FICO 使用 AWS 来加快创新、降低成本并拓展全球覆盖发范围

fico

速度和创新是 FICO 的根本。作为预测分析和决策管理软件公司,FICO 为 95% 的美国大型金融机构提供受欢迎的信用评分服务和其他分析软件及工具。为了保持行业领先地位,它必须为客户提供能够快速部署的尖端解决方案。

然而,多年以来,FICO 在快速开发和部署其解决方案方面一直欠缺灵活性,例如其旗舰产品 FICO 决策管理套件 (DMS)。DMS 通过预测分析、业务规则管理和优化帮助客户推动业务转型。FICO 产品开发副总裁 Joshua Prismon 说:“长期以来,我们一直是一家提供本地环境的软件公司,有时需要数年时间才能为客户创建和提供解决方案。我们需要帮助客户加快产品上市速度,我们希望将精力放在实施软件上,而不是等待客户的 IT 组织为我们的解决方案预置和构建底层基础设施。”

为了解决这一问题并获取更多创新机会,FICO 决定将 DMS 和其他解决方案迁移到云。FICO 工程副总裁 Jeet Kaul 表示:“我们希望更具前瞻性,为市场带来更多创新,这让我们意识到我们需要整体迁到云。”然而,在选择云提供商之前,FICO 希望确保公司仍然能够提供强大的安全性,并且仍然符合支付卡行业 (PCI)、通用数据保护法规 (GDPR) 和其他法规的要求。Prismon 说:“在金融服务行业开展业务有很多要求,因此,合规性始终是我们制定云计算决策的首要考虑因素。”

“由于 AWS Lambda 会自动进行预置,因此我们可以完全激发开发人员的创新潜力。”

Jeet Kaul,FICO 工程副总裁

  • 关于 FICO
  • 优势
  • 使用的 AWS 服务
  • 关于 FICO
  • FICO 是一家预测分析和决策管理公司,为金融机构提供领先的消费者信用评分服务,以帮助他们决定是否要向客户贷款或发放信贷。FICO 为美国 95% 的大型金融机构提供分析软件和工具。

  • 优势
    • 为开发人员提供创新机会
    • 在一天而不是几周内交付软件服务
    • 确保合规性
    • 降低成本
  • 使用的 AWS 服务

迁移到无服务器 AWS 架构

FICO 之所以选择 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 作为其云提供商,部分原因在于 AWS 中集成的安全功能。Kaul 表示:“我们需要一家在金融服务及其合规性要求方面有所投入的公司,而 AWS 在竞争中处于领先地位。” 此外,FICO 对 AWS Lambda 也很感兴趣。AWS Lambda 可以提供无服务器计算功能,让客户无需预置或管理服务器即可运行代码。Prismon 说:“我们需要无服务器功能,以便我们的开发人员可以腾出更多时间创建特性和功能。AWS Lambda 是一个完美的解决方案,它可以预置计算资源,开发人员无需输入代码。这有助于我们把精力集中在应用上。”

该公司将 DMS 和面向客户的 myFICO.com 网站迁移到了 AWS,在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上运行,并依赖 AWS Lambda 进行无服务器计算。“我们的 DMS 核心业务逻辑全部在 AWS Lambda 运行”,Prismon 说,“这意味着我们不必为每个客户手动管理和扩展计算实例。”

FICO 在 AWS Lambda 上执行其所有机器学习模型。具体而言,决策资产或经过培训的模型将保存在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储桶中。触发 DMS 的事件(例如贷款应用程序)将通过 Amazon API Gateway,然后提示 AWS Lambda 函数执行决策。AWS Lambda 还会将决策传递给 Amazon Kinesis 数据流,该数据流会触发额外的 Lambda 函数来更新 DMS 数据存储。从这一步开始,决策将被保存起来,用户可以在稍后通过 Amazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR) 查询这些决策。

为了管理安全性和合规性,除了 AWS CloudTrailAWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 等服务之外,FICO 还依赖自己的内部安全实践。

推动创新

FICO 使用 AWS Lambda 和其它 AWS 服务来管理计算实例,因此公司的开发人员可以腾出更多时间来构建新软件并强化 DMS,而不是预置和管理服务器。“由于 AWS Lambda 会自动进行预置,因此我们可以完全激发开发人员的创新潜力”,Kaul 说。

“他们更容易尝试新事物并突破应用程序设计的界限”, Prismon 补充道,“现在,我们的内部客户,包括战略分析师和数据科学家,可以在我们的软件上完成想法从生成到执行的整个过程,而不必涉及 IT。他们可以在需要的位置和时间部署资源。这是有可能的,因为我们使用 AWS Lambda 获得了敏捷性。”

在一天而不是几周内交付解决方案

通过在 AWS 将 DMS 作为软件即服务 (SaaS) 解决方案提供,FICO 可以更快地为客户提供新的服务和软件功能。“以前,我们常常花费大量时间进行开发。但过去需要数周才能完成的工作现在已经实现了自动化,在一天内即可完成,因为 AWS Lambda 可以处理所有工作,并为我们提供了极大的灵活性”,Prismon 说,“现在,我们只需构建并部署即可。例如,我们不再需要了解客户是否拥有多租户架构。AWS Lambda 完美地解决了所有问题。”

利用 AWS Lambda 的灵活性,FICO DMS 开发团队可以更快地解决开发过程中的软件问题。“过去我们出现过这种问题:距离软件更新上线只有几周时间,但有些性能还不完善”,Prismon 说,“使用 AWS Lambda 和其它服务,我们提出了一种新方法来解决这个问题,并在投入生产之前创建了一个全新的设计。”

确保合规性并降低成本

FICO 通过在 AWS 云上运行 DMS 来满足其严格的安全性和合规性要求。“在决定将哪些代码投入生产时必须非常谨慎,因此我们使用托管的软件开发生命周期来确保我们的金融数据符合要求”,Prismon 说,“我们可以通过使用自己的安全工具和 AWS 服务来完全满足监管要求。”

与之前的本地应用程序环境相比,FICO 已经降低了运营成本,因为组织可以按需部署计算资源,并在整个开发过程中花费更少的时间。“无服务器计算大大降低了我们的运营成本,反过来,我们又可以将这些节省的成本回馈给客户”,Kaul 说,“这一点再加上灵活性和敏捷性,可以帮助我们发展业务。”


了解更多

FICO Uses AWS to Innovate Faster, Reduce Costs, and Expand Global Reach

fico

Speed and innovation are everything for FICO. The predictive-analytics and decision-management software company provides a popular credit-scoring service and other analytics software and tools to 95 percent of the largest U.S. financial institutions. To remain a leader in the industry, it must deliver rapidly deployed, cutting-edge solutions to its customers.

For many years, however, FICO lacked the agility to quickly develop and deploy its solutions, such as its flagship FICO Decision Management Suite (DMS). DMS helps customers drive business transformation through predictive analytics, business rules management, and optimization. “We were an on-premises software company for a long time, and it sometimes took years to create and deliver solutions to our customers,” says Joshua Prismon, vice president of product development at FICO. “We needed our customers to have faster time-to-market, and we wanted to focus on implementing our software instead of waiting for customers’ IT organizations to provision and build the underlying infrastructure for our solutions.”

To solve the problem and create more opportunity for innovation, FICO decided to move DMS and other solutions to the cloud. “We wanted to be more forward-thinking and bring more innovation to the marketplace, so we realized we needed to go all in on the cloud,” says Jeet Kaul, vice president of engineering at FICO. Before choosing a cloud provider, though, FICO wanted to make sure it would still be able to offer strong security and remain compliant with Payment Card Industry (PCI), General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), and other regulations. Prismon says, “There are many business requirements for operating in the financial-services industry, so compliance had to be at the forefront of our cloud decision.”

“Because AWS Lambda does the provisioning automatically, we have completely unblocked the potential for our developers to innovate.”

Jeet Kaul, Vice President of Engineering, FICO

  • About FICO
  • Benefits
  • AWS Services Used
  • About FICO
  • FICO is a predictive analytics and decision management company that provides a leading consumer credit score service used by financial institutions in deciding whether to lend money or issue credit to customers. FICO delivers analytics software and tools to 95 percent of the largest financial institutions in the United States.

  • Benefits
    • Unlocks innovation for developers
    • Delivers software services in one day instead of several weeks
    • Ensures regulatory compliance
    • Reduces costs
  • AWS Services Used

Moving to a Serverless AWS Architecture

FICO chose Amazon Web Services (AWS) as its cloud provider, in part because of the security capabilities integrated into AWS. Kaul states, “We needed a company that’s invested in financial-services companies and their compliance requirements, and AWS was ahead of the competition.” FICO was also interested in AWS Lambda, a service that provides serverless compute capabilities so customers can run code without the need to provision or manage servers. Prismon says, “We wanted to go serverless so our developers could focus more on creating features and functionality. AWS Lambda was the perfect solution because it provisions compute resources without our developers needing to enter code. That helps us concentrate solely on the application side of things.”

The company migrated DMS and the myFICO.com customer-facing website to AWS, running on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances and relying heavily on AWS Lambda for serverless compute. “Our core business logic for DMS runs entirely on AWS Lambda,” says Prismon. “That means we don’t have to manually manage and scale compute instances for each of our customers.”

FICO executes all its machine-learning models on AWS Lambda. Specifically, decision assets— or trained models—are saved in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) buckets. An event that triggers DMS, such as a loan application, goes through an Amazon API Gateway and then prompts an AWS Lambda function to execute the decision. AWS Lambda also passes the decision to an Amazon Kinesis Data Stream, which triggers an additional Lambda function to update the DMS data store. From this point, decisions are saved and users can query them later on via Amazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR).

To manage security and compliance, FICO relies on its own internal security practices in addition to services such as AWS CloudTrail and AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM).

Unlocking Innovation

Because FICO uses AWS Lambda and other AWS services to manage compute instances, the company’s developers have more time to build new software and enhance DMS instead of provisioning and managing servers. “Because AWS Lambda does the provisioning automatically, we have completely unblocked the potential for our developers to innovate,” says Kaul.

“It’s easier for them to try new things and push the boundaries of application design.” Adds Prismon, “Our internal customers, including strategy analysts and data scientists, can now take an idea from inception to execution on our software without having to involve IT. They can deploy resources where and when they need them. This is possible because of the agility we get using AWS Lambda.”

Delivering Solutions in One Day Instead of Weeks

By providing DMS as a software-as-a-service (SaaS) solution on AWS, FICO can deliver new services and software features to customers faster. “We used to spend a lot of time in development, but things that used to take weeks to finish are now automated and can be done in a day because AWS Lambda takes care of everything and gives us so much flexibility,” says Prismon. “Now, we simply build something and deploy it. We no longer have to find out, for example, if our customers have multi-tenant architectures. Everything is addressed perfectly in AWS Lambda.”

Taking advantage of the flexibility of AWS Lambda, the FICO DMS development team can more quickly solve software issues during the development process. “We had a situation where we were a few weeks away from going live with a software update and something wasn’t performing well,” Prismon says. “Using AWS Lambda and other services, we came up with a new way to solve the issue and created a completely new design before it went to production.”

Ensuring Compliance and Cutting Costs

FICO is meeting its stringent security and compliance requirements by running DMS on the AWS Cloud. “We have to be very careful about what code goes into production, so we use a managed software development lifecycle to ensure our financial data is in compliance,” says Prismon. “We can do that by using our own security tools along with AWS services to fully meet our regulatory requirements.”

FICO has reduced operational costs compared with its previous on-premises application environment, because the organization can deploy compute resources on demand and spend less time in the overall development process. “Serverless computing dramatically lowers our operational costs, and we are able to pass those savings along to our customers,” says Kaul. “This, along with the flexibility and agility we have, will help us grow our business.”


Learn More

Learn more about AWS for financial services.