Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 6

Amazon Web Services | 6.5_GA

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6.5_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

265 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Consumer Services

Multipurpose Linux OS, works for development and production

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Worked with RHEL 6+ quite a bit and found it really great for day to day use for my job. We also had similar systems on production so it made for a great testing environment as well.

I have used RHEL on a daily basis for over 3 years and it something that never made me miss traditional operating systems like Windows or Mac.
What do you dislike?
While RHEL has support for lot of software I would use, there were several times when I would need some software to work with it and it either wouldn't or there was a problem with packages. Installing software on command line was a nightmare. It lacks support documentation among other things as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
RHEL was sort of replicating our production systems, it was stable and hardly crashed which made it a great development environment which is why our company invested heavily into it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is very similar to other desktop experiences, so things would be easy to switch over to.


    Research

Generally a more reliable version of Linux

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The reliability of the packages from their repositories is one of the best reasons to use RHEL. Also the remote management system allow the admin to regularly schedule packages and updates as well as remotely install new packages to all systems using their online tools. Hopefully this feature sticks around as they might be replacing it shortly.
What do you dislike?
Their current changes to centralize remote management of systems around the IT department rather than smaller groups. Some of the changes with gnome 3 and the other GUIs has been a little annoying. Gnome 3, which is now the standard GUI for RHEL, is taxing on the system performance. It's performance seems to be closer to Windows that to what Gnome 2 was like. One other annoying feature is how long it can take for them to get the most up to date packages in their repository. I feel like it takes them months to catch up with the not so reliable repositories.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using RHEL we have been able to customize our Linux distributions to our liking, installing all the repository packages we desire, and removing the ones we do not. RHEL has also provided a more stable environment within our cluster, and has simplified our interactions with older systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure you understand their new remote management changes before purchasing.


    Information Technology and Services

Great for the job, comparable desktop experience with windows

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Have been a Windows/Mac user and RedHat is comparable with them when it comes to desktop experience. Also has all the great tools a Linux environment provides for developing software.
What do you dislike?
Lack of software which are popular on Mac and Windows, but it looks like they are catching up
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy access to Linux terminals and development experience and setup on par with our production software.


    Timothy S.

RHEL For Servers

  • January 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is the gold standard of Linux. YUM is easy to use. All the software for development and servers is available for RHEL. Anything you want to do is available on RHEL.

RHEL supports containers and VMs and is the Linux you need.
What do you dislike?
RHEL is expensive and it is not the most frequently updated OS. It is good because it is reliable, trusted by banks, used in PAAS' and works. But if you want the newest features like containers, you have to wait a very long time. It's the use of new vs stable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running Java services and web services. RHEL just works, especially with JBOSS, Jetty and Tomcat. Postgresql and Mysql run very well on RHEL as do any Java enteprise servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try out Centos and then see if you need and want RHEL. RHEL provides full paid support that can come in handy when issues arrive or you face weird problems. This has come up at some enterprises where things would have weird issues or things wouldn't work well together and RHEL support was able to fix it.


    Marius P.

We are the Premier Red Hat partner in Romania.

  • January 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat Enterprise Linux is a rock solid Linux operating environment.
What do you dislike?
Pricing is starting to be an issue.

There is not dtrace for linux.

There is no ZFS for linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Many problems are solved with RHEL ranging from the research institutions doing HPC to banking and financials.


    Yehuda K.

Responsive Support but package age is sometimes noticable

  • January 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Support is the best. We had an obscure problem with CUPS and RH support jumped right into it and patched it. They even included us in the discussion between the developers of the best way to handle the problem, so we knew what was going on.
What do you dislike?
I get that so much of the stability of enterprise distributions comes from locking down the packages available from the system repos, but it really hurts interoperability between systems with different versions. Specifically, we have NFS mounted home directories and RHEL 7 systems use a newer version of Git than RHEL 5 systems and the git config files are not backward compatible, so we had a lot of users complain about errors when they used git as we upgraded machines.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is great to run Linux servers with 1st class support for any issues that come up. We keep things simple, so any problems are usually due to actual bugs and when we send reports in, RH fixes them pretty quickly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
We get academic pricing, so I honestly don't know the real-world cost, but it is probably worth it for mission critical systems.


    Nagarjuna Y.

RHEL - Best Linux Operating System for Enterprise Users

  • January 01, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. From RHEL 7 their OS run on everything, from the server in the back-room, to datacenters and the cloud there are no limitations compared to other vendors this possible because of apps on RHEL 7 run independently from the underlying operating system and from one another this enables me to move my Dockerized apps from a container on bare-metal to a virtual machine to a cloud as needed without limitations.
2. Redhat Linux has every feature which are required for the enterprise users after the release of Docker with in days Red Hat got partnered with Docker which is quite good thing.
3. Top-notch Support.
4. Integration with Satellite make the management quite easy
What do you dislike?
1. While all the other Linux distributions are free it is quite difficult to pay some bucks from your pockets specially for startups if it is a enterprise then there is no worry though CentOS (Red Hat's Open Source Version of Linux)is opensource and is available to use for free CentOS lacks behind for few weeks in case of features.
2.Licensing is the most frustrating thing there is no proper documentation and RHEL is quite expensive too.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Operating System for our mobile back-end,Satellite integration made my life easier for managing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend Redhat Linux only for users who wants their servers to be highly available,fault tolerant with automatic recovery otherwise it is better go with CentOS which is also a Red Hat OS which is an opensource version.


    Arvind K.

PLM Consultant

  • December 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We normally suggest Red hat linux as the platform for the plm implementations.. as this is really a secured way to manage servers
What do you dislike?
I do not have any negative points. I really suggest red had enterprise version
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Its a stabilized version, where snapshots are more feasible and tuning of the systems are more easier too.


    Savita S.

Red hat rocks

  • December 21, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Red hat Linux performance is good and it is highly scalable.
The price and upgrades are also very reasonable. Real time patches can be applied.
Don't have to wait for bug fixes for long. It can support 64 and more CPUS and 100 GB or more memory, as wells as supports larger Storage area networks (SAN).
What do you dislike?
There is no one standard edition for Red hat Linux like windows and HP.
There is no immediate help for because you will have to wait for someone to write a response rather than calling a hot line number.
Blu ray disks are not available to played using Linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using red hat Linux for our databases, multiple db's are also on one red hat server which we are using for our various applications. We also use VMware virtual systems on our systems with RHEL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a good performance, large scalable operating system


    Computer Software

Stable system suitable for enterprise OS needs

  • December 20, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
RHEL is very stable, and Red Hat is extraordinary in applying security patches early and quickly. It has additional packages from Fedora's EPEL, and has a large selection of packages itself as well. Unlike some other systems such as Ubuntu, it has a large amount of software that you will need from day-to-day in running your large scalable systems, but it is also stable and does not require large amounts of modifications to acquire tools you may need.

Red Hat also provides great product support.
What do you dislike?
RHEL currently has a rather large cost, which may be offputting to some people. However, the support Red Hat provides often outweighs these downsides.

Additionally, RHEL sacrifices the latest gadgets in exchange for stability. Hence, many new releases of software may not be instantly available in RHEL, however, this helps maintain the stability and lack of breaking changes that RHEL provides.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
RHEL is an enterprise Linux distribution. When I choose such a distribution, I want it to be stable, quick, and lightweight. RHEL gives you this kind of stability and lightweight tooling, which has been helpful in mass-deploying large systems and running them on RHEL. Running my apps on other systems such as Ubuntu would be sacrificing some speed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Become familiar with the system first and don't be scared to ask for help on IRC or through their official support systems. You may notice RHEL is very barebones. This causes many beginners to give up and look at other similar products. However, do not let this hold you back. After installing EPEL and configuring your yum repositories to your liking, RHEL becomes as versatile as other systems yet much speedier and much more stable.