Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

39 AWS reviews

External reviews

114 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Oleksandr T.

Opensource, fast, reliable and configurable VPN software

  • June 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stable and reliable performance. In the config file of a specific server, you can specify a lot of necessary options. Simple switching between servers via GUI. Other VPN services usually provide OpenVPN config-files for their servers.
What do you dislike?
It is necessary to prescribe in the config files the option to protect against DNS leaks, in other VPN services this is usually already taken into account by default.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have several development teams in different countries, one of which blocks the web resources of the other. The software we develop under the strict NDA and the security service limits contact with the outside world. Therefore, we need security in communications and encryption when visiting other web resources. Therefore, in our case, Vpn has become a panacea for all security problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to quickly install and use a VPN and you have an average knowledge of IT, then this solution is for you.


    Valter B.

Openvpn

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Openvpn As web interface is easy and intuitive to use.
What do you dislike?
It requires some networking experience, especially when configuring private subnet access.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have improved reliability and security for remote access for building automation systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A very robust solution.


    Adam S.

Fast & Secure VPN

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a reliable, fast and Secure VPN tool. It is a great tool for me, it works very well. Also, I like that I can use the same account on my mobile, ipad and PC. Very suitable for different operating systems and easy to setup with no issues.
What do you dislike?
Didn't face any issues so far while using Open VPN. It is a straight forward software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Open VPN is an effective tool that I rely on because it is safe and secure to use while connecting to important database related to our IT department.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly Recommended. I highly rely on OpenVPN is an effective tool that I rely on because it is safe and secure to use while connecting to important database and maintaining a secure network.


    James D.

The VPN service that's featured everywhere and for good reason

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It supports many different platforms (both desktops and mobile), the customer service is quick and efficient. It is frankly easy to set up (I have tried on Mac, Linux, Android and iOS without any issue).
What do you dislike?
Some servers were actually very slow when using my cellular connection, but this can happen with any service and a slowdown is always expected. Since they offer many servers in different countries, I was able to quickly find some servers that work in my current location.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This software has been consistently reliable for my personal use and saved me various times.


    Felicia M.

OpenVPN for networks protection

  • May 29, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is allows me to tunnel any IP network using UDP or TCP port. One of the main things that I like about it is that it is equipped with a 256-AES-CBC encryption for maximizing our network security and keep our internal communication safe. This tool is great to tunnel networks through firewalls connections without having to use/change any firewall rules. Setting up the network is somehow easy and flexibility but with some experience anyone can get a very high connection speed and a great performance.
What do you dislike?
Customer support are not responsive. It takes a lot of communication and time to fix a problem with them. It is always better to look for one of the professional support forum with people who have experience with OpenVPN. They are really helpful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN provides us with a great and secured internal network with a a very high connection speed that is compatible with both windows and Mac applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN is a convenient open source system that can maximize any network security. It is widely available and there are many available tutorials online how to use it and get the most our of it in protecting networks.


    Christropher F.

Flexible open source VPN

  • May 28, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Openvpn because it is an open source and flexible software that supports using different type of devices and operating systems like windows, android and IOS) all together. The two-factor authentication is a great option to maximize the network security. Openvpn is very useful in creating a secure network tunnel that is IP protected.
What do you dislike?
Requires prior knowledge and experience to be able to do make the right configurations. It is also important to keep backups from all the working configuration files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Openvpn is very useful to use while developing our authentication modules because of its strong encryption system. It also offers a great system to establish a virtual private network that is safe and well protected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN offers a secure network that is flexible and well protected. It might require watching some tutorials but once you know how to do the right configurations, it works great. I definitely recommend it


    Internet

OpenVPN

  • May 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface thats has very intuitive options to select the needed options .
What do you dislike?
The phone application of OpenVPN does not have the option of completely hiding the app or hiding it more than usual.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use a lot of wifi hotspots and need a secure connection to the internet.


    John W.

Powerful VPN tool

  • May 25, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open source that is easy to configure for anyone with just basic IT knowledge. It is a great solution for traffic tunneling and building secured networks using OpenVPN server. The UI is simple to navigate through and managing servers is easy. OpenVPN is can be used for many purposes in the IT field
What do you dislike?
The customer support service is very slow in responding back. Not enough tutorials available online for beginners..
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building secure networks that can be accessed remotely by our IT department.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN is great opensource tool that help in building secured networks that can be remotely accessed from anywhere. I highly recommended for anyone working in the IT field.


    Food & Beverages

Dependable

  • May 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We've been using OpenVPN for 2 years now and their support and customer updates are always in par.
What do you dislike?
Maybe the pricing and the minimum users to add if you only just need a few like 5 below.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As of the moment we dont have any.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy implementation and client setup


    Jeremy F.

Low effort and highly reliable client to VPC VPN

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The availability of client software for all operating systems and mobile devices means my customers can connect regardless of their setup.
What do you dislike?
I’ve not had any bad experience with OpenVPN.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use OpenVPN to support a legacy 3 tier application running on AWS. My customers run the windows client locally and connect to the databases and other services over the VPN.