Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 7 (HVM)

Amazon Web Services | 7.0_HVM_GA

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.0_HVM_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

712 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Banking

RHEL is stable

  • May 09, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Great operating system, very stable and has support for the community
What do you dislike about the product?
nothing, is the best system operating. I recommend this product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
is using as application server. support all the operation of our service


    Chuck M.

RHEL Linux, long time User and SysAdmin

  • May 09, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Open Source, Works across many machines.
What do you dislike about the product?
Cryptic as UNIX always is. Not for beginners.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
High performance, easy to manage across our enterprise.


    Steve W.

RHEL review

  • May 09, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The ease and speed at which updates happen
What do you dislike about the product?
Learning curve for Linux adoption can be challenging for someone who comes from a Windows environment
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Very secure platform


    Research

Red Hat is great when you need stable and reliable platform for deploying applications

  • May 09, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
the ease of maintaining the OS and security that it provides
What do you dislike about the product?
it seems like some features are getting moved behind different licenses then before such as Tomcat moving behind Jboss instead of part of the general server repositories
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
giving us a secure deployment environment.


    Government Administration

A review from a long time Linux user

  • May 08, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the stability of using Redhat and it's updates. You do not need have the latest feature versions of software/libraries, etc. to run the software. Redhat keeps security fixes and bug support for software that you don't have to constantly upgrade to the next major version to keep up.
What do you dislike about the product?
If you need to run components outside of the Redhat ecosystem, you can run into some major issues. Snap packs makes this much less of an issue, but you can often run into issues running special community software that is more at home on Debain or ubuntu linux, but you want to the long term support of Redhat.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Redhat Linux provides a good fundemtial support for all our Linux based enterprise applications.


    Abdul K.

Linux for Enterprises

  • May 08, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Support that an organization is backing up your Linux and workloads
What do you dislike about the product?
Pricing is a bit too high compared to other distributions like Ubuntu for example
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Letting our SAP workloads run on an enterprise platform with professional support
- Providing a stable environment for enterprise applications like Kafka, Airflow, SAP, Azure DevOps, and many many more!


    Higher Education

RHEL is critical for our operations in higher Ed. It is the premier enterprise Linux solution.

  • May 08, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The vast service catologue from Red Hat puts RHEL at the top of the list for enterprise linux platforms. The seemless integration with products like satellite, AAP, and more make the ecosystem extremely robust for anyone running linux in the enterprise. The premier Red Hat support makes RHEL invaluable for IT teams of all sizes and enables quick implementation of new services and maintenance of existing services.
What do you dislike about the product?
The majority of my issues with RHEL are really due to the linux ecosystem as a whole rather than RHEL or its features. If I had to choose something I dislike, it would probably be the existing image builder/deployment models. I would love to see a fully customizable solution for building RHEL images for template deplyoment that don't have random restrictions placed on them like file system lock down and drive requirements.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
RHEL provides a light weight and easy to manage OS for all of our non-windows services. The biggest benefit is the enterprise support provided for the OS so we're not left completely on our own for supporting community distributions like CentOS, Alma, etc.


    Higher Education

RHEL - a sys ad perspective

  • May 08, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I love that it integrates so well with all other RH products and that it has baked in security that is easy to configure. Ansible integrations save so much of my time.
What do you dislike about the product?
I can't really think of any downsides besides being locked inside the RHEL ecosystem. Maybe subscription manager is a pain from time to time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We maintain infrastructure and RHEL makes it really easy to handle said infrastructure. It integrates well with our other container orchestration tools and even microsoft tools.


    Higher Education

RHEL 2024 sys admin review

  • May 08, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of use with interoperability with MS domains and 3rd party MFA.
What do you dislike about the product?
Easier to build a new RHEL 9 server than it is to upgrade from RHEL 7 to 9 :)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Helping us standardize on the same platform with great management tools.


    Andrew W.

Great experience

  • May 08, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of use. I like the ability to manage with satelite.
What do you dislike about the product?
Pricing model could be better. I would like to see improved hypervisor based licensing
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Standardizing on a single linux platform.