Fortinet FortiGate-VM

Starting from $0.30/hr or from $1,992.00/yr (up to 24% savings) for software + AWS usage fees

FortiGate-VM firewall provides the next generation firewall that complements native AWS Network ACLs and Security Groups to secure your incoming and outgoing application workloads and data traffic. FortiGate-VM delivers advanced security including application control, web filtering, IPS, AV and malware prevention without the limitation on firewall rule counts. You can scale your business workloads using secure IPsec VPN from on-premise datacenter to AWS instances. FortiGate-VM helps maintain the consistent security posture with extensive segmentation and policy management over multi-layer... See more

Customer Reviews

Create Your Own Review

Easy to set up

  • By AWSer
  • on 11/29/2017

I am testing this product at the AWS re:Invent 2017 in Las Vegas. The free trial was pretty easy to set up, and the support was adequate.

Not operationally ready with autoscaling.

  • By John BB
  • on 10/31/2017

Tried the cloud formation template for autoscaling and found the worker node was not working. Logs showed it crashing out when trying to do an API call to the Firewalls. Updated the worker code, started again, and crashed again.
Without the worker node your not even getting the two on demand nodes sync'd.

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "./", line 3504, in
File "./", line 2882, in main
rc = ChangeDHCP(fgt, 'apiadmin', encrypted_password, verbose, debug)
File "./", line 721, in ChangeDHCP
values = status.json()
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/requests/", line 651, in json
return json.loads(self.text or self.content, **kwargs)
File "/usr/local/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/simplejson/", line 516, in loads
return _default_decoder.decode(s)
File "/usr/local/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/simplejson/", line 370, in decode
obj, end = self.raw_decode(s)
File "/usr/local/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/simplejson/", line 400, in raw_decode
return self.scan_once(s, idx=_w(s, idx).end())
simplejson.scanner.JSONDecodeError: Expecting value: line 1 column 1 (char 0)

Impossible to get support

  • By Mike Johnson
  • on 08/26/2017

1. I have a fortinet account
2. I have my serial number for the Fortigate VM (directly copied from the Fortigate Console - I know it is correct).

I click on the contact support link mentioned under the Support section of the AWS marketplace listing. It asks me to login. I login with my fortinet account. I try to create a technical support ticket. To create a ticket, it asks for a serial number. I enter the serial number but it says the serial number is invalid (i took the serial number directly from the Fortigate console, so I know it is correct).

In my Fortigate Admin screen, I try to "register" the product - every time i register, it says "Unknown Error".

My issues are the following
1. I cant register the product with my fortinet account - I get an "An Unexpected Error Occurred" message.
2. Because I can't register the product with my fortinet account, I am unable to submit a support ticket. When I try to create a support ticket in the portal, it says "Invalid Input Data. The Serial Number is Not Registered."

So how are we supposed to get support?

Works like the real device

  • By Jayr
  • on 07/21/2017

If you are used to the fortigate firewall line there is nothing new here, the interface is the same and works the same way. Good entry level device, easy to setup and works fine.

Easy to launch and test!

  • By Swetha
  • on 06/09/2017

I wish we had this sooner but better late than never. I really like the idea of spinning up the fortinet instance on EC2 to test configuration quickly.
It was really easy to set up like any oterh EC2 instance. It loads with the basic SSH, Telent access which is nice and has some useful configuration preloaded
on the initial build. Hoping to have fun with this.

Finally working...

  • By Ben
  • on 06/08/2017

After getting the login information correct, I was able to log in and use the product. Seems to be running well on the virtual platform. We will continue working with this AMI in our development environment until we are comfortable moving this into production.

Good but buggy

  • By Andrew
  • on 06/08/2017

Fortigate has tons of features and is good but we've had some issues with bugs in some production systems.(mainly IPSEC)

Best Product for easy on-demand firewall!

  • By mark h
  • on 06/02/2017

We use this product for our e-commerce site and it's ease of use makes it a good fit for anyone looking to easily deploy SAAS.
We may be looking at their hardware offerings in the future.
Only complaint is the interface does take some learning but that comes with any platform.
Overall very good product.

Unable to access any documentation to get started

  • By Peter
  • on 12/21/2016

Sorry but I couldn't even get out testing going. The documentation links failed, setting up support account failed and, well, no way to actually look at the product. May be good but no way to tell if support information is not available to even get started.

Finally got it working. Good product. Wrong product for me...AWS customers running mulitple websites

  • By Dissapointed
  • on 08/06/2016

Finally got it up and running with a lot of support from Fortinet Support. Wasn't as straight forward as I'd hoped. One key feature was missing, so be warned if this is what you're after as it's not supported: ++ I wanted to map a single public Elastic IP (associated with the FortiGate server, to multiple internal EC2 instances where all instances were running their own websties and listening on the same port (aka NATing based on URL FQDN to multiple web servers listening on port 443). Very disappointing at the end of the day. Will look at FortiWeb quickly but it's more expensive and have to say Fortinet has disappointed with this AWS offering.