Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

39 AWS reviews

External reviews

117 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Bianca G.

Flexible and powerful ability on encryption protocol.

  • September 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the tool capability on encryption protocol due to Pre-shared keys, IPv6 support, Authentication Certificates etc and it provides the user with advanced privacy and effective secure browsing through various browsers and from different servers.
OpenVPN is very supportive to cloud instances and virtual appliances and it also supports various operating systems like Windows, Linux and Apple and the mobile version its also amazing.
What do you dislike?
If the user has the knowledge required on the VPN usage, installation and configurations are very simple.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Private browsing.

Secure online browsing activities.

Browsing from various servers or countries.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Privacy and secure browsing tool and very simple to install and it provides the users with many servers with very strong network coverage.

1 person found this helpful

    Pulkit G.

Very easy tool to use, handy informative and simple

  • September 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of connecting different remote servers using this tool makes life really very easy. It has a very simple and easy to use guide which helps in connecting, troubleshooting and debugging really handy and easy.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really, very easy and nice tool to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connecting remote servers which cannot be connected on a different LAN.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
must use software and for people working in the domain this proves boon.

1 person found this helpful

    Diego B.

OpenVPN its an effective identity protection Tool.

  • September 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Super powerful VPN with great remote access and it helps the user to maintain smooth flowing browsing anonymously.
The VPN is also available on various platforms and the IP changing ability its super faster providing stable and secure browsing through the tool different servers from different countries.
Excellent customer support and the VPN installation its super easy and the usage learning does not require any specific training.
What do you dislike?
No issues on OpenVPN performance and its manipulation or installation. The system offers the best functionalities ever.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Quick browsing over different network and also different servers from different locations and nice for identity protecting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The best VPN choice for productive fast anonymous browsing across various servers from different countries and continents.

1 person found this helpful

    Embarrassing

This is not ready to be sold.

  • July 03, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hard to configure. Connection established but routing ton working. Of course may be more setup required, but I won't pay for that.


    Seth R.

OpenVPN allows easy, secure VPN connections to remote and cloud servers

  • July 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to configure and implement, excellent security features, very easy to use and reliable.
What do you dislike?
Managing multiple connection configurations can be a little bit cumbersome to get setup in the software, but once you complete the configuration, it becomes extremely simple to use - just set it and forget it!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a secure method to connect to our remote servers and to Amazon Web Services cloud servers. OpenVPN provided those capabilities wonderfully, and all for free!

2 people found this helpful

    Mattia D.

VPN everywhere with every device

  • March 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You can access the company VPN using any device (laptop, smartphone, tablet, ...)
What do you dislike?
Easy to use but extremely poor in options
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I'm travelling for work, I can access the company VPN easily using the mobile connectivity. It makes my job easier!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Remember to try this software with your mobile devices. You won't regret!

2 people found this helpful

    John-Austin G.

OpenVPN

  • March 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a solution that I use in my office as well as at home. OpenVPN allows me to treat myself with my private VPN server from a device of my choice. Thanks to OpenVPN, I can safely use open hotspot networks and also use the safe Internet during my travels. An additional advantage is the fact that OpenVPN has a user-friendly web interface for managing the server.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I don't like is that the free license is only available for 2 devices.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With OpenVPN, I can safely treat my company's server in the chosen location.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN is one of the best VPN protocols currently available on the market.

1 person found this helpful

    Darren P.

OpenVPN

  • December 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using this program for more than three years, although it has shown me to be incoherent on some occasions, I have to say that it has complied with everything set out, offers excellent servers to be free, with stable and excellent speed to navigate, protect your data and stay anonymous to prevent theft of information, an excellent program for anyone.
 
What do you dislike?
Connection weakness, it does not provide support, the program does not notice if it is disconnected from the server, it can connect to an unwanted server, the speed may decrease, it does not provide additional security.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can have a secure connection to my server, so I'm no longer worried about using free WiFi in public areas.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Connectivity, server diversity in different countries, free, user-friendliness and installation, network security, identity protection, stable speed, anonymity guaranteed. 

2 people found this helpful

    Carmelo B.

Spero ottenga la fama che merita e diventi sempre più uno standard tra i produttori

  • November 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN, inteso sia come il set di protocolli che come l'applicazione client/server cross-platform disponibile gratuitamente, merita il massimo successo nel mondo del networking e della security.
L'era delle configurazioni IKE, delle autenticazioni tramite complesse concatenazioni di certificati, l'era di settaggi e regole di nat e firewall lunghissime è terminata grazie proprio ad OpenVPN che in ambiente Linux mi ha consentito di mettere su diversi server VPN site to site per la comunicazione criptata tra alcuni endpoint VoIP con supporto ai file di configurazione OVPN, proprio questi file semplificano tantissimo la vita del team SecOps e degli amministratori di rete e di sistema che non devono più dedicare intere giornate, settimane o mesi alla configurazione manuale, client per client, dei parametri VPN corretti. Spero venga supportato di default da sempre più produttori di PC, router, firewall, telefoni e IoT devices
What do you dislike?
Il client Linux andrebbe rivisto perchè, nonostante GTK o il motore grafico sia installato, non ha nessuna opzione per poter essere eseguito in modalità GUI ma solo da linea di comando, il che rende l'uso ad utenti meno esperti che usano linux per le sole finalità di sicurezza e stabilità, molto più difficile per via della scarsa dimestichezza con la command line
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ho creato circa 18 VPN site-to-site tra Azure e AWS, il mio HQ e AWS, il mio HQ e Azure ed il mio HQ verso gli HQs di altri clienti che ci hanno scelto per la fornitura di servizi importanti e/o business critical che necessitano quindi di totale privacy e riservatezza dei dati transitanti verso la WAN o da e verso la nostra sede. tempo risparmiato: circa 4 ore a server VPN, circa 80 ore totali


    Domenico A.

Protocollo pazzesco e performante ma client da rivedere assolutamente, sia su Windows che su Linux

  • November 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN server è uno stack performante e sicurissimo e costantemente aggiornato per eseguire il deployment di VPN di diverso tipo con pieno controllo e gestione di tutte le opzioni di sicurezza disponibili per passare agli utenti finali i soli file di configurazione, ciò che è da rivedere il prima possibile è il client Windows e la shell Linux che sono privi del minimo design grafico, privi di chiarezza sulle opzioni di sicurezza disponibili e poco sicuri sotto il profilo di gestione delle sessioni salvate, fin quando non verranno aggiornati OpenVPN sarà per metà zoppo e per metà un maratoneta
What do you dislike?
Come ho già detto, i client sono da rivedere totalmente perchè non consentono una facile identificazione delle opzioni da scegliere e considerando che spesso finiscono in mano su PC o laptop di utenti finali che hanno la sola necessità di collegarsi senza avere conoscenze informatiche e di networking, è necessario rendere le GUI molto più user friendly e meno complesse oltre che più sicure verso persone che potrebbero non aver ben chiaro con che tipo di file e di sessioni stanno operando dato che spesso dietro un VPN server gira la backbone ed i server di una intera organizzazione
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fornire ed ottenere accesso a risorse Linux, prevalentemente Load balancer e relativi nodi Ubuntu Server in modo sicuro (i clienti chiedono sempre standard di sicurezza maggiori e allo stesso tempo affidabili, sopratutto dopo il bug VORACLE che ha portato l'exploit di migliaia di server VPN), performante e veloce tramite il tuning che consente di processare i pacchetti VPN tramite Hardware su custom firewall appliances come pfSense o similari