Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc | 2.7.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Create Your Own Review

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

38

External reviews

128 reviews from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.

Sort by

Filter by


    Monad Software Ltd

Didn't use

  • April 05, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was looking for something that would work with the Windows 8.1 built in VPN client without too much fuss.

Ended up using this instead: http://blog.ls20.com/ipsec-l2tp-vpn-auto-setup-for-ubuntu-12-04-on-amazon-ec2/#


    J. Earl

So easy even a Caveman can do it.

  • March 30, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

By far the easiest OpenVPN deploy yet. Switched from hand built server to the marketplace image in less than an hour. First login to the instance configures the server through shell prompts, then you are good to go with the admin UI. Add a user and you are up and running!


    Steve Iannuzzo

Great vpn app and OS bundle!!!

  • March 23, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Rock solid Ubuntu and Openvpn bundle!!!

Had the server, application, and remote users up in less than 1 hour.

Good documentation for setup - Very good support via email by Openvpn.

Less than $100 for a 10 user licence, well worth the investment.

Will certainly be using this product for many of my clients!


    CB-Siteops

OpenVPN is the way to go

  • March 16, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was suspicious about the product first because I am used to work with Brandname such as Cisco SSL VPN and Juniper SA. so, I decided to download the product and use it for my AWS installation. it only took me 5 minutes to get the instance installed and configured. bye bye bastion host….

i recommended to anyone who want access to their AWS resources without have to go through the Cisco/Juniper/Checkpoint/Paloalto pain.

I am enjoying it and why should not you…

thank you.


    Limited

You are asked to provide a password you don't know

  • March 04, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

You are asked to provide a password on the admin login which is supposed to be the same password you use to authenticate / connect to the server. However if you login with a certificate there is no password so you are out of luck!

"Login as "openvpn" with the same password used to authenticate
to this UNIX host."


    M. Stieler

Quick and scalable VPN solution

  • February 25, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I needed a fast solution for a VPN to circumvent Internet restrictions in a hotel I stayed. Using the OpenVPN AMI I was able to install my own VPN server in minutes. Just start the VM (smallest machine was sufficient), connect to SSH and answer a few installation questions.
On the other hand, in our company we are also using OpenVPN with about 10-20 active connections to the VPC.


    Thomas Decaux

5 minutes to setup a VPN !

  • February 16, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Took me 5 minutes to setup a VPN, nothing to configure, just accept the licence, enter a new user, and download the VPN client.

VPN client is already configured, nothing to do on client side too!


    paul

OpenVPN Server

  • January 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Very straight forward to set-up and get running. Very reliable and good throughput. In-fact, due to compression, it provides a small speed boost to my standard internet connection. Runs fine on the micro server.


    BarnaCloud SL

Quick and easy VPN

  • January 27, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The faster and easier way to implement a VPN that works great. We also have the guarantee that security is also solved.

In two hours we could do all the technical checks we needed to present the project to a client.

Thanks for making an easier world.


    Syed Javed

OpenVPN really opens the avenues!

  • January 10, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I had an opportunity to use this product while practicing Hybrid network solution and was amazed with this open source solution. Had a few issues while configuring it on Ubuntu but finally was able to create a tunnel between AWS VPC and my private network. After connection, things work like charm and it's easy to have your AD site in cloud as well as various other apps. Great job AWS😀