Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 7 (HVM)

Amazon Web Services | 7.0_HVM_GA

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.0_HVM_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

610 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jonathan K.

Awesome and robust

  • October 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I really like the focus on containerization. A plus is definetely security and the development speed. Also the registration process is easy compared to e.g. SUSE especially for containers.
Red Hat is going the right way with the focus on containerization and scalability.
What do you dislike about the product?
The repo policy is sometimes confusing and to get up to date programs can be annoying. For example the php shipped is outdated and you have to extra repositories to get an up to date version.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We run tests for deployments of our Software (owncloud) and RedHat is the go to vendor when it comes to scalability, trust and reliability. It is used widely through our customer base and is well known and trustworthy all the way.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Awesome product and ease of registration for enterprise ready containers.


    Information Technology and Services

Linux awesome experience

  • October 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Features, the support from community and the low TCO.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not much UI, recently seeing more security threats
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
using to support enterprise wide systems. Lower TCO, cost of maintenance is low. Good community support.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Few yrs back I discounted this product for enterprise solutions. But now-a-days the product is robust and one of the leaders.


    Government Administration

Open OS with security

  • October 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
CLI and wide range of commands to do your job, scripting ablity
What do you dislike about the product?
it lacks the GUI power to support users with no or less knowledge of cli
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
print-server, DNS servers, DHCP servers and file servers


    Cyrano R.

RedHat Enterprise Linux on education area

  • October 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I feel very confident to select Red Hat Enterprise Linux in my projects, in my opinion it is one of the most stable Linux distribution available on the marketing, the support also is a strong point they are very focused to solve the problem in the less time possible, but the key point to select Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) it is the support compatibility with another vendors in Hardware and Software area, this is very important to have the all solutions supported in a single project.
What do you dislike about the product?
The Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) haven't many points that I dislike, unless the cost, because the Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) in my opinion it is the most expensive Linux operations system distribution available on the market, I understand that it is leader, but in some case I was forced to select a non commercial distribution CentOS that it is very close to Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Some time ago, I was adept of Debian distribution, but I had some problem with HBA drivers and storage support, I solved this problem when I adopted the Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) to this servers, and I really liked to move from Debian to Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) based on the stability, support from hardware manufactures and compatibility matrix.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I think that Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) is on the right path, I am just concerned about the effective costs, because in some cases I need to select a product with no support because the Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) doesn't fit on the budget.


    Guruprasad M.

Useful operating system for developers

  • October 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to install, easy to use, virus free & reliable
What do you dislike about the product?
Exploring through folders, opens multiple screens when I try to open any folder
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
cost effective, easy to install & beneficial for developers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will recommend RedHat Enterprise Linux as it is cost effective, easy to use & most of the enterprises using this OS


    Information Technology and Services

Love/Hate Relationship

  • September 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Secure system that's easy to use and monitor
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes hard to get packages when developing for newer technologies.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Cloud based servers for hosting services/microservices.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure the packages and libraries you want on the system are available. Sometimes takes time to make it into the package manager.


    Higher Education

RHEL rocks

  • September 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Great support and the platform is rock solid. Satellite patch management makes administration for nodes without external access a breeze.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's relatively expensive versus other alternatives
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Web, application and database servers.


    Mabel M.

Oracle dba

  • August 31, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Very reliable operating system, easy to increase CPU, memory
What do you dislike about the product?
Patching is not so easy, wish it needs no reboot
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Save money on hardware


    Tony B

Works like it should

  • August 29, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Wish there was a bit more description on how to connect to it on the first time, but you eventually figure it out. Overall its a solid build and I haven't experienced any issues with it.


    Danielle P.

Great OS for applications

  • August 28, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of use, stability, updates are easy
What do you dislike about the product?
User interface lacks but KDE is still helpful
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Revenue management, Sales and catering optimization
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a training class and use it often (use it or lose it)