Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

With more than 60 million downloads since inception, OpenVPN provides Virtual Private Network (VPN) solutions to secure data around the world. OpenVPN Access Server is designed specifically for businesses -- it protects data communications, secures IoT, and provides secure remote access to on-premise,... See more

Customer Reviews

38
Create Your Own Review

Works now

  • By Rich
  • on 08/21/2019

Works now with version 2.7.4. Easy setup from instructions. Price could be better not sure if I will keep after free tier is over.


Outdated, requires ton of configuration

  • By Rickzkm
  • on 07/19/2019

Compared to Digital Ocean Marketplace version, this one here is outdated and with very silly setup and does not work.


127.0.0.53 is not a DNS server!

  • By Adam
  • on 07/05/2019

Like a few reviews have mentioned, this image has trouble resolving domain names. My client can reach the admin page without issue, but it fails to connect to the internet. I don't know why this hasn't been fixed already in this AMI, but /etc/resolvd.conf is linked to the broken stub-resolver configuration. The fix is very simple, but it took hours to figure the default system configuration was broken.


Route client traffic through openVPN doesn't work

  • By name
  • on 07/03/2019

The option to route traffic through the openvpn server to internet doesn't work. I followed all the steps carefully on the website.


Wonderful

  • By Dub
  • on 04/09/2019

It works like a charm. Easy to use and setup!! I will continue to use this while in my travels to connect to websites I can in other countries. Fast too.


This AMI is no longer working. It worked half a year ago.

  • By Luozhou
  • on 04/08/2019

Please debug. I was trying to use the internal db. Here is the error information that I got from /var/log/openvpnas.log:

2019-04-08 01:27:17+0000 [-] Failover initialization error: "ConfigDict: required config-key 'config_db' is not defined": util/cdict:285,util/cdict:257,util/cdict:521,util/cdict:550 (exceptions.KeyError) (config_db)
2019-04-08 01:27:17+0000 [-] Server agent initialization failed: "ConfigDict: required config-key 'tmp_dir' is not defined": util/cdict:285,util/cdict:257,util/cdict:521,util/cdict:550 (exceptions.KeyError) (tmp_dir)
2019-04-08 01:49:51+0000 [-] OVPN 1 OUT: 'Mon Apr 8 01:49:51 2019 98.169.136.197:52960 TLS Error: TLS key negotiation failed to occur within 60 seconds (check your network connectivity)'
2019-04-08 01:49:51+0000 [-] OVPN 1 OUT: 'Mon Apr 8 01:49:51 2019 98.169.136.197:52960 TLS Error: TLS handshake failed'
2019-04-08 01:49:51+0000 [-] OVPN 1 OUT: 'Mon Apr 8 01:49:51 2019 98.169.136.197:52960 SIGUSR1[soft,tls-error] received, client-instance restarting'
2019-04-08 01:50:00+0000 [-] OVPN 1 OUT: 'Mon Apr 8 01:50:00 2019 openvpn/98.169.136.197:52622 SIGTERM[soft,remote-exit] received, client-instance exiting'


Not working AMI have issue

  • By aasim
  • on 03/12/2019

Tried to route all traffic with VPN, but unable to connect to the instance. If I don't route traffic from the VPN instance then the IP of my local doesn't change after connecting with the OpenVPN instance.


Excellent, works well

  • By contrid
  • on 06/07/2018

The OpenVPN Access Server works very well. I can create a tunnel to it from any of my devices as well as my router using OpenWRT with openvpn-openssl


Huh...

  • By Motel6
  • on 07/07/2017

I'd like an easy option to send all network traffic through the VPN. Seems a bit of a waste to only route part of it. Not what I was looking for.


Excellent product

  • By Matt
  • on 01/09/2017

I have used openvpn for years and used it for several client while in AWS. The only problem I have run into is you can not use this ami in a dedicated tenancy VPC, Is this by design?