Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 7 (HVM)

Amazon Web Services | 7.0_HVM_GA

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.0_HVM_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

711 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Food & Beverages

Fast, Reliable, Stable, Secure, Doesn't need reboots :)

  • May 07, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Stability, lends itself for soup to nuts autmated deployments.
What do you dislike about the product?
When not using IDM the system can not be locked down.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Helps with ease of automation as we run a lean shop
Cost reduction in licensing
Paves a path for other RedHat solutions


    Ahsan M.

Linux engineer review

  • May 07, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
the flexiblity and open source that is natively built in the kernel with a robust support of the operating system and its readiness to automate at an enterprise scale
What do you dislike about the product?
not really anything major but it would be great if we have a more robust workstation ecosystem like how we have on the Windows side
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
RHEL is giving the platform to host the most mission critical applications that matters to our organization and additional giving us the capabilities to automate all our configguration and application deployments with Ansible Automation platform


    Research

RedHat is RedHat for a reason

  • May 07, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Redhat support. software. they have offerings you wont find elsewhere in linux
What do you dislike about the product?
price for the real thing. not super jazzed about how centos got treated
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Redhat has a solution for just about everything you could run into


    Government Administration

The go to operating system for enterprise operations

  • May 07, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The support and stability are second to none. Anything that needs to be deployed can and should be deployed with RHEL.
What do you dislike about the product?
While it is excellent as an enterprise offering, the subscription holds me back from fully changing in personal networks.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Providing a scalable, reliable, and manageable environment for all business needs.


    Defense & Space

Gets the job done.

  • May 07, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
With 10+ years of adminstrating RHEL systems, it's what I'm most familiar with. I do very much enjoy being a Linux admin and being able to solve problems and create solutions for my developers. My team really should work to take advantage of the some of the new features of RHEL.
What do you dislike about the product?
The EPEL repository has been a challenge with some broken dependencies where some of the applications from there won't work properly. However, we use custom mirrors for security purposes, so it could be an issue with our repos, and not Red Hat itself. When I looked a year or so ago, I did not see a RHEL9 intro course as an option to familiarize myself with the new features as there was for RHEL8. That would have been very helpful.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Consistent, familiar OS across multiple environments.


    Airlines/Aviation

RHEL in the airplane Maintenance platform

  • May 07, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
As a whole i think is really stable, easy to support
What do you dislike about the product?
Would prefer more direct Red hat support
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Is helping support our Airplane Maintenance platform


    Defense & Space

RHEL is a next level downstream experience.

  • May 07, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I believe RHEL is one of the most premier Linux flavors out there due to the stability of their downstream. They also have next generation technology that is vertically supported.
What do you dislike about the product?
The only issue I have is RHEL is the scaling costs when it comes to multiple workstations. Personally, I think RHEL Desktop should be considerably less or allow for customers to manage their own assets. Similar to the developer license of 10, their should be some autonomy with enterprises managing their own IT departments. Such as a "use at your own risk" with customer's taking on the risk of no support but not losing the stability that Red Hat provides through security upgrades/Package management.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The stability of the RHEL flavor is what allows us to thrive at our infrastructure level. We currently use CentOS as we manage our own desktops but use RHEL for our system server needs.


    Defense & Space

Easy to use and the support for it is fantastic!

  • May 07, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's great for infrastructure and development!
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing, it's the best experience when working in the environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Multiple user access


    sanjeev s.

Linux Enterprise system

  • May 07, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
stablity and performance, Enterprise support
What do you dislike about the product?
option like clone image that allow to boot system back in previous image
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Handling issue on urgent basis.


    Pharmaceuticals

2024 Red Hat Summit Review

  • May 07, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Good features and support for the end users.
What do you dislike about the product?
High cost comparing to other Linux products.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
RHEL is required for the usage of Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform.