning solutions with Amazon S3 and AWS ElastiCache to manage scale, having migrated its entire technology and cloud stack to AWS in July 2019. PFF will use AWS compute, storage, database, serverless, analytics and machine learning services to improve operational efficiency, innovate at a faster pace and drive deeper meaning from game statistical data. AWS will enable PFF to uncover never-before-seen metrics that will change the way that teams, fans, and the media experience football.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01

SEATTLE SEAHAWKS

Considered one of the most tech progressive and data-driven teams in the NFL, the Seattle Seahawks are moving the vast majority of their infrastructure to AWS, leveraging compute, storage, database, analytics, and ML services to drive deep analysis of their players and competitors’ data, improve operational efficiencies, and speed innovation. A data lake on Amazon S3 will combine the team’s 40-plus years of stats with NFL data, player tracking, GPS movement, player health and wellness data, and scouting information for deeper visibility and greater insights enabling coaches to make better matchups and real-time adjustments that will lead to more successful drives and touchdowns.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01_SecondSpectrum

SECOND SPECTRUM

Second Spectrum is the Official Optical Tracking and Analytics Provider of sports leagues such as the National Basketball Association (NBA) and the English Premier League. Second Spectrum uses AWS to help sports leagues and their media partners deliver analytics, visualizations, and easily searchable video clips to enhance the fan experience and provide teams with deeper competitive insights. Second Spectrum uses AWS Elemental to minimize latency in its streaming services while offering fans a high-quality viewing experience, and AWS Elemental MediaStore, a storage service optimized for media, to allow television producers and sports commentators to quickly access key moments from sports events.

Sports_Icon-Graphics_01_AUSswim

SWIMMING AUSTRALIA

Swimming is Australia’s most successful Olympic sport and one of the most popular activities in the country with more than 4.5 million people participating annually. Participation in swimming is a fundamental component of Australia’s iconic culture however it relies on government funding and global competition is fierce. Working with AWS, the team has used machine learning models to optimize relay formations, to give the best chance of winning medals at key competitions. AWS is proud to play a role in engaging, supporting and developing the next generation of recreational and elite Australian swimmers. Through this partnership, AWS hopes to support Swimming Australia to increase the sport’s profile and level of media coverage, grow national participation rates and contribute to improved performance outcomes of the Australian national swim team.

WHAT AI CAN DO FOR YOUR BUSINESS

See how you can get started today with AI and Machine Learning on AWS

In the news

JOIN THE AWS DeepRacer SPECIAL EVENT AND RACE FORMULA 1 PROS

Now you can compete for the opportunity to race against DeepRacer models built and tuned by Formula 1 drivers and their crews.

Sports_Social-Graphics_DeepRacer-F1

THE NFL PARTNERED WITH AWS TO HOST THE FIRST EVER VIRTUAL NFL DRAFT

Because of COVID-19 and the inability to host largely populated events, the NFL is holding a virtual NFL Draft this year and relying on AWS for a disruption-free experience.

Sports_Logo-Graphic_01_NFLDraft

NFL TRANSFORMS PLAYER HEALTH
AND SAFETY

By combining the NFL's vast trove of football data and insights with AWS’s expertise in machine learning, AI, and cloud computing, the NFL is expanding its partnership with AWS beyond its Next Gen Stats fan experience, generating new insights into player injuries, game rules, equipment, rehabilitation, and recovery.


REWRITING THE PLAYBOOK WITH DATA

PFF analyzes football in more detail than anyone else on the planet. And despite a team of over 500, there are limitations on what can be accomplished by just humans alone. By leveraging millions of data points from every game over the last 14 NFL seasons, and using ML models built on Amazon SageMaker on AWS, PFF is leading the way in how players are analyzed and evaluated.

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

EVOLVING SPORTS
WITH AI
 

The sports industry’s use of AI technologies are driving four major shifts.

  • real-time
  • AUTOMATION
  • PREDICTION
  • DYNAMIC
  • real-time
  • TAB_Rule_02

    Delayed to real-time

    Analogue data collected and analyzed by hand meant that live commentators provided color, and not much else. Now, fans, on-air talent, and teams benefit from automated data collection through sensors and cameras, and high performance computing means insights and analysis built using machine learning models—like the impact of an F1 car choosing to pit—can be processed and delivered in near real-time.

    See how F1 does it >
    TAB_F1_01
  • AUTOMATION
  • TAB_Rule_02

    Manual to automatic

    Automating time-consuming, unreliable, and mundane tasks frees up valuable resources. From ML models that forecast ticket sales or predicting the probability of a catch, to NASCAR using AI services to automatically tag media by detecting objects and translating speech to text, AI is allowing humans to do what they do best—more creative and strategic work.

    See how NASCAR does it >
    TAB_NASCAR_02
  • PREDICTION
  • TAB_Rule_02

    Reactive to predictive

    Coaches and teams forced to constantly react and change strategy, or to anticipate a play or action based on pure intuition, now have access to a treasure trove of predictive data during a match, game, or race, giving them the ability to make proactive and informed real-time decisions during a game—like an NFL coach pulling a player right before they run out of steam.

    See how NFL does it >
    TAB_Football_02
  • DYNAMIC
  • TAB_Rule_02

    Static to dynamic

    Any sports fan will tell you that their sport is as much a mental game as it is physical. By giving fans access to data and insights through visually rich on-screen graphics and interactive second screen experiences, sports organizations and broadcasters can peel back the curtain on the nuance of decision making, enriching fan experiences both inside and outside the stadium—like Six Nations Rugby showing real-time insights during a ruck.

    See how Guinness Six Nations does it >
    TAB_Rugby_02
GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

RESOURCES

Get Help From the Pros

AWS Professional Services is a global team of experts that can help you realize your desired business outcomes using the AWS Cloud

Get started with Professional Services >

Engage with ML Experts

The Amazon ML Solutions Lab pairs your team with our experts to build new machine learning solutions for your business.

Get started with the ML Solutions Lab >

Get the Right ML Partner

AWS machine learning partners offer a range of consulting services and technologies to help you explore and build the right solutions

Find an AWS Partner >