Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 7 (HVM)

Amazon Web Services | 7.0_HVM_GA

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.0_HVM_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

216 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

RHEL is still an industry standard, but there are other compelling options to consider.

  • August 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat offers great support and their education and certificate options are second to none. The company has a rich history and thus far it appears as though IBM is going to allow them to continue without meddling. It appears that their entry into containerization is well thought out. I also liked the length of time they support their releases -- this is important if you don't need to kep on the bleeding edge of distributions and value stability over feature set. In this way you don't sacrifice security.
What do you dislike?
We found that we were having to compile too much software that we could get pre-packaged using a debian/Ubuntu distribution. Support, while very good, did cost more than from Canonical. Automated patching was not easy or straightforward for us without significant work and customization. There are some specialized packages, especially dealing with image and pdf conversions, which are much easier to install and keep up to date on debain based operating systems. We found that this ease of updating was more important to us in many cases than the other benefits Red Hat provides.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have platforms which require a unix-like operating system to run. Red Hat provided that for us. We have not yet made the pivot to containerized workloads, however. Uptimes for our Red hat servers were much better on the whole than for those servers we ran on Windows. Where possible we opted to go with Linux based operating systems rather than Windows, for both cost and stability reasons.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider looking at containerization if it fits your use case. Look at specific packages you require and determine their availability on multiple platforms if you are not able to containerize. Support costs should be considered as well, of course.


    Oil & Energy

Open Source Reliable Operating System

  • July 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It was supported by Red Hat Company. It is very stable. It is certified.
What do you dislike?
To access the repository we need to enroll a subscription
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We need a reliable server for our Oracle Database, so we used Red Hat Enterprise Linux.


    Sachin M.

One of the best OS experiences!

  • July 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat Enterprise Linux gives a really great experience if one wants to work at the administrator level, controlling the operating system very closely. Many other operating systems provide great user experience but not many let you control them at the level that this operating system lets, at the administrator level, allows you configure so much.

One of the best thing is the support from the Red hat Community that you get, it compensates for so many other factors, one for example price.

If one wants to learn about the various OS features while being able to control so much of the OS, this is a great recommendation.

Kudos for Red Hat Community!
What do you dislike?
One thing that can be considered a dislike could be the price. Apart from the price, there are some softwares that it does not support. Linux is a kernel whereas Red Hat is a distribution of that Kernel, so the size is comparatively large and thus compatibility is an issue in some cases. But there are other factors which nullify all of this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have always had interest in Operating Systems and Linux kernels have always been better experiences for me than Windows OS or Mac OS having used both of them also.
Red Hat distribution provides much better security and salient networking features if I'm experimenting something, like network tunnels for example.

Being a programmer, it helps so much in understanding how the OS implements features and how operations are performed. Working with the help of Red Hat commands is a cherry on top, undoubtedly.


    Vinayak S.

Linux Heaven For Programmers

  • July 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
RHEL's Security which comes by default with it and which can further be enhanced. Package manager is much better as with the software it will install the dependencies also.
What do you dislike?
GUI can be improved. Upgrade policies between major versions like RHEL 5 To RHEL 6 were hard to understand.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Red Hat linux enabled us to achieve uptime of 5 nine's 99.999%


    Bittu T.

Best OS for Ansible automation

  • July 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a lightweight OS which runs seamless
What do you dislike?
the most thing is I don't like is that is not a free OS. it is costly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Automation using Ansible
2. DevOps works
3. Hosting website
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes it's highly recommend for Automation of DevOps and cloud


    Raj A.

one of the greatest Operating system solutions in the industry

  • July 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
redhat comes with great range of security sollutions and application hosting availability and most of ythe industry tools are supported by redhat. rhel 7 is updated with systemd and many other advanced OS level changes to improve the perfomance. in recent times redhat also started working on containerized solutions and environmemnts. it was rhel5 when oi started learning it first and it have grown alot and really came over the limitations it had in the past. overall redhat enterprise linux is one of the best linux distribution in industry.
overall a great OS solution
What do you dislike?
rhel is not a free and open source operation system. you always have to pay for the licence. when you are running rhel on cloud platforms it is a really great sollution but you will end up paying more then the required ammount. we would like rhel to reduce the licence fee in pendamic.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
when it comes to hosting tradiotional monolethic applications or running vdi sollution rhel is always the first choice in industry. i specificly love the passwordless authentication and security features provided by rhel. also the beenfits of usinga linux distribution on top of ther competetors in market is really huge in terms of customizing the sollution we are using and the type of devlopments in teh industry are available. we have solved many critical issues with Redhat enterprise linux sollutions.


    Dominic L.

Redhat

  • April 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redhat provides an amazing and robust Linux OS. They also provide a stellar technical support
What do you dislike?
The licensing is a little bit too expensive for smaller companies.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It provides a stable os and help us focus on other things
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend using the official support


    Information Technology and Services

Good Linux Distro for Gov't Work

  • April 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good stable Linux Distro that is on all of the government acceptance lists. It's on the FISMA, FedRamp, FIPS, approved list along with many others. Great for federal projects and other enterprise work. It's a stable and well supported distribution that stays on top of security vulnerabilities. Accrediting agencies and auditors are familiar with Red Hat, leading to quicker ATO's
What do you dislike?
Your paying for opensource software, something you can also get for free. Support can be slow at times (but faster and impressive at other times). But in federal environments you need the support so it's worth it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Linux OS for federal environments that need to be accredited. Since it's a well know vendor and OS it makes it much easier to get through audits. It's a stable and consistent platform, good for enterprise, mission critical and government applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a good stable OS ideal for any enterprise, mission critical or government/federal environments. It works well in secure and accredited environments as well since both the accrediting agency and auditors are familiar with Red Hat, making audits much more efficient and leading to a quicker ATO.


    Joshua M.

OS for Enterprise Web sites

  • April 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its Security, reliability and there is a community open for Support.
What do you dislike?
You need to be trained for to use RHEL. You need to know atleast the basic linux commands for you to use it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Permission. Deployment. Order Errors (we are using websphere), network troubleshooting, storage troubleshooting.

Benefits is there is a support for emerging technlogies and its security and compliance


    hasnain h.

Easy to use & secure

  • March 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
well , its the Linux based distribution and most secure they have a free version as well if before going on the purchased version try free version
What do you dislike?
you need a resource to use this else its perfect
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
none .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would say there is no question about deciding the red hat enterprise