迁移到 Amazon ECS 后,我们服务的性能得到了显著提升。我们将服务响应时间的第 99 个百分位降低了 50%。
Jason Fischl 工程副总裁

Remind 是一款 Web 和移动应用程序,教师可以使用该应用程序向学生发送短信并与家长保持联系。Remind 在自己的平台上拥有 2500 万名用户和 150 多万名教师,该应用程序每月可发送 1.5 亿条消息。

AWS re:Invent 2015 主题演讲 | Jason Fischl,Remind 工程副总裁 (7:44)

reinvent-remind
  • Remind 使用第三方云平台即服务 (PaaS) 解决方案,将整个应用程序基础设施 (消息交付引擎、前端 API、Web 客户端、聊天后端) 作为单个应用程序运行。
  • 扩展问题促使 Remind 转而使用基于微服务的架构,但 Remind 对 PaaS 提供商提供的解决方案不满意,因为它无法全面了解 CPU 和内存的使用情况以及网络性能。
  • Remind 希望在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 上使用 Docker,以提高资源利用率和环境一致性,而最初的想法是使用内部 PaaS 解决方案来提高开发人员效率。
  • Remind 开始以基于 Linux 的 CoreOS 和 Fleet 为基础构建自己的 PaaS,但 Fleet 和键值存储 etcd 并不稳定。该团队也不想花时间运行和运营自己的群集管理系统。

  • 为保持运营的简便性,Remind 选择直接使用 AWS;已投入使用的产品包括 Amazon RedshiftAmazon DynamoDBAmazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 和 Amazon CloudFront
  • 由于工程团队的规模较小,且没有时间或所需的专业知识来运营和管理群集,该公司决定基于 Amazon EC2 Container Service (Amazon ECS) 来构建自己的 PaaS。
  • Remind 将其基于 Amazon ECS 的 PaaS 解决方案命名为 Empire,并开放了其源代码。
  • Amazon ECS 提供容器安排和集成,而 Elastic Load Balancing (ELB) 支持 Empire 将 DNS 用于服务发现。
  • Empire 提供与 Heroku 兼容的 API 和 CLI,让开发人员能够在 Amazon ECS 上轻松部署应用程序。

  • Amazon ECS 是一项托管服务,能够确保运营效率,从而将工程资源重点用于开发和部署应用程序,而不是运行和维护群集。
  • 迁移到 Amazon ECS 后,性能方面实现了巨大的改进,包括稳定性的提高和延迟的降低。
  • Remind 将响应时间的第 99 个百分位降低了 50%,且响应时间方差降低了,峰值也有所减少。
  • AWS 可通过 VPC 提供对安全性和路由的控制,还能让 Remind 更清晰地了解应用程序的性能。

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助您管理 Docker 容器,请访问 Amazon EC2 Container Service 详情页面

Moving to Amazon ECS significantly improved our service performance. We reduced service response times in the 99th percentile by 50%.
Jason Fischl VP of Engineering

Remind is a web and mobile application that enables teachers to send text messages to students and stay in touch with parents. Remind has 25 million users and more than 1.5 million teachers on its platform, and the app delivers 150 million messages per month.

AWS re:Invent 2015 Keynote | Jason Fischl, VP of Engineering, Remind (7:44)

reinvent-remind
  • Remind used a third-party cloud platform as a service (PaaS) to run its entire application infrastructure—message delivery engine, front-end API, web client, chat backend—as a monolithic application.
  • Scaling issues prompted the move to a microservices-based architecture, but Remind wasn’t satisfied with the limited visibility into CPU, memory, and network performance available from the PaaS provider.
  • Remind wanted to use Docker on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) for better resource utilization and environment consistency, and the initial thought was to have an internal PaaS solution for developer efficiency.
  • Remind started to build out their own PaaS on top of Linux-based CoreOS and fleet, but fleet and key-value store etcd were unstable. The team also didn’t want to spend the time to run and operate their own cluster-management system.

  • Remind opted to use AWS directly in order to maintain operational simplicity; it was already using Amazon Redshift, Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), and Amazon CloudFront.
  • The company decided to build its PaaS on top of Amazon EC2 Container Service (Amazon ECS) because the engineering team was small and didn’t have the time or expertise necessary to operate and manage clusters.
  • Remind open-sourced their PaaS solution on Amazon ECS as “Empire.”
  • Amazon ECS provides the container scheduling and integration while Elastic Load Balancing (ELB) allows Empire to use DNS for service discovery.
  • Empire provides a Heroku-compatible API and CLI that allows developers to easily deploy applications atop Amazon ECS.

  • Amazon ECS, a managed service, provides operational efficiency, allowing engineering resources to focus on developing and deploying applications instead of on operating and maintaining clusters.
  • Moving to Amazon ECS provided large improvements in performance, including better stability and lower latency.
  • Remind has seen a 2X decrease in response times in the 99th percentile, with less variance and fewer spikes.
  • AWS provides control over security and routing through VPCs, plus clearer visibility into the performance of applications.

To learn more about how AWS can help you manage your Docker containers, visit the Amazon EC2 Container Service details page.