AWS 云服务的全球覆盖范围、安全性、高性能、低延迟、系统稳定性和出色的大数据处理功能将艾维邑动从管理服务器等耗时的工作当中解脱出来,让艾维邑动能够在应用程序开发和创新方面投入更多时间和精力,成为跨设备广告领域的全球领导者。 
张志辉 艾维邑动 IT 运营经理

艾维邑动是一家致力于 PC 和移动互联网广告全球投放,通过程序化广告技术进行效果营销的的技术型公司。公司于 2009 年在文莱成立,同年建立上海总部。经过多年坚持不懈的努力,艾维邑动目前在北京、上海、西安、阿姆斯特丹、柏林、香港等地设有办公室,并计划未来在纽约、首尔和伦敦等其他地区设立分部,完成全球市场战略布局。旗下包括 Avazu APX、Avazu aNative 和 Avazu DSP 三大广告平台。随着 DotC United Group 在今年 7 月份完成总额 3.5 亿美元的 B 轮融资,艾维邑动也正式成为 DotC United Group 的全资子公司。

DotC United Group 致力于通过设计和创建互联网平台来解决业务全球化带来的复杂问题。旗下主要业务平台包括:艾维邑动广告平台、DotC App 应用程序矩阵和 Noogenesis 数据 BI 平台,前两个平台在 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 上运行。

艾维邑动作为程序化广告的先行者,为广告客户提供一站式效果营销解决方案(即按效果付费),也为开发人员和发布商提供完善的变现服务。艾维邑动广告平台每天要处理 200 亿次以上展示,并且要通过预测引擎来计算每秒 100 万次以上展示的价值。其系统面临着大流量、高并发和客户地理位置分散的多重挑战,因此对系统的稳定性、安全性和可用性有较高的要求。

低延迟全球访问

艾维邑动拥有超过 1000 家客户,覆盖 200 个国家/地区。许多客户也在使用 AWS。为了提升用户的访问速度、增强用户体验,艾维邑动使用 Amazon Route 53 这种可用性高、可扩展性强的云域名系统 (DNS) Web 服务。这是一种通过全局低延迟 DNS 服务器网络来处理 DNS 查询的方法,速度快、易于使用并且经济高效。借助 Route 53,域查询被自动路由到最近的 DNS 服务器,以便更快地响应最终用户请求并将请求更有效地路由到低延迟 AWS 可用区。

另外,艾维邑动的广告数据缓存在 Amazon ElastiCache 的 Redis 中,并最终存储在 Amazon Aurora 数据库内,以便增强用户体验并降低系统延迟。其他广告平台的资源也会定期更新到 Aurora 数据库内。Amazon ElastiCache 是一项 Web 服务,让艾维邑动能够在云中轻松部署、运行和扩展内存数据存储或缓存。用户能够从快速安全的托管内存数据存储中检索信息,而无需依赖基于磁盘并且速度较慢的数据库,从而提高了 Web 应用程序的性能。

数十亿的点击量也会产生大量实时数据,这需要服务器具有出色的数据处理能力。Amazon Aurora 可以轻松解决这一问题,它是一种与 MySQL 和 PostgreSQL 兼容的关系数据库,专为云而打造,既具有高端商用数据库的性能和可用性,又具有开源数据库的简单性和成本效益。Aurora 的速度最高可以达到标准 MySQL 数据库的五倍、标准 PostgreSQL 数据库的三倍。

系统稳定,每天展示 200 亿次广告

艾维邑动广告平台主要分为三大模块:合作媒体接入模块、点击数据追踪模块和广告转化率计算模块。合作媒体接入模块为媒体平台提供广告 API。广告竞价完成后,服务器会通过此接口将广告内容推送到媒体平台。点击数据追踪模块负责记录并追踪合作媒体平台上的用户点击。而广告转化率计算模块为广告客户提供一个回发 API,以便对广告效果进行统计分析。

艾维邑动的所有业务均面向国际并与数十家优质广告交易平台集成,例如 Google、Facebook 和百度等,覆盖全球 85% 的互联网用户。这意味着该公司必须能够处理大量的流量和并发访问,系统的稳定性将承受巨大挑战。因此,艾维邑动针对所有三个广告平台模块方面都使用了 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 集群,并使用 Auto Scaling 在流量高峰期自动增加 Amazon EC2 实例的数量来维持性能,并在流量较低时自动减少服务器容量来降低成本。这种动态扩展保证了其广告平台的稳定性。

快速高效的大数据分析

合作伙伴平台上的数十亿用户点击会产生大量的实时数据。这些数据对广告客户具有非常高的商业价值,因此需要快速、高效、准确地对其进行分析。艾维邑动使用 Amazon KinesisAmazon Kinesis Firehose 将数据缓存在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)中,然后再导入 Amazon Redshift 数据仓库。这样,艾维邑动的客户(即广告客户/媒体公司)只需要使用标准 SQL 和现有的 BI 工具就可以经济高效地分析所有数据。此外,借助 Amazon Redshift,艾维邑动还能够分析各种流量效果数据,识别虚假流量并进行比较,然后针对每个广告位进行预测和优化,(实时)计算出合理的价格。这既保证了高竞价胜出率,又能最大限度地实现客户的优化目标。

覆盖全球

AWS 可用区的覆盖范围之非常广,这也是艾维邑动在 AWS 平台上运营广告业务的原因之一。截止到 2017 年 12 月 20 日,AWS 云在全球 18 个地理区域内运营着 49 个可用区,并宣布计划增加 12 个可用区,同时再增加巴林、中国香港特别行政区、瑞典和美国第二个 AWS GovCloud 区域。

图 1 展示了艾维邑动广告平台的系统架构。所采用的 AWS 云服务包括 Amazon EC2、Auto Scaling、Amazon CloudWatchAWS Key Management Service、Amazon Route 53、Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS)、ElastiCache、Amazon S3、Aurora、Amazon Redshift 以及 Kinesis Firehose 等。

Avazu-arch-diag1

图1:艾维邑动在 AWS 上的系统架构

艾维邑动的母公司 DotC United Group 的应用程序矩阵也采用了 AWS 服务。例如,DotC 应用程序矩阵近期在新加坡区域部署的一个相册应用 Vera Photo,就使用了 Amazon CognitoAmazon Rekognition

借助 Amazon Cognito,DotC 应用程序矩阵开发人员能够为移动应用程序添加用户注册和登录功能,并通过 Facebook、Twitter、Amazon 或其他社交媒体账户或者应用程序本身的登录系统对用户进行身份验证。此外,Amazon Cognito 还支持将数据保存至本用户设备,因此即使在离线环境中也能使用应用程序。该服务还支持在多个用户设备之间同步数据。借助这些功能,无论用户使用什么设备,DotC 应用程序矩阵都能提供流畅的用户体验。

Amazon Rekognition 可以将图像分析功能添加到应用程序中。具体来说,Amazon Rekognition 可以识别对象、场景、名人和不当内容,还可以识别、搜索和比较面孔。借助相应的 API,DotC 应用程序矩阵开发人员能够快速为应用程序添加基于深度学习的复杂视觉搜索和图像分析功能。

图 2 展示了 DotC 应用程序矩阵的中一个相册应用程序的系统架构。所采用的 AWS 云服务包括 CloudWatch、Amazon Cognito、Amazon EC2、ElastiCache、AWS KMS、Amazon SNS、Amazon S3、Rekognition 以及 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 等。

Avazu-arch-diag2

图 2:AWS 上的相册应用程序系统架构

AWS 为艾维邑动带来的优势主要体现在高系统稳定性、低延迟、高效大数据分析和流畅的用户体验几方面。

首先,在使用 AWS 云服务之前,艾维邑动广告平台基于混合云模式搭建,使用的是在海外租用的物理服务器。服务器经常出现系统不稳定、硬件故障和系统延迟等问题。而接入 AWS 平台后,艾维邑动广告平台变得非常稳定,再没有出现任何问题。

其次,Amazon EC2 集群、Auto Scaling、Route 53 和 ElastiCache 等服务有力地促进了广告平台的全球部署,并将用户访问延迟控制在 200 毫秒以内。低延迟、响应速度快以及快速高效的大数据挖掘和分析能力,使得艾维邑动广告平台能够为客户提供出色的用户体验。

最后,AWS 通过解耦的方式大幅度提升了 DotC 应用程序的开发效率。AWS 至今已帮助 DotC 应用程序矩阵开发出 200 多个应用程序,服务于全球超过二十亿活跃用户。

艾维邑动作为一款优秀的移动程序化广告平台,对一站式采购百亿级全球广告展示有着极高的要求。第一项要求是实现精准投放和多维度定向;第二是对不同维度的定向选择都可以通过一键点击来实现,并自动化优化;第三是为全球客户提供透明而准确的流量和数据;第四是通过机器学习引擎来识别虚假流量。

要同时做到以上这四点,艾维邑动不仅需要一个覆盖全球广、稳定并且高效的服务平台,还需要对平台上 10000 多个注册账户的历史数据进行实时计算和分析。对于反作弊流量引擎和竞价优化引擎来说,分析和优化每次竞价产生的大量数据的关键,在于具有出色数据处理能力的服务器。AWS 完全满足这些需求,同时还提供个性化配置,让艾维邑动可以根据需求选择不同的处理器类型或升级磁盘和内存的配置,这也极大降低了服务器的成本。

要了解有关 AWS 如何为在线数字营销业务提供解决方案的更多信息,请访问 https://aws.amazon.com/digital-marketing/

AWS cloud services’ worldwide coverage, security, high performance, low latency, system stability, and outstanding big data processing capabilities relieved Avazu from time-consuming works like server management. They allowed Avazu to invest more time and energy into application development and innovation, helping Avazu to become a global leader in cross-device advertising 
Zhang Zhihui Avazu IT Operations Manager

Avazu is a technology-driven company dedicated to worldwide distribution of PC and mobile internet advertising and to performance marketing through programmatic advertising technologies. It was incorporated in Brunei in 2009, and established its headquarters in Shanghai in the same year. Unremitting efforts over the years have enabled the company to set up offices in Beijing, Shanghai, Xi’an, Amsterdam, Berlin, and Hong Kong, with additional branches being planned for New York, Seoul, and London to further solidify its global market position. Its three major Advertising Platforms are Avazu APX, Avazu aNative and Avazu DSP. With the completion of a $350 million Series B funding round by DotC United Group in July this year, Avazu also officially became a wholly-owned subsidiary of DotC United Group.

DotC United Group works to solve complex issues arising from business globalization by designing and creating Internet platforms. Its main business platforms are the Avazu Advertising Platforms, DotC apps matrix, and Noogenesis data BI platform, with the former two being run on Amazon Web Services.

As the forerunner of programmatic advertising, Avazu provides advertisers a one-stop performance marketing solution (i.e., result-based payment), and offers developers and publishers a full range of monetization services. Avazu Advertising Platforms process more than 20 billion impressions per day and calculate the value of more than 1 million impressions per second (QPS) with their prediction engines. Their systems face such challenges as high traffic, high concurrency, and geographically dispersed customer base, demanding high levels of system stability, security, and availability.

Low-Latency Global Access

Avazu has more than 1,000 customers in 200 countries. Many of its customers also use AWS. To improve access time and thus the user experience, Avazu uses Amazon Route 53 – a highly available and scalable cloud Domain Name System (DNS) web service. It is a fast, easy-to-use, and cost-effective way to handle DNS queries through a global, low-latency network of DNS servers. With Route 53, domain queries are automatically routed to the nearest DNS server for faster responses and more efficient routing of end user requests to lower-latency AWS Availability Zones.

In addition, Avazu’s advertising data are cached in Redis on Amazon ElastiCache and ultimately stored in Amazon Aurora databases to enhance user experience and reduce system latency. Inventories from other advertising platforms are also regularly updated to Aurora databases. Amazon ElastiCache is a web service that enables Avazu to easily deploy, operate and scale in-memory data storage or cache on the cloud. It enables users to retrieve information from the fast and secure managed in-memory data stores without relying on slower, disk-based databases, thereby improving the performance of web applications.

Billions of clicks also create massive amounts of real-time data, requiring outstanding processing capabilities from servers. This challenge is readily addressed by Amazon Aurora, which is a MySQL- and PostgreSQL-compatible relational database purpose-built for the cloud that combines the performance and availability of high-end commercial databases with the simplicity and cost-effectiveness of open source databases. Aurora is up to five times faster than standard MySQL databases and three times faster than standard PostgreSQL databases.

Stable systems delivering 20 billion daily impressions

The Avazu Advertising Platforms are broadly divided into three modules: partnership media access module, click data tracking module, and conversion rate calculation module. The partnership media access module provides media platforms with the Ads API. After advertising auctions, the server pushes advertising content to the media platforms via this interface. The click data tracking module is responsible for recording and tracking user clicks on partnership media’s platforms. Lastly, the conversion rate calculation module provides advertisers with a Postback API to facilitate statistical analysis on advertising performance.

All of Avazu’s business is international, and the company is integrated with dozens of premier advertising exchanges – including Google, Facebook, and Baidu – to cover 85% of the world’s internet users. This means that the company must be able to handle high volume of traffic and concurrent access, which would test system stability to the limit. This is why Avazu have chosen Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) cluster for all three of its advertising platform modules, and uses Auto Scaling to automatically increase the number of Amazon EC2 instances during peak traffic to maintain performance, and to automatically reduce server capacity during times of lower traffic to reduce costs. This dynamic scaling ensures the stability of their advertising platforms.

Fast and Efficient Big Data Analysis

Billions of user clicks on ads on partner platforms generate a large amount of real-time data. Because these data have high commercial value to advertisers, they need to be analyzed quickly, efficiently, and accurately. Avazu uses Amazon Kinesis and Amazon Kinesis Firehose to cache data in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) before importing them into Amazon Redshift data warehouses. With this setup, Avazu customers (i.e., advertisers/media companies) can analyze all their data using only standard SQL and existing BI tools, making the process highly cost-effective. Furthermore, with Amazon Redshift, Avazu can examine various traffic performance data to identify fraudulent traffic and make comparisons, and then predict, optimize, and (in real-time) calculate a reasonable price for each advertising slot. This not only ensures a high rate of successful auctions, but also achieves customer optimization goals to the maximum extent.

Global Coverage

The wide coverage of AWS Availability Zones is one factor that prompted Avazu to operate its advertising business on the AWS platform. By 20th December 2017, The AWS Cloud operates 49 Availability Zones within 18 geographic Regions around the world, with announced plans for 12 more Availability Zones and four more Regions in Bahrain,Hong Kong SAR, Sweden, and a second AWS GovCloud Region in the US.

Figure 1 illustrates the system architecture of Avazu Advertising Platforms. AWS cloud services used include Amazon EC2, Auto Scaling, Amazon CloudWatch, AWS Key Management Service, Amazon Route 53, Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS), ElastiCache, Amazon S3, Aurora, Amazon Redshift, and Kinesis Firehose,etc.

Avazu-arch-diag1

Figure 1: Avazu System Architecture on AWS

DotC United Group, the parent company of Avazu, also uses AWS for its apps matrix. For example, DotC apps matrix recently deployed a photo album app, Vera Photo, in the Singapore Region, which uses Amazon Cognito and Amazon Rekognition.

Amazon Cognito gives DotC apps matrix developers the ability to add user registration and login feature to their mobile apps, and to authenticate users with Facebook, Twitter, Amazon or other social media accounts or through the apps’ own login system. In addition, Amazon Cognito allows data to be saved locally to user devices, so that apps can be used even in an offline environment. The service also makes it possible for multiple user devices to synchronize their data. Because of these features, DotC apps matrix can guarantee a smooth user experience no matter what device is being used.

Amazon Rekognition adds image analysis function to apps. Specifically, Amazon Rekognition can recognize objects, scenes, and identify celebrities and inappropriate content. It can also recognize, search, and compare faces. With the corresponding API, DotC apps matrix developers can quickly add deep learning-based complex visual search and image analysis functions to their applications.

Figure 2 illustrates the system architecture of a photo album app from the DotC apps matrix. AWS cloud services used include CloudWatch, Amazon Cognito, Amazon EC2, ElastiCache, AWS KMS, Amazon SNS, Amazon S3, Rekognition, and Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS).

Avazu-arch-diag2

Figure 2: Album App System Architecture on AWS

The main benefits Avazu has gained from AWS are high system stability, low latency, efficient big data analysis, and a smooth user experience.

First, before using AWS cloud services, Avazu Advertising Platforms were built on a hybrid cloud model that used rented physical servers in overseas regions. The servers often suffered from system instability, hardware failure, and system delays. After connecting to the AWS platform, Avazu Advertising Platforms became very stable and have encountered zero issues.

Second, services such as Amazon EC2 clusters, Auto Scaling, Route 53, and ElastiCache have contributed considerably to the global deployment of advertising platforms and helped lower user access delay to within 200 milliseconds. Low latency, fast response time, as well as fast and efficient big data mining and analysis allow Avazu Advertising Platforms to deliver a superior user experience to customers.

Finally, AWS uses decoupling to greatly enhance the speed of developing DotC apps. AWS has so far helped DotC apps matrix develop more than 200 apps which serve more than two billion daily users worldwide.

As a premier mobile programmatic advertising platform, Avazu has strict requirements for its one-stop shopping of tens of billions of global impressions. The first of such requirements is precise delivery and multi-dimensional targeting. The second is that target selection under any dimension can be achieved with a single mouse click and automatically optimized. The third is to provide worldwide customers with transparent and accurate traffic and data. And the fourth is to identify fraudulent traffic through a machine-learning engine.

To meet these four requirements at the same time, Avazu needs not only a global, stable and efficient service platform, but also real-time calculation and analysis of the historical data of more than 10,000 registered accounts on the platform. A server with outstanding data processing capabilities is crucial for the anti-cheat traffic engine and auction optimization engine to analyze and optimize the large amount of data produced by each auction. AWS fully met these requirements, while also providing personalized configurations whereby Avazu can choose different processor types according to its needs or upgrade hard drive and memory configuration, all while greatly reducing server costs.

To learn more about how AWS provides solutions for online digital marketing businesses, please visit https://aws.amazon.com/digital-marketing/