Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Amazon Linux AMI with NVIDIA TESLA GPU Driver

NVIDIA Corporation | 2018.03.0.20190826

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

17 AWS reviews

    Andrey

Outdated version of the driver

  • July 30, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The image features version 352.99 of the driver which is incompatible with CUDA-8.0/cuDNN-6. In my case that kind of diminishes the purpose of having such an AMI in the first place.


    Arthur

Couldn't get Blender running

  • March 25, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Although I'm not a linux guru I do know how to handle the console, compile stuff etc.
I spent about 6 (payed) hours trying to get Blender running in this machine, without success.
- There's no Blender yum package
- After enabling Epel (and confirming that it's enabled) strangely there still is no Blender package
- Yum cannot resolve the dependencies of a recent Blender rpm (libGLEW etc)
- Compiling Blender there's version collisions with libgcc
- Tediously installing dependencies by hand resulted in more conflicts
Etc. pp.

I have no idea what kind of system that is and honestly I have no experience with RHEL. So some of you might laugh about me now, I'm ok with that.
But to my defense nobody on stackoverflow could answer that simple question "How to install Blender into this AMI" either.

I'm trying now my way with a generic Ubuntu image and getting CUDA and Nvidia drivers up and running there. Blender's working there, also a custom build, without issues.


    simon

why not up to date?

  • February 17, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Uses old version of CUDA which is incompatible.

The whole point of using an AMI is that it works out of the box without having to install drivers. This is useless as not up to date and incompatible with other software.


    kdbanman

Up to date and fully functional!

  • September 07, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

TLDR Ignore the old reviews complaining of old versions of stuff. This is running the same CUDA 7.5 that the Nvidia website says is the latest stable. Presumably, this marketplace AMI will stay up-to-date too! ----------------- I finally, *finally* managed to install Torch 7 without errors. > Single tear of joy :') I have tried on a bare metal Ubuntu 14 LTS box. And a bare metal Fedora 20 box. (Same box in my living room!) And a g2 instance running Ubuntu 14 LTS, with the drivers installed from Nvidia's .run file and another with the .deb packages. And two different community AMIs claiming to already have CUDA and/or Torch running. Every single one of those was a totally different, very time consuming, and fairly opaque failure. Out of date graphics drivers. Everything halts because nouveau is running. Your kernel headers are incompatible. CUDA 7.0 thinks it's 6.5. deviceQuery can't find your GPU after you restarted. Ugh. My unix-fu is not strong enough for this. I just fired this up, ran the torch install commands, and everything worked! Finally I can just push some data through an LSTM! Thank you Nvidia for the support :)


    wcochran

slicker than snot

  • July 07, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Needed to do some CUDA development using a modern CUDA environment. Works great. Easily installed all the other tools I needed (emacs, git, X11 dev, etc...). Able to ssh and tunnel X11 -- wonderful -- saved me from having to buy a laptop. Code builds fine.


    anonymous

nVidia drivers updated as of June 2016

  • June 20, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

There are lots of complaints about the old nVidia drivers. These have been updated:

2016.03.2 Point Release (Released on June 9th, 2016)

The Amazon Linux AMI with NVIDIA GRID GPU Driver now includes NVIDIA driver version 352.79 and CUDA 7.5.18.


    Michael Richardson

Drivers are outdated and lacks ecs-agent

  • February 27, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It's a trade-off between installing drivers or other services.
1-star lost for not having updated drivers even though drivers are the entire point of this AMI
2-star lost for not having the ecs-agent installed and ready


    Olivier Delrieu - PGxIS

Does the job

  • September 11, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We've been using this image to develop and test our genetic analysis software on GPUs. Works very well. Moving to production.


    Michele Hjorleifsson

No OpenGL GUI

  • May 02, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Was not able to get an OpenGL enabled GUI to run on this platform so i wasn't able to test the features i needed to


    Anonymous Developer

Not up-to-date and rather poor

  • April 14, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The drivers that are shipped with this image are not particularly up-to-date, even though the image apparently has been updated recently.

Most of the nvidia stuff has been installed into /opt/nvidia, but other stuff in /usr/lib64. Which is not a problem per se, just inconstent and a minior inconvenience.

Some things are just broken for development purposes, like the CUDA pkg-config file, which returns this build bot directory as location for the includes:

$ pkg-config --cflags cuda-6.5
-I/builddir/build/BUILDROOT/cuda-6.5.14-1.12.amzn1.x86_64/opt/nvidia/cuda/include

Lots of little things like that.

Having said that, it's not totally unusable.